We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap, clean, close to the airport, and homey!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hosteria San Carlos Tababela
Ranked #37 of 257 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cheap, clean, close to the airport, and homey!”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed here 2 separate nights just for the sake of convenience. Hosteria San Carlos is 10 minutes from the Mariscal Sucre airport, which is a relief because it takes almost an hour (or more with traffic!) if you try to get there from the center of Quito. The staff is friendly and keeps the place clean and comfy. The property is big with lots of pretty green space, and for as low as $40 a night, it's a deal. The place offers a $10 pick-up and drop-off service to the airport, which is convenient but expensive considering how cheap taxis are in Quito. You can easily catch a cab from the airport and pay around $2.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    59
    20
    7
    15
See reviews for
28
54
27
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cuenca, Ecuador
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I had an early flight out of Quito & didn't want to deal with the bus at 4 a.m. or an expensive taxi ride -- Hosteria San Carlos was the perfect place to overnight near the airport. The staff was friendly and helpful, my bed in the dormitory was comfortable and warm, and the early morning transfer to the airport went smoothly. Can't speak to food or anything else since I was there such a short time.

Room Tip: I'm not sure about the other rooms, but if you are in the dormitory, keep in mind that the showe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I work with an organisation that facilitates Study Abroad opportunities for students from Australia, Canada and the U.S. As of recently, we have been using San Carlos and we have had only very positive responses. They are reliable, the hosteria is clean and welcoming and they are patient with responding to our phone calls. I couldn't recommend them more!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PipDenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

After the long flight from London to Quito it was sheer bliss to be met at the airport and driven to this oasis of calm just 10 minutes away. The staff are efficient yet laid-back and friendly. The immaculate grounds are delightful and provided an ideal setting in which to unwind before flying out to the Galapagos Islands the following day. Our room was spacious with a small balcony. Breakfast freshly cooked and delicious. Tea and coffee always available on a serve-yourself table in the restaurant. Not only free wifi, but a computer for use by the guests - this proved a boon as we needed to follow news of the Chile earthquake.

On the negative side: dinner was not great; the corridor light shines through frosted glass door to bedroom; hot water not always available.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dematante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Guest left and one guy went into the room to clean it up. In flip second, the bed is organised (the door was left open after cleaning), and it is "ready" to welcome the next guest. I can't help but went back to room to check my bed. Found many hairs on the both bed and pillows. Disgusting. Luckily I have a habit of carry my own pillowcase.
Room is very basic and small. Hot water working. Wifi working in the room.
If somehow you ended up with this place, ask for pick up, definitely cheaper than taking taxi. It is located 7 mins drive from airport, therefore, I cannot deny that it is a good "transit" hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travel_freak_mas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Stopped overnight between Galapagos and heading south from Quito, so just wanted something convenient near the airport. Our flight was delayed by hours but having emailed them we still had someone to meet us and pick us up for $5 each.

Made us a sandwich even though quite late, then we luckily had the dorm room to ourselves. Comfortable warm beds, shower was not hot however. Breakfast was really good.

We then got a lift back to the airport for another $5 each, from where we got a bus to Quitumbe Bus Terminal. However, we then realised this bus goes straight past the turn off for the Hotel - just get the blue bus headed for Quitumbe and ask to be let off atg the turning for Tabala. You're then 5 mins walk away, or a 1 minute taxi.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank allyrambles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I stayed at Hosteria San Carlos Tababela for one night after flying into the airport late. I left early the next morning.

The hotel had an airport transport for me ($5 one way); with a representative waiting at the airport with a sign. The single room was small, but comfortable. The room had a TV, double bed (very comfortable), and small bathroom. For my purposes, it was perfect.

The next morning the owner and staff were extremely friendly. I got my first daylight look at the hosteria. It sits on charming land, and has a pool in the middle of the complex., The breakfast was eggs, fruit, toast and coffee. It was excellent.

I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebNFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quito
0.6 mi away
San Jose de Puembo - Quito Airport, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
0.5 mi away
Hosteria Airport Garden
Hosteria Airport Garden
#3 of 15 in Tababela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.2 mi away
St Mary's Tababela
St Mary's Tababela
#4 of 15 in Tababela
5.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Quinta La Constanza
Quinta La Constanza
#1 of 4 in Tababela
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hosteria Rosa Blanca
Hosteria Rosa Blanca
#3 of 7 in Puembo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
2.5 mi away
Casa Yaruqui
Casa Yaruqui
#2 of 15 in Tababela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria San Carlos Tababela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria San Carlos Tababela

Property: Hosteria San Carlos Tababela
Address: Justo Cuello y Vicente Maldonado, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 257 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hosteria San Carlos Tababela 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a hotel that is located just five minutes from the new airport in Quito, we have very comfortable and cozy bedrooms into a land of peace and tranquility in the midst of nature and the environment, we have a pool and green spaces so you can enjoy stay in Tababela , we opened our doors while the new Quito airport we will be waiting for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hosteria San Carlos Tababela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing