We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Save Time and Money on Overnights”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hosteria San Carlos Tababela
Ranked #39 of 263 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Midwest
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Save Time and Money on Overnights”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Loved that we saved time and money by staying here! Getting a taxi after a late night arrival from airport to historic Quito district hotel would have been 1.5 hrs one way costing a minimum of $50 for family of 4. Just to sleep a few hours, only to turn around, return back out to airport for another 1.5 hr taxi and another $50 taxi next day for a morning flight out to Galapagos! Airport transfer definitely a plus! Email them in advance for arrangements. Hotels in historic district are more expensive. Keep in mind street noise can be noisy on weekends downtown- not to mention historic district can be unsafe area late at night.

Instead, we used this hotel's transfer service ($5/person), paid for a quad room $80 and it was great! Good Value! It was quiet for our stay but we got to hotel late. Friendly staff. Pool great to look at but not heated. Good security; limited access to plantation style ranch house converted to B/B style hotel with small acreage behind Spanish Colonial Walls and gates. Hotel supplied dinner for an extra but reasonable fee; it says "restaurant" but think of it more like a bed and breakfast than full fledged hotel restaurant. Mealtimes are set by house, no meals outside of times set by house. What house chef cooks is what you get, no menu of multiple selections to choose from. I think we had a choice between two entrees. We ended up choosing small salad, chicken and vegetables, beans, rice and small scoop of sherbet for desert. We were running late and didn't get to try breakfast. Purified water was free; one bottle per person on arrival and free refills from purified water in lobby. Free Wi-Fi - good reception from our Quad room near lobby. Pool, clean and clear water, but not heated and to cold to swim in. Friendly dog on property, noticed the dog remained outside, had wagging tail, looked a lot like "Lassie" and did not jump up on us. I never heard dog barking as a problem, although another reviewer mentioned this as a problem for their stay. Hard pressed, I'd say maybe I heard a few quick barks very briefly when gate opened infrequently for new arrival but certainly was not all night. We stayed near the lobby, in quad room, I could hear people outside our door at times talking in hallway or near front desk but our door locked well and didn't find noise to be to much of a problem after dinner over and people gone to bed 10:30 pm. I booked "Quad room" I thought this meant for 4 people, but it was actually two full size beds and two bunk beds- plenty of space for our family of four. I thought the airport would be worse than what it was; it was not a problem for us. Hotel was 100% full for our stay. Personal laundry washed and folded upon request, $3/ Kg. Disadvantage/ Suggestions: This hotel is isolated- think of it as an old Spanish style hacienda ranch converted into a family B/B style stay. We used their transport service, but if you were driving here on your own, or simply asked taxi to take you here without directions, it would likely be difficult to find. No ATM on sight, the nearest ATM is at the airport. There isn't really any tourist type attractions or other restaurants or bars to walk to nearby. It will be a cab ride into the city to do 'tourist' activities so if you are planning on staying several days or plan to tour Quito from here keep that in mind. But if only on an overnight layover this is a great value with wonderful and friendly staff. Room clean, sheets smelled fresh and looked fresh. Bathroom very large but there was a leaky shower-head and bathroom smelled a bit like mildew- likely from being shut up with leaky water source. Hotel used ecology minded light bulbs, private rooms/ bathrooms seemed a bit dark, with low wattage bulbs. Wish the hotel lobby had prepackaged convenience snacks for sale, such as Doritos, Coke, Pretzels, or Cookies for late arrivals and or late night snacks.

Room Tip: I booked a "Quad room" I thought this meant for 4 people, but it was actually two full siz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Trekker-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    59
    20
    7
    15
See reviews for
29
54
27
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Pros & Cons:
Pros:
1- 10 min from airport for 5$ per person: airport transfert fast and reliable
2- they serve dinner
3- staff is welcoming and quick check-in
4- outdoor facilities are nice and give a good impression when you get there

Cons:
1- rooms are tiny
2- paper thin walls; you can literally hear everything from other rooms, especially room #13 to #16. We could also heard the music from a party.
3- we had a huge hole in our bathroom ceiling which left a very bad impression.
4- cheap beds

Overall, I would only stay there for a short layover: only if you arrive very late at night and leaving to the airport very early in the morning. Then, the 40$ + cheap cost for airport transfer may be worth it.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank PIerre-LucCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escondido, California
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We stayed one night because it was close to the airport. They were so helpful, making sure we had a taxi back. They kept an item for us while we were in the Galapogas even though we were not going to stay there again. On top of all that helpfulness, the restaurant is good, too. If we fly to Quito again, this is where we will stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MegDesc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Pros:
-close to the airport
-successful pickup from the airport
-timely departure for the airport in the morning

Cons:
-room and bathroom were dark and dingy
-there was hot water, but it took a while
-the shower was clogged
-there were no locks on the bathroom windows and we had to use our own

The place was fine for what we used it for - one night of sleep after a late flight before heading to another city since it is close to the airport. From what we saw during our short stay, it would not have been great for an extended stay.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms by the lobby/front desk. We found it difficult to sleep due to the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcrystallin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Two nights ago I called and made a reservation for a private room because I have to be at the airport at 6:30am. So then, around midnight last night I received an e-mail from"Luis": "Sorry we don't have any rooms available for tomorrow." So I guess it didn't matter that they confirmed a reservation two days ago? I e-mailed them twice to see if there had been a misunderstanding and received no reply. When I finally got them on the phone they said they had no room for me.

Now I am unsuccesfully trying to find another hotel near the airport for the night.

I couldn't be more dissatisfied with their "customer service."

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Incline Village, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The hotel was basic but clean. The hotel staff spoke good english and was very helpful. My son loved the pool and we both swam together. There was a 10.00 dollar shuttle fee and the airport was only 7 minutes away. The day we got there the kitchen was closed. Great location and I recommend rooms by the pool.

Room Tip: The pool was fun for my son. The hotel was very close to the Airport. It took us 7 minutes to get th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tahoegirl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecuador
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Taxi service right on, have the hotel arrange your taxi. Smiling people, helpful upon late night arrival. The hotel lobby was quite active which was good because you want to get to your room and go to sleep. Upstairs we found a quiet, clean room, with a firm bed. They use vacuum cleaners here. Interesting hotel to walk around outside; looks like venue for an Ecuadorian wedding with the little chapel. Not a bad breakfast, great juice, good coffee with hot milk. ;-)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sisterdel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quito
0.6 mi away
San Jose de Puembo - Quito Airport, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
1.9 mi away
Hosteria Rosa Blanca
Hosteria Rosa Blanca
#2 of 6 in Puembo
14 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hosteria Airport Garden
Hosteria Airport Garden
#3 of 14 in Tababela
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Casa Yaruqui
Casa Yaruqui
#2 of 14 in Tababela
90 reviews
4.6 mi away
Quinta La Constanza
Quinta La Constanza
#1 of 4 in Tababela
23 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Tababela Resort
Hotel Tababela Resort
#102 of 263 in Quito
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria San Carlos Tababela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria San Carlos Tababela

Property: Hosteria San Carlos Tababela
Address: Justo Cuello y Vicente Maldonado, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 263 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hosteria San Carlos Tababela 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a hotel that is located just five minutes from the new airport in Quito, we have very comfortable and cozy bedrooms into a land of peace and tranquility in the midst of nature and the environment, we have a pool and green spaces so you can enjoy stay in Tababela , we opened our doors while the new Quito airport we will be waiting for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hosteria San Carlos Tababela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing