We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kingdom Kichwa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Reina Isabel(Quito)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
69
23
10
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
69
23
10
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplaza fochalways felt safeecuadorian coffeela mariscal areashared bathroomlocation is greatexcellent breakfastold townplace to staytwo nightselaluisguesthousewoolairportnightlifetours
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 106 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2014

From the time we were picked up at the airport, we felt sincerely welcomed. Many times it seemed that our needs/requests were anticipated. Breakfast was served in an open air dining area. always ready when we were. We stayed at the Kingdom Kichwa at the start of our visit and returned several days later - we were able to leave our extra suitcases behind, which was a huge help. My daughter was sick when we came back and we were able to add a day, as well as get advice and lots of hot tea so she could recover. Our hosts to very good care of us during this time. We had our own room, so just resting worked fine. While the hostel is not particularly fancy, it is clean and cozy. The location is also excellent, quiet, but very close to the Mariscal area, where there are lots of restaurants, nightlife, and plenty of access to taxis and buses. I would definitely stay here again if I return to Ecuador.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jocelyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

This guest house is nicely located in downtown Quito near many restaurants, bus stations, and a very busy square with lots of busy night life. Breakfast was a bit meager, only bread jam, and a bit of cheese, but not cheese every morning.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tclwtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

As soon as we exited the airport we were greeted by Chasqui. I will share some of the great experiences we had with Chasqui and Jose. Chasqui had a lot of questions for us, for example, are we outgoing, do we want to see the tourist points, do we want to see what many tourist miss, ... Based on our responses he listed many options of activities he could guide us to. He took us to some of the most amazing and breathtaking sites. He also took us to the equator site at a time that we were lucky enough to be the only ones there. We also had some great inexpensive breads, cheeses, and authentic food. Back at Kingdom Kichwa, Jose fed us with cheeses, fresh juice, and many jokes. Kingdom Kichwa was a cozy, clean place with hot water. Because of our experience with Chasqui and Jose, we will visit Kingdom Kichwa, again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed at Kingdom Kichwa for almost 10 days in total and felt very much at home from day 1. It's slightly off the main Mariscal area and therefore not as busy. Within 3 minutes walking distance, you're where all the other tourists are. The place is run by three people. The two brothers Chasqui and Jose will, if they're not travelling already, take you on incredible tours anywhere in the country. Jose is in charge of the domestic side of things and a great guy! All of them are very, very kind and helpful and never got tired of our numerous questions. There's also very good breakfast in the morning with a different kind of freshly made fruit juice every day.

It's the perfect place to plan your tour as well as to relax for a couple of days in Quito in an easy-going and friendly atmosphere. I absolutely recommend it!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Gilbert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I find the outstanding reviews for this place puzzling. Pros are that it is cheap, quiet, clean and reasonably friendly. Other than that, it has no charm, the dining area is ugly, no outdoor seating or garden. In other words, ok, but I would look for something better. Perhaps in Quito, for $35/night, this is all one can expect. If I were in Quito again, I would look for something in the Old Town. Unless you're into the bar scene on and near Mariscal Foch Plaza, I see no good reason to stay in that area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jodi890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews