We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An exceptional Old Town B&B with an amazing view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Casa Gardenia
Ranked #5 of 229 Quito B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“An exceptional Old Town B&B with an amazing view”
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Great B&B in a great location, 5 blocks to the plaza major. very comfortable rooms, good breakfasts. The back wall is all glass and the lounge seems to hang in space. Huge views of Old Town from the breakfast room, lounge and the rooftop terrace. besides all that, the owner and staff are wonderful - friendly, delightful, professional, very informative and extremely helpful. A unique feature of this B&B is that they leave out the leftover breakfast fruit and buns so the guests can have a little snack anytime. definitely worth the money.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hugh58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    74
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
34
154
26
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BI WA
1 review
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Casa Gardenia is a wonderful boutique hotel. We stayed there Jan. 13-15, 2014. The entire staff is very friendly and helpful. Maria in particular is terrific and speaks excellent English. They arranged for a driver from the airport which was very reasonable. Our room on the top floor was spacious and clean, and the view of Quito is amazing. The bed was very comfortable. The only drawback was the lack of a bathroom door for privacy. Our room had a sliding glass door with a tiny lock but the hotel is completely safe. The breakfast buffet includes a generous assortment of fresh fruits, juice, breads, cheese and meat tray, good coffee and eggs made to order. Everything was fresh and delicious. The staff was very accommodating and served us a late breakfast, since we slept in after our 1:30am arrival. We enjoyed the location in Old Town which was on a safe street within easy walking distance to many sites and several restaurants. There is no sign on the outside wooden door so you have to pay attention or you might walk right past after a day of site-seeing, but once inside it is very open and welcoming. We would definitely stay at Casa Gardenia again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We arrived in Quito late on a Sunday night. Our driver suggested we call the hotel to see if they could order takeout for us since most restaurants were closed. We did and they did. We arrived to find a table for two overlooking the city lights with an incredible pizza. Our room was sparkling clean, spacious and inviting. We spent our second evening overlooking the city on a comfy sofa. Breakfast was fresh fruit, juice, fresh pastry, assorted cheeses and meats and eggs made to order. We were leaving at 7 PM the third day and rather than checking out, they invited us to use the room until we left. the staff was warm, friendly and accommodating. It is walking distance to central Olde Town. If you are going to Quito, this is the best place to stay!

Room Tip: We had number 7 and it had a little balcony on the street. I heard rooms 8 & 9 are lovely but yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank queenmarylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Everything about the place is quite nice, but it can be fairly noisy in the rooms as the hallways are all old wood and people going to/from their rooms, the breakfast area or the rooftop terrace must trapse back and forth in front of the room doors. As there is no a/c, fan or heater, there is no way to create any white noise to drown things out.

The staff are terrific, particularly Santiago (I believe it is). The location is good... the rooftop terrace is very enjoyable... the rooms are modern in an older building, which is fun, etc.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Osdanuwati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I chose to stay in Casa Gardenia (over the more established hotels and BnBs in the center of the old town) based on the rave reviews on Tripadvisor (not a single unpleasant complaint so far), and its appealing modern interior design in an old colonial house.

My flight to Quito was delayed and only managed to arrive 1.5 days later, but Andreas was cool about it and arranged for his staff to wait up for me even at the wee hours of 3 o'clock in the morning. That was a very kind gesture indeed! The service level shown by Andreas, Maria and all the staff had been very professional and sincere. They were very chatty and friendly people who enjoyed sharing with me their good knowledge about Quito and providing information for exploring various places of interests (museums, events during Fundacion Day and out-of-town sights). They were always at the door to welcome me back and I felt very comfortable with Andreas and Maria, and would never hesitate to share with them my day plans and seek their opinion.

Also, they often checked if I felt comfortable in my room (I was staying alone in a very spacious Room number 8, and no other guests checked into the BnB during my stay), ensured all my transportation to other parts of the town and my Breakfast meals were taken care of in proper order, even on the last day of my stay with them. Their warmth and gracious hospitality made me feel very much at home even when I was miles away!

Do consider this fairly new establishment if you are looking for accommodation with modern contemporary designs with a homely personal touch.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have ready access to a cozy lounge and panoramic view of the old town
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jadeite9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We really liked Casa Gardenia. Andres and Maria are both available for any issues or questions you might have. We had one of the top floor rooms, #9, with a great view over the city and easy access to the roof deck. It was quiet even though the windows on the other side of the room looked over the street. The breakfast room also had a view and a good buffet of breads, yogurt, fruit, and ham and cheese, and eggs cooked to order, and good coffee. The location is wonderful if your main goal is, as ours was, to see the colonial center. Excellent bed and large room, reliable wifi. One point: go with someone you know well, as there is no door to the bathroom, just a partial wall. I'd stay there again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jeanfrombos2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Salvador, El Salvador
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Really speechless near all The museums in historic center of Quito, great beautiful churches and delicious restaurants all walking distance. The breakfast buffete couldnt be better eggs, fresh bread, buns, and all source of fruits, yougurts and cereals. The staff is super friendly and they are there yo help you at all times!!! They made us staff feel home away from home! Its a must to come back.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claudia l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
1.6 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#9 of 111 in Quito
1,155 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#2 of 111 in Quito
669 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#13 of 111 in Quito
740 reviews
0.7 mi away
Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Gardenia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Gardenia

Property: Hotel Casa Gardenia
Address: Benalcazar n9-42 and Oriente, Quito 00000, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 229 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casa Gardenia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa Gardenia is a Boutique Style B&B very well ubicated in the Historic Center of QuitoIt is a different Hotel concept, combining the old style (a 1700 colonial house) with modern concepts of architecture and decorationWe offer e very personalized service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Casa Gardenia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing