We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kingdom Kichwa
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Reina Isabel(Quito)
US$117
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$387
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$343
US$294
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$131
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$540
US$420
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$179
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$87
US$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$62
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
69
23
10
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
69
23
10
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplaza fochalways felt safeecuadorian coffeela mariscal areashared bathroomlocation is greatexcellent breakfastold townplace to staytwo nightselaluisguesthousewoolairportnightlifetours
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 106 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Kingdom Kichwa, but it's not for everyone. Its huge strength is the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff; we interacted with José and Luis, and even after just a three-day stay we felt as if we were leaving family when we returned to the US. There is a friendly common room with a fireplace that was going every night, and we spent more time there than in our rooms, except to sleep. Be sure to ask José to make you a "canelazo" on a chilly night! Location is also a strength: close to the Mariscal area but far enough to be isolated from all but the loudest music.

The property itself is a large house that has been remodeled as a hotel, and it's not impressive. Carpets were worn, the shower in our room was decidedly funky (but clean and quite usable), the place could use repainting—in short, it's an old house that could really use a thorough remodel. The bed was extremely comfortable, though.

Luis has apparently just recently got into the hotel business after being a mountain guide, and when we went, the place had only been open for about 6 months, so they have some time to work on improvements (we saw Luis working on some plumbing fixtures in the back courtyard on a couple of occasions). Luis, and José especially, have good English, but José has a mild speech defect that can make him a bit hard to understand in both English and Spanish until one gets used to it. Apparently the dairy products they serve comes from Luis's farm, and they're superb.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BSquared04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

Nice place, we stayed 5 nights and had a room to ourself the whole time which was great.
The breakfasts were fantastic.
My negative feedback would be on the cold, we stayed 5 nights and the fire was never put on. Would have been nice to take the chill out of the air. Also the transfers are a bit pricey, a taxi at the airport is only $25 so a cheaper option.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pholpheist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed here before and after a trip to the Galapagos. What sets this place apart are the staff. We dealt mostly with Jose, who went way above and beyond the call of duty to help us out, including insisting on preparing a fresh breakfast for us at 4:30am before an early flight. He also stored our bags while we were away, arranged transfers to the airport, gave us great advice on places to go in Quito, and helped us plan our onward journey to Colombia. Without doubt the most accommodating host we have encountered in 4 months of travelling in South America.

The house is spacious, quiet, located beside lots of restaurants and a short taxi ride to the old town. Our room was clean and comfortable. Was also much cheaper for an ensuite double room than most other places we looked in Quito. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goggyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here a few days ago and loved it. What makes this place is the owner. He's a quiet gentlemen who looked after our every need - he even got up at 4 am to prepare us breakfast before our very early flight. The B&B has a great location near lots of restaurants and bars however as the b&b was a few blocks away, we didnt hear any noises at night. The rooms are spacious and clean but a little dated. I definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farah123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Had the pleasure of staying in Kingdom Kichwa whilst visiting my daughter and her boyfriend who are travelling in South America. After a long delayed flight the most comfortable bed was awaiting. Met the busy, friendly hosts Chasky and Luis briefly however Jose was on hand constantly to attend to any requirements. A quiet pleasant gentleman, nothing was too much trouble from offering advice,arranging taxis and preparing breakfast at 3.A.M prior to departure for the airport on return trip. Rooms and bathrooms are clean and fresh and showers have constant hot water. Breakfast was always a treat and a lovely touch was the vases of fresh roses throughout the house.Quiet location for good nights sleep..Superb hospitality. worth a visit if you are looking for home from home in Quito..Good restaurants nearby, in particular Fried Banana,two doors down and Magic Bean, approx one block away..Hosts will also accommodate airport pickup/drop off where possible.. Enjoy the laid back, relaxed ambiance of this unique property..!! Regards,,Betty.

Room Tip: Most of the larger rooms are at the back of the property which is very quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank betty f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews