We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Casa Gardenia
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Casa El Eden(Quito)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Carlota(Quito)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (291)
Filter reviews
291 results
Traveller rating
197
78
14
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
197
78
14
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstop floorold towneggslight sleepergreat view of the citylocal ingredientshistoric centerwonderful boutique hotelstreet sideyogurthotel arrangedroof terracesitting areasmall hotelcentral areabreakfast was deliciousrooms are clean and comfortable
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
206 - 211 of 291 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This small, 9 room B&B is more like a hotel. Completely redone, yet a few blocks from Independence square in the heart of Old Town . The staff, Maria and Andres and other are attentive and easy to talk with. The rooms are spotless, good beds, WiFi, and Tv. Very modern in decor with breakfast that includes fresh fruit, meat and cheese, eggs to your liking, and a variety of breads. Views of the city are stunning.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank evslisw21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Reached here later at night after a flight from the Galapagos. Santiago was great at the reception. Carried our bags up 3 flights of stairs without flinching. Fantastic panoramic views of the City. Don't miss a great breakfast with great coffee. All the staff were warm and helpful. They arranged a taxi to Otavalo. Try not to visit Quito during Easter week. It took us 3 hours from the airport to Old Town, normally a 40 minute drive. Highly recommend and will come back.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank NevG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Walked in LOVING this place. VERY warm and welcoming from Sabastian. The place inside is gorgeous! Industrial loft looking. All bedrooms come with private bathrooms and showers. There are also bath amenities and nice towels. The price includes Wi-Fi which worked exceptionally well and a free breakfast that was good - fresh fruits, some cheeses, croissants, yogurt, and fresh juice. The staff is EXCEPTIONAL imo. Nothing was a problem.

The rooms were clean. The only issue I had was noise. I am a city/urban person so I expect some noise when you are in the city (and this is a great location!) but there were two dogs in the building next door who barked approximately 18 hours out of the 24 hour day. Oftentimes from 1 AM - 3:30 AM. It made it difficult for me to sleep. There were also quite a few alarms and a rumbling bus that you could literally feel each time it passed by. I know these are things the owner can't control but this got tiring (literally and figuratively) very quickly :)

Also, there is not a dresser or closet. I didn't care about that but I know there are some travelers where that may be an issue so wanted to mention it.

I would recommend this place with the caveats about the dogs - it really did get quite annoying.

Room Tip: All rooms are not sound insulated. Any room in this property is a "good" room. I was in room 3 and as a solo traveler I felt it was quite large.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sealizis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We came to Casa Gardenia after 5 days in the Galapagos. Getting off the plane, we were reeling from the sudden contrast of the slow pace of the islands with the vibrant bustle of Quito, and stepping into Casa Gardenia, in the Centro Historico, was like taking a deep breath and relaxing. The space is beautiful, particularly if you like modern architecture (not my thing but I can appreciate good design when I see it) and airy and light. The location couldn't be better-- close enough to walk to anything in the historic district but far enough off of major routes to be quiet at night. We do recommend ear-plugs: that's not the hotel's fault, it's just that the streets are noisy, and if you're a light sleeper, you'll be glad to have the insurance policy. There is also the slight matter of the breakfast room, which is in a sort of courtyard situation, and is not a problem if you are staying with other polite guests-- however we were sharing the hotel with some exuberant small children and their parents were not interested in suggesting that they keep their voices down at 6:10 a.m.-- again, not the fault of the hotel-- but you'll be glad you have those earplugs if you, too, share the hotel with somebody similar.

The staff were all accommodating and very helpful. We heard the proprietor, Andres, arranging tours for several of the other guests (in fluent English, if you're worried about that). We talked to them later and they came back satisfied. As for us, he very kindly let us stay in our room until 8 pm on the day we were supposed to check out (check-out is at noon normally, but we had asked to leave our bags behind the desk and, since they did not need the room the next day, he offered us the use of the room until we left that night). Coming from the U.S. we're definitely not used to that level of kindness in a hotel.

The breakfast is included in the price and, in my opinion, is worth it for the coffee alone (but stay for the fresh fruit and the very nice croissants). If we return to the center of Quito we'll absolutely stay here again. One tip-- make sure you have the address written down: when we arrived there was nothing in the way of a sign of any sort, although the next day they had put one up. It's on Benalcazar and if you have the address it's very easy to find (right next to the Turkish embassy).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NinaPetrovna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We rented all rooms in the hotel for a group and got great service. Prices are reasonable for the old town, and for the quality of the place. Hotel is an interesting and lovely mix of old and modern. The rooms are cool: exposed brick and modern furnishings, large designs painted on the ceilings...
We had one person with mobility issues that they gave a ground floor room to. Good breakfast. Nice view from the top floor patio. Its up a big hill from the main attractions of the old town, so expect to huff and puff a bit getting back after an afternoon of sightseeing (or take a taxi).

Room Tip: Rooms have noise-reducing glass, but if you want a really quiet room pick one that doesn't face the main street, or that is up on the 3rd floor, as buses do go by regularly, including early in the a.m. and late at night.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank orchidbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews