We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect and affordable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 111 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
paris
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Perfect and affordable”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Very nice hotel, with charming European local style. Excellent breakfast. Manager and team kind and serviceable. Nice rooms decorated with care and simplicity. Central. Not a bargain, but a very good price for what you get.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alfieParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa Joaquin H, Gerente at Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you very much for your review, very much apreciated.

Saludos cordiales,
Bolívar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    98
    12
    0
    1
See reviews for
68
223
63
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights on our way to the Galapagos Islands. The proprietors were very nice and helpful. The breakfast was excellent, and the hotel is quite nice. Our room was small but clean. The bed was a double bed and was a bit too firm for me. Our room didn't have AC and the noise would have probably kept us up if the windows were open. Luckily it cooled down in the evening so that it was fairly comfortable. For the price especially, I thought this was a very nice hotel.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Toddao1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa Joaquin H, Propietario at Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you for your review.
We installed double glazed windows to assure the tranquillity in our hotel.
Also we don't have AC because of the isolation of the hotel and the fact that it cools off every night in Quito.
We have chosen orthopaedic mattresses for the comfort of our visitors and to assure a good night rest after having visited this vibrant city.

Saludos cordiales,
Dirk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alajuela
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I stayed at Casa Joaquin from September 16 till the 22nd, 2013. This boutique hotel is comfortable, with personalized service and very friendly staff, the rooms are spacious, beds and linens are always crisp clean and the area is ideal as it is just steps away from important Quito attractions or an easy cab drive to others. Dirk, Bolivar, David, Javier and Patricio are always willing to lend a helping hand, 100% recommended!

Room Tip: For a few extra dollars you can get a suite instead of a regular room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdalbertoRF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa Joaquin H, Propietario at Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Google Translation
Hola Adalberto,

gracias por su comentario y para habernos dejado las flores.
También hemos apreciado el chocolate de Costa Rica.

Hasta pronto
Dirk y Bolivar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgefield Park, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

During a two week visit to Ecuador, I stayed at three hotels in three cities and this hotel was by far the best. Casa Joaquin is a small 14 or 15 room hotel, located in the business area of Quito, near Plaza Foch. Although there are a lot of bars and restaurants in the area, the hotel is located on a quite street. I stayed in room 31, located in the front and did not hear any street noise. The hotel has the feel of a bed and breakfast. It met my criteria for cleaness and comfort. It also has a rooftop terrace with a nice view of the area. The hotel managers have good social skills and easily engage in conversation with the guess and go out of their way to made your stay comfortable. I love the decor of the hotel and the staff is great. Had I known about the suites, I would have stayed in one. I have stayed in a lot of hotels and rarely do I feel at home in them. This hotel definitively made me feel at home. I thought the cost was low, given the overall value of the service. If I return to Quito, I wouldn't consider staying at another hotel.

Room Tip: If you are going to be in Quito for several days or you are traveling with a family, I strongly reco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adolph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa Joaquin H, Propietario at Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
thank you for your review. We apreciate your opinion very much.
We are looking forward to see you again.
Quito has a lot to offer and you always will have a good time here.

Greetings
Dirk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

It was my fourth visit to Ecuador and I have stayed at several hotels in and around Quito but this hotel was the best, very special. It is very elegantly decorated and I had a very nice room with a well-equipped bathroom and lots of hot water in the shower (which is not offerred by every hotel here). The breakfasts were excellent, with lots of fruit and freshly baked breads and pastry. A very nice touch is that fruit is always there at the breakfast area and you can have a fruit of your choice anytime without extra charges. Another nice touch for me was a wide choice of music channels on TV (60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, classics, blues, different type of jazz, Latino, etc.) and I could play my favourite music whenever I wanted.
The authors of other reviews mention shadowy figures to be seen on the streets around the hotel. Indeed, there are many of them in the Mariscal Foch area - but the police are also numerous, and right near the hotel entrance there's a guard booth, and those characters are harmless and not to be really afraid of.
The best feature, however, was the attitude. The hotel managers, Dirk and Bolivar, were very friendly and helpful, always ready to help or give an advice, very patient with me when I kept demonstrating my propensity to be geographically-handicapped and get desoriented and lost in the area all the time. I did feel very welcome and taken very good care of. I liked this hotel very much and so I decided to come back and stay there on my last day before leaving Ecuador.
I am very happy with this hotel and I will certainly go back there on my next visit.
The only minor problem was some noise from the street at night but it was not too bad and you can always ak for a room that does not face the street.
Dirk and Bolivar, thanks a lot and hope to see you next time!
Excellent hotel and a good value for money

Room Tip: I was in 31, with a nicely sloping ceiling, very comfortable and elegant. I kept the windows open al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria_the_Snorkeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa Joaquin H, Propietario at Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
We also looking forward to see you soon again.
Hope you can make it in December like you said.
By then the restaurant will be open and you can try our Ecuadorian food.

Abrazo
Dirk and Bolivar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Good taste in decor. Staff always above and beyond to assist you. They made reservation, called taxi - never expected a tip. One night we were late for a reservation, weekend night, our taxi didn't show up, one of the staff went out (cold winter night) to flag a taxi for us. He must had stood on the main street for more than half an hour.
Very clean room with good strong shower!!!!
Good cup of coffee that you can order to start your day.
Good location, you can walk to old town and new town or taxi for only $1 during the day $2 at night.
A very European kind of hotel in Quito!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irene_ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa Joaquin H, Propietario at Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Thank you Irene for your review.

See you soon,
Dirk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We kept returning to Casa Joaquin during our holiday in Ecuador and were always made to feel like we'd come home. The owners are very friendly and helpful, and the rooms are clean and very comfortable. Breakfasts are perfect and the owner keeps a stash of lovely wine for the evening. Mariscal may or may not be your cup of tea (it's certainly lively, but difficult to find particularly great places to eat) but its easy to walk to either of the two main bus routes to the old town or elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Screenname62829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa Joaquin H, Propietario at Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Thank you.
When you come back, we' ll drink a good wine in the restaurant that is about to open (December)
Cheers
Dirk and Bolivar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#13 of 111 in Quito
740 reviews
10.1 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
0.3 mi away
Hostal de La Rabida
Hostal de La Rabida
#8 of 111 in Quito
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#2 of 111 in Quito
669 reviews
1.5 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#5 of 111 in Quito
461 reviews
2.1 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel

Property: Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
Address: Joaquin Pinto E 4 376 y Juan Leon Mera | sector Mariscal, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 111 Hotels in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Quito, Boutique Hotel Casa Joaquin "Logis de Charme" is a small oasis of comfort, peace and tranquility. It is a delightful mix of European tradition and contemporary trend. The Casa Joaquin-team welcomes you in an authentic colonial house with newly decorated guest rooms. Year round, your affordable and luxurious starting point for pleasure and for business in enchanting Ecuador. Located in the historical city center of QuitoHotel Casa Joaquin "Logis de Charme" is located in a safe neighborhood in the heart of the historic city of Quito. The touristic hotspots, business centers, markets and the popular “La Mariscal” barrio are at walking distance of the hotel. In this area you can arrange any trip of adventure you have in mind or submerge yourself in the rich nightlife and enjoy the splendid culture and art this country has to offer. The hotel is 45 minutes away from the airport. We provide a pick-up and shuttle service. Boutique Hotel Casa Joaquin "Logis de Charme" has 14 brand new guest rooms, designed with taste and dedicated to a peaceful and comfortable stay. Our excellent beds with orthopedic mattresses and pillows with anti-mites treatment, guarantee a good night’s rest. All rooms have a private bathroom and meet to 4-star European standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing