We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostal de La Rabida
Ranked #9 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very Friendly staff”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We spent single nights here 4 times while we came and went.

For that reason we wanted and needed internet.They advertize internet and wifi. Wifi was not working most of the time and the internet only half of the time. Very disappointing. It is most likely the carrier but I would think there must be better options in Quito.

We have zero complaints regarding the staff, the food, the rooms. All was comfortable and very good. We had room 3 every time. A nice little feature. The staff really did go above and beyond.

We also stayed in the old town and actually preferred that location. So much more to see and in walking distance. In a sense we felt safer on the streets in the old town as well.

A store 'Hilana' that sells really nice (although a bit expensive) alpaca and wool fibre articles is within walking distance. (at the corner of Av 6 de Diciembre and Veintimilla)

There are many good restaurants within the area. Our favorite was Shere-E-Punjab (Indian food)on the corner of Juan Leon Mera and Pinta (very close)

They were able to accommodate a late checkout (for a fee) which was really appreciated

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 50somethingscanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostalrabida, Owner at Hostal de La Rabida, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your stay with us - we really appreciate your comments. Please accept my apologies for the internet problems. We had fairly heavy rain here in Quito towards the end of February/ early March when I think you were staying with us, and this unfortunately, has an effect on the internet service in Quito. Our internet provider which, sadly, seems to be the most efficient here, informed us that the rain causes humidity in their cables and it takes them sometime to find out exactly where the problem is and subsequently fix it. I have and am still investigating alternatives, but so far have had no success. However I can report that is has stopped raining and the regular internet service is back on line.

Best regards
Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    142
    28
    6
    4
See reviews for
82
202
68
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We spent 4 nights (1 night per visit) at this small guesthouse in 3 different rooms (only 11 rooms total). The rooms were all clean and quiet. The main guest room has a fireplace and is a cozy place to have a drink and enjoy fellow travelers. There is also a separate room where the bar is located. Their restaurant has excellent, very reasonably priced food. We ate there 3 times. The outside area with the rabbit is a nice place to relax, weather permitting as well. This well located guesthouse is a great value. However, what sets this guesthouse apart is their staff and their flexibility. We stayed there 4 separate nights. They kept a tally of what we owed them and did not require payment until our departure. They also allowed us a late check out at 5pm on the day of our return flight to the USA. The staff were happy and friendly and would try to help you in whatever way possible with transport, restaurants and the local sights. We would absolutely recommend this place to anyone. It is not a 5 star hotel, but the staff rates 6 stars!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rwanda17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostalrabida, Owner at Hostal de La Rabida, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us - and for taking the time to write a review - we really appreciate it.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back here sometime soon.

Best regards
Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We had a small, cozy clean room just off the garden, friendly staff (special mention to Gloria who was welcoming and very helpful). Actually we found all staff to be friendly and helpful. Common room areas were nice and I appreciated the computer that was available in the bar for me to be able to check my emails. We arranged an airport pick up and an Otavalo market tour through La Rabida and the driver that they booked for us, Ivan, was great. I wanted to get Ecuadorian roses and he took me to a place where I was able to buy 2 dozen long stem roses for 2 USD!!!!! - what a deal and so beautiful!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank next_holiday_dream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostalrabida, Owner at Hostal de La Rabida, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your visit to Quito and your stay with us. Many thanks for taking the time to write a review and share your experience with fellow travellers.
We hope to hae the opportunity of welcoming you back to La Rabida sometime in the future.

Best regards
Judy Chiesa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed at the Hostal de La Rabida for two nights while exploring Quito. The 24 hour check-in was appreciated given our late arrival at Quito airport and the 45 minute cab ride into the city from the air terminal. Our room was modestly appointed but very clean, with comfortable twin beds and a nice hot shower in the private bathroom. Breakfast was the usual filling fare, with yoghurt, fruit juices, toast and scrambled eggs. Dinner was adequate, but not particularly noteworthy.

Our hostess, Gloria, was very helpful in providing advice on visiting sights in Quito and in making necessary phone calls to confirm other reservations at the Maquipucuna cloud forest and Galapagos.

While this hotel was not as well priced as some others, it did provide a quiet respite from the noise and commotion of the city streets and a good base for exploring both new town and old town Quito.

Room Tip: Try for a room in the main building, as the back annex rooms seem more crowded and perhaps a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostalrabida, Owner at Hostal de La Rabida, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We greatly appreciate your comments and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back with us sometime in the future.

Best regards
Judy Chiesa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
108 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Gloria is the star attraction of this place. She is so helpful and knows everything you need to know as a newcomer to Quito. Brownie the bunny is the second star. The fire in the common room was great at night. 24 hour reception was very helpful. Otherwise I found the rooms and meals to be not of the standard I expected for the price.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaelem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostalrabida, Owner at Hostal de La Rabida, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us at La Rabida.
I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our rooms and restaurant meals. Certainly our rooms are not large, and there is really nothing we can do about that as we are limited by the dimensions of the hundred-year old house which forms our hotel. We do try and make up for the limited space with our service and attention to our guests requirements and you seem to agree that our efforts are successful. Our restaurant is certainly not a gourmet, high quality restaurant but more of a convenience for guests who do not wish to go out every evening. I am sorry that you did not find it up to standard.

If you are back in Quito, we would be happy to have the opportunity of welcomng you here again. Brownie says hello!

Best regards
Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franksville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We were at the La Rabida three different times as we traveled in and out of Quito to the Galapagos and the rainforest. They could not have been more accomodating about storing our luggage, locking up our "valables" and doing laundry as we came and went. The convenience of having breakfast there (or dinner) was great. The staff was helpful, cheery and very accomodating. We would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: The room right in the front on the second floor is a little noisy due to the street, but the garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda53126Richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostalrabida, Owner at Hostal de La Rabida, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Many thanks for your kind comments about your stay with us and for taking the time to recommend us to fellow travellers. We are happy to know you enjoyed visiting La Rabida and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back sometime in the future
Best regards
Judy Chiesa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed here on our first night in Quito and didn't know our way around town and felt it was a good location. The rooms were very nice and Gloria was amazing to work with; extremely friendly and knowledgeable and talkative. she knew the city like the back of her hand and told us where to have a fabulous meal on Valentines Day!

Good food in the mornings, eggs, fruit, bread with jam, which seems to be the standard breakfast everywhere in Ecuador.

Only thing I didn't like was all the other travelers always talking to us. Sometimes I like to just eat breakfast and not feel like I have to talk to everyone for 18 hours about their trips. Seemed to be more common in Ecuador than any other country I've traveled too and I really wasn't a fan of that aspect of the trip in general.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostalrabida, Owner at Hostal de La Rabida, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us and we are pleased to heard that is was enjoyable. I am sorry if you felt disturbed by the other guests - it is rather a feature of hotels of our type that guests like to chat amongst themselves and exchange travel stories!

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to La Rabida sometime in the future.

Best regards
Judy Chiesa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#13 of 114 in Quito
736 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vieja Cuba
Vieja Cuba
#16 of 114 in Quito
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
1.4 mi away
Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal de La Rabida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal de La Rabida

Property: Hostal de La Rabida
Address: La Rabida 227 y Santa Maria, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Quito
#7 Best Value Hotel in Quito
#9 Romantic Hotel in Quito
#15 Business Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hostal de La Rabida 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de La Rabida is an old traditional home recently restored into a first class, charming Quito hotel. We offer our guests the gracious atmosphere and style of a beautiful vacation home located in the heart of Quito, Ecuador near most places of historical and tourist interest as well as restaurants, banks, travel agencies and shops. With only 11 charming and tastefully decorated rooms, Hostal de la Rabida is a very special Quito hotel in which to enjoy your stay in our beautiful city. For those travelling in the company of their furry friends, you'll be happy to know that we are a pet-friendly hotel and will gladly accept any and all guests that plan to visit with their pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hostal de La Rabida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal De La Rabida Hotel Quito
Hostal De La Rabida Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing