We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Choice for Quieter Neighborhood Stay”
Review of Suites Metropoli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Suites Metropoli
Ranked #16 of 236 Quito B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Great family owned and operated property! Stayed four nights for $200 and was very happy. Can't say enough good things about Santiago, for his friendliness and professionalism. He provided help and advise that was key to our decision-making. The breakfast was okay - simple - eggs, toast, juice. Our room was big, clean, and comfortable with a big window facing the street and the mountains in the distance. The road noise in the morning can be excessive. Dogs barking, car alarms going off, loud trucks and buses. Good closet space, excellent bathroom. Easy walking distance to trole that takes you into Historic District. The front of the building is nondescript, so it may be hard for you and the taxi driver to discern the location. Each and every taxi driver behaved like they had no idea how to get to the hotel, even though we had a business card from Santiago. My wife suggested to Santiago they make a card that has a clearer map representation of the property's location. He said the taxi drivers love to put on a show. Each one tried to overcharge us, without fail, for every ride we took. It was a negotiation before we got in, and I heavily advise all Quito visitors to do the same. There are meters in most taxi's, but they are not used. Also, insure you pick a taxi with the orange sticker on the sides. They are supposedly legitimate. ASide from this, I would stay at this property again with no hesitation. Job well done to Santiago and the staff at Metropoli.

Room Tip: Choose a room that doesn't face street for a quieter morning.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
There are newer reviews for Suites Metropoli
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2013

We arranged to be picked up at the airport and although our flight was late, our host Santiago was all smiles. He was a wealth of knowledge and spoke impeccable English. We stayed here twice in different rooms and both were very spacious with a small kitchenette. The furnishings are more of an older style but everything was exceptionally clean. One room had panoramic view of the city with views of Cotopaxi Volcano. The other room had views of the hills behind the neighbourhood, toward the teleferico. The location is a bit out of the city centre, but it's a cheap cab ride (about $4) to there. There is a large shopping centre near the hotel (about a $1 cab fare) with a supermarket, which was handy if you intended to use the kitchen to prepare meals. We arranged for Santiago to take us on two day trips in his clean and comfortable car and it worked out much better value than any of the tours advertised. And this way we had a personalised tour! Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts and the friendliness and warmth was much appreciated.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karin4Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

I liked the familiar ambience with which the hosts are attended in Suites Metropoli
My family and I stayed for 6 nights. It is a very good place to stay. It is a quite place and very clean. The owners are friendly and very helpful. Next time I visit Quito I will stayed in this hotel which is a very good place to stay. It is closed to “Le Parque de la madre y la Avenida las Americas and also to Le Parque Las Carolinas. There are a lot of restaurants close to the hotel

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deise V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We spent a couple of days in this hotel (Three couples) and definitely is a good choice when you want a quite place for resting after have tour Quito and surrounding areas. Despite of not being in the downtown or near entertaiment areas, those areas are really easy to reach by car. Here you get a great value for money, a friendly staff always willing to help, not a luxury room at all but a comfortable bed, clean bathroom and good breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juanospina86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013 via mobile

Though the man who ran the place tried to be friendly it really did not feel sincere.
The owner kindly let us check in early but that was the only positive.
Freezing cold room
Poor location as no taci could find it
Breakfast mefiocre and not worth the 5 dollars each charged. Much cheaper in town.
Bed was not made and no clean towels until requested. Infact room not cleaned other than bins emptied.
We booked apart hotel to self cater. This was borderline impossible. A dodgy 2 ring hob only cooking facility.
This is not an apart hotel but a room in a very cold, unwelcoming house.
Apologies to the gent who runs it but this is how we felt.
Would not stop here again free!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JudithChalmers_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Lily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Tatiana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Finlandia
Hotel Finlandia
#31 of 111 in Quito
377 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#15 of 111 in Quito
765 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden Quito
Wyndham Garden Quito
#16 of 111 in Quito
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
1.3 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#7 of 111 in Quito
495 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sheraton Quito
Sheraton Quito
#6 of 111 in Quito
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suites Metropoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites Metropoli

Address: Martin de Utreras, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 236 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range: £34 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Suites Metropoli 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 4 km from Quito's historical centre and from Rucu Pichincha cableway, Suites Metropoli features a garden, free WiFi, and free parking. Suites Metropoli has rooms with private bathrooms and views of the Rucu Pichincha volcano and Cotopaxi Volcano. There are also suites with kitchenettes. American breakfast is served daily for a cost of USD 5 and features coffee and fruits. Laundry and dry cleaning services can be arranged. Quito's financial centre is 4 km away and El Jardin shopping centre is 2 km away. De la Mujer park is 1 km from Suites Metropoli. Pick-up service from Mariscal Sucre Airport 38 km away, can be requested 48 hours in advance for a USD 25fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Suites Metropoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing