We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It should be open 24 hours”

La Cuchara De San Marcos
Ranked #53 of 1,349 Restaurants in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: Latin, Gastropub, Ecuadorean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: After four amazing years in the beautiful San Marcos neighborhood, we've moved! We are now centrally located in the Mariscal district--close to the Plaza Foch but still a bit away from the crowds and noise. Our new home is a two-story house that features our restaurant upstairs, and a cafe, gallery, and fair trade store downstairs. And shhh! We've also got a secret terrace! You can now make your own juice on our bicycle blender with views of Quito! Our new menu has many of our classic vegetarian dishes, using organic local produce, along with our popular pastas and sandwiches. The downstairs cafe offers hand drip and Japanese siphon coffee, and a wide selection of herbal, fruit, and medicinal teas and infusions from across Ecuador. We also continue to have Quito craft beer, and our own artisanal brews. They sell out quick, but a high octane Belgian Triple or Triple IPA from our 10 gallon is only ever a few days away. Look for us on Facebook where we announce what's ready. And every Friday morning we open up the doors to our garage and feature some of the farmers from whom we source our produce and products. So come by and get your organic veggies straight from the source! We are excited to be part of the bustling Mariscal district and will be extending our evening hours for summer! Thank you for these amazing years of support and we look forward to seeing you in our new locale! The La Cuchara family.
2 reviews
“It should be open 24 hours”
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

The only problem I have with this place is the hours. I have to wait, stomach grumbling, between meals to eat their delicious food. It's super filling. So the grumbling isn't from hunger. Just from greed. If only they had a 24 hour food truck. Id be broke and fat in no time but man what a good time that would be!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MonikaNorwid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    32
    11
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
206 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Nice hipster place”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

It is a house with different rooms with art decoration, you can order drinks and vegetarian food, very nice place in a legendary neighborhood.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank VerCit3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service, food different...”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

A restaurant that has a nice atmosphere, ecofriendy (a bit too simple, but nice). The menu has ecuadorian food, however a bit changed as the meat is vegetable meat instead of animal meat...there is pasta too, but I don't recommend it, as it was a bit greasy... We told the waiter that we didn't want it, and they appologized, didn't charge us the pasta and gave us a free dessert. The service is really great and the place its located in too!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Domenica-S1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
“THE BEST EXPERIENCE EVER!”
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We had a great lunch with friends in this amazing place. It has the best of all worlds: Wonderful unique food (you will not find in any other place in the country). A unique environment in the best place of the colonial city, that takes you back to the old Quito; all the finest secrets of modern cuisine; art and jewelry (everything made from recycled materials!!); shop; unique experiences, like making your own juice in a bike; music; very good prices, and the best of all: the personal touch of the direct attention of the owners. All in one place.
Will go and go and go there every time I am back to Quito, and will definitely recommend La Cuchara de San Marcos to al my friends.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Victor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent in a neighborhood worth visiting”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

You'll find this at the very end of Calle Junin. Walking down the street is worthwhile in itself, as the San Marcos neighborhood is the nicest in Old Town. Even if wasn't the restaurant is worth going out of your way. I had empanaditas and a breaded, fried tilapia. I'm not usually a fan of tilapia, as when I've had it in the States it's tended to be a little chewy, but this was delightfully light. Everything that went along with it was terrific as well. A little pricey, but not overpriced at all. Very nice atmosphere as well.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CarilloPuerto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Cuchara De San Marcos also viewed

Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 
Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 
Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 

Been to La Cuchara De San Marcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing