We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good cozy hostal in a convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostal de La Rabida
Ranked #6 of 112 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Friendly staff, very helpful. They indicated to us two interesting places to visit La Ronda on a Saturday evening, wonderful architecture, very good music in each restaurant and tons of restaurants within a few blocks. They also told us to go to see on Monday the change of guard at lunch time. Nice unique place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flexitravel22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (541)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 541 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

This small hotel is very quaint and charming. There is a comfy sitting room with a fireplace. And it was cold enough to burn a fire each night. Then there is another small room where you can sit in a comfortable chair, have a drink (they have a small bar area) or work on the provided computer. (Note: remember, if you are English Speaking, the keyboard is different..but they will help you). They all speak English very well, BTW. They provide breakfast and dinner for a good price in the dining room. While eating, it is very charming looking out onto the terrace area. It is VERY safe hotel also.
The people were FANTASTIC. Judy, Carlos and Gloria and the people in the kitchen. The bed comfort level to us was average, but that can be a very personal thing. The room size itself was a bit small...if you are used to larger hotels. We really only had room for one suitcase to be open, otherwise there would be no walking room. But, the living room and bar room in the main house made this "OK" for me, as I would go there when I was tired of sitting on the bed or small table chair available in the room.
The location was in the Downtown area..which I would recommend. We went to visit the Old Town...and it was fine...but I'd prefer to stay where this hotel is in the Downtown area. This is in contrast to Cuenca, where I would recommend to stay in the Old Town area.

Room Tip: If you need a larger bed, we were in Room 10 and it was a large bed (I'd say a Queen). We had e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 222Melanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Fantastic service by the staff, very helpful and friendly. Our family room was perfect - a double bed and two singles in an adjoining space separated by a curtain, and the children enjoyed their eggs for breakfast every day.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Musketeers2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This hotel is within walking distance of many restaurants but is not in the busiest part of town so its not too noisy to sleep. The breakfast is simple but delicious and plentiful. The staff is everything you might want. Restaurant suggestions to luggage storage is all done with a smile. We especially liked the unlimited supply of super filtered water. We like to avoid drinking from plastic bottles and we were able to fill our metal water bottles for free. If you have mobility issues, make sure you get a ground floor room as the stairs are quite steep. We really enjoyed our two visits to this hotel during our recent visit to Quito.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues ask for a ground floor room. Also the rooms off the patio are larger th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Excellent, clean, well managed, friendly and warm place to stay. The owners are wonderful and very helpful. While the place is not as "charming" as Veija Cuba, the atmosphere is terrific....they have a lovely main room with comfy couches and we had a fire the night I arrived - and I met lots of great folks from UK and NZ. I would stay here again....oh yes, forgot the food - fantastic! they have an on-site chef....and they gave me the best scotch broth ever!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadianJourneywoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostalrabida, Owner at Hostal de La Rabida, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. I am happy that you enjoyed our homely atmosphere and this helped to make your stay memorable. I have also passed on your compliments to the chef!
Hope to have the chance of welcoming you here again sometime in the future.
Best regards
Judy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Staff were always helpful and very friendly.

The hotel is quite basic but more than makes up for this with the excellent service from all staff we met. Good base for exploring the city and surrounding areas n

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeepMovinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostalrabida, Owner at Hostal de La Rabida, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We really appreciate your comments and hope to have the chance of welcoming you back sometime in the future.

Best regards
Judy Chiesa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed here for two nights. We arrived late night, due to a late night flight arrival to Quito. But reception is available 24 hours a day, so that was very convenient. The reception did not waste time checking us in, and brought our luggage promptly to our room, so we can rest and unpack for the night. The guard was very quick to help us with our luggage as soon as we arrived. We felt safe at the hotel. Breakfast was nice, and included in the rate. We requested a room facing the garden, in advance through our travel agent, because we wanted a quiet part of the hotel. Sure enough, it was very quiet, and we were able to sleep peacefully. Bed was comfortable, and the room clean. Shampoo, soap, and hair dryer were provided. It was room #4, if I recall it correctly. Dinner - price was reasonable, and food was good. It is safe to walk along the streets outside and near the hotel. We walked all the way to the Reina Victoria area, where the bars, shops and restaurants are, and felt safe. The reception did suggest we don't walk alone after 8pm, for our safety, and suggested a taxi ride back to the hotel after 8pm. We will stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sbc1713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostalrabida, Owner at Hostal de La Rabida, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us.
We greatly appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Best regards
Judy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#17 of 112 in Quito
782 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vieja Cuba
Vieja Cuba
#20 of 112 in Quito
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden Quito
Wyndham Garden Quito
#9 of 112 in Quito
400 reviews
1.8 mi away
Casa El Eden
Casa El Eden
#1 of 112 in Quito
300 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal de La Rabida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal de La Rabida

Address: La Rabida 227 y Santa Maria, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Quito
#9 Best Value Hotel in Quito
#15 Business Hotel in Quito
Price Range: £46 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hostal de La Rabida 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de La Rabida is an old traditional home recently restored into a first class, charming Quito hotel. We offer our guests the gracious atmosphere and style of a beautiful vacation home located in the heart of Quito, Ecuador near most places of historical and tourist interest as well as restaurants, banks, travel agencies and shops. With only 11 charming and tastefully decorated rooms, Hostal de la Rabida is a very special Quito hotel in which to enjoy your stay in our beautiful city. For those travelling in the company of their furry friends, you'll be happy to know that we are a pet-friendly hotel and will gladly accept any and all guests that plan to visit with their pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostal de La Rabida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal De La Rabida Hotel Quito
Hostal De La Rabida Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing