We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$348
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$294
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$84
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$185
JW Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$183
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$192
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$551
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$504
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (554)
Filter reviews
554 results
Traveller rating
429
107
16
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
429
107
16
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplaza fochla petite mariscalrestaurants and barsold townrooftop terraceeggsawesome hotelwould stay here againno elevatornice breakfastfew blockssmall hoteltaxi ridequiet streetfresh fruitnight liferooms were very clean
Filter
Updating list...
409 - 414 of 554 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Our stay in October was lovely. The owner and his staff went out of their way to make our visit as comfortable and pleasant as possible as well as helping make our experience of their city rich, varied, and fascinating. Their joy in what they do and their love for their city was contagious.
Our rooms were comfortable and spotless - the decor only added to the serenity, a wonderful contrast to the bustle outside on the streets. The Mariscal district can seem daunting until one notices the numerous policemen, until one notices the endless construction and improvement projects so tastefully and artistically underway. Then, one gets a sense of the intentional progress and care being given to this lively area. It is also very easy to find any number of restaurants nearby. It is a short walk to the park, a wonderful place on Saturdays, - we called it Central Park - from which you can taxi to anywhere, avoiding the confusion of one-way streets.
It was great to return from an excursion to find Dirk, waiting at the door, the epitome of the welcoming host.
Every morning a sunny dining area greeted us as well as excellent coffee and breakfast. In the evening, a glass of wine, a trip upstairs to the rooftop? Unfortunately, I didn't read the literature describing these possibilities which was probably for the best for a newcomer to 9,000 feet. Fortunately, it means I will have to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debbie550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa Joaquin H, Propietario at Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Thank you for this supporting review.
We try to be at your service and to help you to get the most out of your stay in our hotel and Quito.
Looking forward to see you again,
Dirk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The Casa Joaquin hotel is a newly renovated family house with a very good decoration taste. The rooms are small and cozy and there's no need for air conditioning as the temperature keeps around 22oC whatever it is outside (the days we were there it varied from 9oC to 25oC). The shower is hot and the towels are white and heavy! They provide two small bottles of water every day in the room. The breakfast is very good with fresh fruits, eggs, yougurt, breads, expresso coffee or tea, etc. The service is very friendly and Bolivar and Kirk try their best to help you enjoy your stay. If they only had a frigobar or a better quality amenities in the room I am sure they would jump to a 4 star classification. But its worth the price. The only attention one should take on choosing this hotel is the location: on Mariscal, the nightlife is on the hype and you may cross drunks or drug dealers just after 7PM. The police is around though. But if its your first time in Quito or you are staying there for only a few days, I would rather stay at the old town as the essence of Quito is there and the best visiting places out of the historical site will need a taxi ride even from Mariscal too (Teleferico and Gayasanim Museum). The taxi is not expensive, but the drivers try to charge you in advance instead of using the taximeter what should be the right thing to do.

Room Tip: Ask for an internal room as the ones facing the street may suffer from the nightlife noise.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CeciliaLapertosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa Joaquin H, Propietario at Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013
Google Translation

Gracias por su comentario. Fue un gusto de nuestro parte de ayudarles a encontrar mas fácil los lugares que ustedes quisieran conocer y apoyarles para disfrutar a full sus vacaciones en Quito y Ecuador.
Saludos cordiales,
Dirk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I just spent a week at Casa Joaquin. The owner Dirk and manager Bolivar couldn't have been more welcoming or helpful. A great breakfast every morning, a comfortable small bar in the evening and a beautifully appointed bedroom made my stay very enjoyable. I needed a driver and they found one for me for 3 days of meetings around Quito. They recommended good restaurants, helped me find a gym, and watched my luggage for me during a small get away. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sierraraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa Joaquin H, Propietario at Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Thank you for your review.
It was great to have had you with us en hope to see you soon again.
Please send me a picture of the bear you've seen in Mindo.

Saludos cordiales,
Dirk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I'm a B&B and small boutique inn type of traveler, so Casa Joaquin fit my tastes and it's an excellent choice for this large capital city - great accommodations and staff who go out of their way to make sure your visit is great - from sightseeing to restaurant recommendations. OK, so it's in Mariscal not Centro Historico so that's maybe why it's number four, and the neighborhood appears a bit sketchy (BUT IT'S NOT) and for the hipster under 30 crowd, but a $3 taxi ride is easy and cheap. The nearby restaurants have a wide selection and reasonably priced, and it's a bit closer to the airport. All and all, I highly recommend Casa Joaquin and let's get it to Numero Tres!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GregCinVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa Joaquin H, Propietario at Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Thank you for your review and your support.
Number 3,....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

My wife and I spent six days at Casa Joaquin hotel and cannot thank the owner and his staff enough for making our stay so enjoyable. They were all very friendly and helpful, especially when I had trouble withdrawing money from the bank cash machines. Our room was very pleasant, always clean and the hotel felt safe and secure at all times.
I recommend this hotel to anyone who intends to visit Quito.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa Joaquin H, Propietario at Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thank you William for your nice review, very much appreciated.
Hope to see you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews