We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay in Quito”
Review of Yellow House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Yellow House Hotel
Ranked #33 of 111 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Ra'anana, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Good stay in Quito”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in room 9 and except music from nearby bar all was well. The location is good, in a quiet street (except the bars). The breakfast was good, the room was clean and the staff was very helpful. The hotel receives only cash.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Yoram L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    60
    23
    3
    4
See reviews for
23
63
25
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed there two separated night. The first night we stayed in room number 6, I think. It was on the top floor. The bed was very comfortable, the room was beautiful, with high ceilings. The second night was a disaster, we stayed in room number 8, I think at the low level. The bed was old and uncomfortable, the molds could be smelled for far away, it was dark and depressing. In both cases, the music from nearby bars can be heard until late at night. The staff is really helpful, and the breakfast is delicious.

Room Tip: Be careful when choosing the room, it can make the whole difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank avo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, Colorado, United States
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

While this hostal is certainly located in a convenient location, we wouldn't recommend it unless you plan to be at the discos and bars through the night. Too noisy. The bars pound music all night long. And even though we were located in a "quiet" section of the hostal, the music infiltrated until nearly 4 am. So, if you want to be in the hubbub, then you've come to the right hostal. If you want some sleep, go elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ava B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goderich
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed here from March 8th for 4 nights on our friends recommendation. It went beyond our expectations. We had a lovely double room with great bathroom. Our host Gabi was so helpful and went out of way to help us. Oliver who lives here was always cheerful and even had breakfast ready early when we left for an day trip. Shanty spoke perfect English and helped us with anything we wanted from walking us to the bus station to making calls for us. We really felt at home. It is in a great district with lots of action so can be noisy but did not bother us. They have rooms for all budgets and ages. Recommend highly.

Room Tip: Double room at back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kathy76Goderich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed there last minute. We were originally heading to the Magic bean and they were booked. The yellow house was across the street and for $40 a night we got a really nice clean room with hot water and a renovated bathroom. The owner is Cuban and is very helpful with taxi's and information. We first checked out his room then looked at others hotels/hostals near by and they did not compare . Its by far the best in this area for the price. There is also cheaper dorm style rooms too. The price included breakfast which consisted of piece of bread, fruit, fresh juice and coffee.
Yes it is in Plaza Foch so it can be a little loud on weekends but its expected.It didn't bother us too much.

Room Tip: Book ahead if possible as this hotel books up quickly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebeca970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Whether You are a backpacker with a limited budget or a wealthier old lady: At the Yellow House You will find an accomodation which corresponds with Your needs: From dorm-rooms to a suite with private mini-spa. The owner is an extremely friendly lady who speaks Spanish, English and German. Free tea & coffee. Different spaces to chill. They can arrange transport to/from the airport for You. The location is excellent in a hip quarter, with many bars and dancings, also not very far from Parque Ejido (10 min. walk).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twiedema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here two nights while checking out Quito and found it to be friendly and comfortable. The room was basic but clean with nice sheets and pillows. It is noisy but the music shuts off sometime around midnight and in any case it didn't stop me from getting to sleep. I suspect any accommodation around this area would be noisy. Breakfast is basic and not as good as some other hostels but does the trick. The staff are super helpful and will do whatever they can to help you.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tobesure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.3 mi away
Posada Tambuca
Posada Tambuca
#31 of 111 in Quito
274 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cayman Hotel
Cayman Hotel
#36 of 111 in Quito
128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alston Inn Hotel
Alston Inn Hotel
#62 of 111 in Quito
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostal de La Rabida
Hostal de La Rabida
#8 of 111 in Quito
513 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antinea
Antinea
#41 of 111 in Quito
142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellow House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellow House Hotel

Property: Yellow House Hotel
Address: Mariscal Foch E5-23 y Juan Leon Mera, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 111 Hotels in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Yellow House Hotel! We are located in the heart of Quito´s popular Mariscal neighborhood. Our hotel has over 20 rooms catering to leisure travelers looking to discover the best of what Quito has to offer.We have combined two historic mansions originally built in the 1940s to create Yellow House. Once the home of Dr. Benjamin Cevallos Arizaga, President of the Supreme Court of Ecuador, the homes are now registered as historic landmarks. The hotel features high ceilings, hardwood floors and rich sense of history. The Yellow House team are here to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Whether you are interested in discovering the history and charm of Quito, or getting away for a day trip to nearby sites, we are happy to help you make the arrangements you need. We speak english, german and spanish. Latest news, The Yellow House is going GREEN , we have installed our solar water heating system and it is working great! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Yellow House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing