We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feeling at home in Quito”
Review of Kingdom Kichwa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kingdom Kichwa
Ranked #25 of 229 Quito B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Feeling at home in Quito”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I don't have enough good things to say. As a single female traveler who ended up here through a transfer gone awry, I didn't know what to expect and I don't usually stay in hostels so ... Initially I thought the area was sketchy since its off the main streets around Plaza Foch. But, the staff were incredibly kind, and made my stay comfortable and easy. They even drove me to the bus station at night (to go to Cuyabeno) and offered to let me stay there again on my way back and through to the airport without needing to pay. They serve a lovely typical breakfast in a cute garden atrium and water, fruit, coffee and tea are always available.

The beds and rooms and bathrooms were very clean and warm (it's cold in Quito at night) and I got an extra blanket when I asked for one, though I never needed it. I found out too late that they are next door to the famous Fried Bananas restaurant (closed Sundays).

I will be back here, as I promised I must climb Cotopaxi and Chasky was kind enough to offer virtual training :)

Truly a memory and experience here I will never forget.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdaPia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    23
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
9
43
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quito, Ecuador
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed at Kingdom Kichwa and were surprised with fresh flowers in our room on arrival. The staff was extremely helpfull and super knowledgable about Ecuador and had a lot of insider tips about travel destinations.
We enjoyed our stay in the relaxed atmosphere and quite room only a few blocks away from Quitos nightlife.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arnd Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dameron, MD
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Kingdom Kichwa, but it's not for everyone. Its huge strength is the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff; we interacted with José and Luis, and even after just a three-day stay we felt as if we were leaving family when we returned to the US. There is a friendly common room with a fireplace that was going every night, and we spent more time there than in our rooms, except to sleep. Be sure to ask José to make you a "canelazo" on a chilly night! Location is also a strength: close to the Mariscal area but far enough to be isolated from all but the loudest music.

The property itself is a large house that has been remodeled as a hotel, and it's not impressive. Carpets were worn, the shower in our room was decidedly funky (but clean and quite usable), the place could use repainting—in short, it's an old house that could really use a thorough remodel. The bed was extremely comfortable, though.

Luis has apparently just recently got into the hotel business after being a mountain guide, and when we went, the place had only been open for about 6 months, so they have some time to work on improvements (we saw Luis working on some plumbing fixtures in the back courtyard on a couple of occasions). Luis, and José especially, have good English, but José has a mild speech defect that can make him a bit hard to understand in both English and Spanish until one gets used to it. Apparently the dairy products they serve comes from Luis's farm, and they're superb.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BSquared04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

Nice place, we stayed 5 nights and had a room to ourself the whole time which was great.
The breakfasts were fantastic.
My negative feedback would be on the cold, we stayed 5 nights and the fire was never put on. Would have been nice to take the chill out of the air. Also the transfers are a bit pricey, a taxi at the airport is only $25 so a cheaper option.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pholpheist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed here before and after a trip to the Galapagos. What sets this place apart are the staff. We dealt mostly with Jose, who went way above and beyond the call of duty to help us out, including insisting on preparing a fresh breakfast for us at 4:30am before an early flight. He also stored our bags while we were away, arranged transfers to the airport, gave us great advice on places to go in Quito, and helped us plan our onward journey to Colombia. Without doubt the most accommodating host we have encountered in 4 months of travelling in South America.

The house is spacious, quiet, located beside lots of restaurants and a short taxi ride to the old town. Our room was clean and comfortable. Was also much cheaper for an ensuite double room than most other places we looked in Quito. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goggyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here a few days ago and loved it. What makes this place is the owner. He's a quiet gentlemen who looked after our every need - he even got up at 4 am to prepare us breakfast before our very early flight. The B&B has a great location near lots of restaurants and bars however as the b&b was a few blocks away, we didnt hear any noises at night. The rooms are spacious and clean but a little dated. I definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farah123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roscommon, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Had the pleasure of staying in Kingdom Kichwa whilst visiting my daughter and her boyfriend who are travelling in South America. After a long delayed flight the most comfortable bed was awaiting. Met the busy, friendly hosts Chasky and Luis briefly however Jose was on hand constantly to attend to any requirements. A quiet pleasant gentleman, nothing was too much trouble from offering advice,arranging taxis and preparing breakfast at 3.A.M prior to departure for the airport on return trip. Rooms and bathrooms are clean and fresh and showers have constant hot water. Breakfast was always a treat and a lovely touch was the vases of fresh roses throughout the house.Quiet location for good nights sleep..Superb hospitality. worth a visit if you are looking for home from home in Quito..Good restaurants nearby, in particular Fried Banana,two doors down and Magic Bean, approx one block away..Hosts will also accommodate airport pickup/drop off where possible.. Enjoy the laid back, relaxed ambiance of this unique property..!! Regards,,Betty.

Room Tip: Most of the larger rooms are at the back of the property which is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betty f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
1.3 mi away
La Rosario
La Rosario
#3 of 229 in Quito
165 reviews
0.3 mi away
ArtPlaza
ArtPlaza
#30 of 229 in Quito
24 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Arupo
El Arupo
#38 of 229 in Quito
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mogens Pod Hostel
Mogens Pod Hostel
#32 of 256 in Quito
12 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Helbling
Casa Helbling
#9 of 229 in Quito
161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel Galapagos Natural Life
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingdom Kichwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingdom Kichwa

Property: Kingdom Kichwa
Address: 899 Mariscal Foch y Luis Cordero, Quito 899, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 229 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Kingdom Kichwa 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Nucanchic Huasy Kambag Huasy" means mi casa es tu casa in Kichwa but with heart and soul. They are the words we live by at Kingdom Kichwa because here we want to show you authentic Ecuador and that famous Kichwa hospitality right in the middle of Quito's Gringolandia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kingdom Kichwa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing