We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent and Safe!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent and Safe!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

I LOVED this hotel. It is walking distance Plaza Foch which is packed with nightlife and restaurants. I felt very safe here, even as a female solo traveler. The staff is helpful and attentive. They speak great English and even put up with my sub-par Spanish.

The breakfast was delicious and included meat, cheese, yogurt, fruit, rolls, croissants, etc. They even had eggs cooked to order. I opted for the "traveller room charme." My room had a double bed, safe, TV, bathroom, and shower. There is no closet, but there's a lot of space on some shelves for clothing. There's also a lovely rooftop!

All in all, I really loved this boutique hotel.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Care D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa Joaquin H, Owner at Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Thank you for your comment and your appreciation.
Looking forward to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    92
    12
    0
    1
See reviews for
61
207
61
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

This is a beautiful colonial gem of a hotel with staff that is very helpful, rooms that are lovely, and a very calm interior. The only negative is that it is in the "modern" part of the city which is pretty boring. All the top sites are in the historic district which is a $5 taxi ride away. If location near the historic sites is not an issue, this little hotel is wonderful. Also, if you ask the doorman to call a cab, he will do so but the cab will cost more and the cab driver gives a "tip" to the doorman in exchange.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peg1cat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa Joaquin H, Owner at Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Thank you for your opinion. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you soon again. It surprises me that you didn´t appreciate fully the neighborhood, which is the liveliest one of Quito. More up north is more residential and the center is a must do during day time but abondoned at night. The Mariscal is the neighborhood with bars, discos, restaurants and shops,...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
133 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights with my husband. It is a beautiful hotel and we had a pretty room with a great mix of old and modern coupled with quirky details. Staff is friendly and eager to please, although most speak very little, if any, English. We arrived in the middle of the night and check-in was phenomenally quick and efficient and the person behind the desk understood that what we wanted above all was just to go to bed.

Unfortunately, what utterly ruined the experience and, in my mind, overrides the positives above was the fact that we could hear absolutely everything being said in the hallway, the lobby, the breakfast area as well as on the street. Yes, I understand that it’s an old hotel and that soundproofing might be tricky. And we might simply also have been unlucky since our room was positioned at the top of a staircase leading down to the lobby.

However, for me, the most important defining feature of a hotel is its ability to provide a good night’s rest, which was impossible here. We have stayed at many other historical buildings that have been turned into hotels, and the sound issue in those has clearly been dealt with. Here, I ended up wearing my high-quality silicone earplugs and was still woken up. And I live smack in the middle of a city at home.

Other issues:

- Airport transfers to/from hotel were arranged through the hotel. They worked fine but both drivers drove like utter maniacs with a death-wish. Have stayed in some other hotels in countries where traffic is crazy and have actually been told by the drivers that their hotel has prohibited them from driving over a certain speed limit so as not to scare the wits out of foreign travelers.
- This is really up to each person individually, but personally I didn’t like the neighbourhood. Yes, it was extremely convenient for Foch Plaza and the restaurants near the plaza but other than that it was seedy, extremely noisy, party-oriented and we could literally see people using drugs on the street from our hotel window. I did not feel safe. Have previously stayed in other cities in locations favoured by travelers but this area lacked all the positives of those areas.
- Breakfast was pretty basic and finished way too early for a hotel billing itself as romantic.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boarding_gate123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa Joaquin H, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for your review. I would like to remark that the hotel and his staff will do anything to make the stay of our guests unforgettable and as pleasant as possible. Please check out our website before you reserve with us because we are NOT part of a big hotel chain and do have our own and personalised service. Here is what we offer:

1. An old colonial house has been transformed in a hotel. Taking in consideration the necessities of a modern traveller like double glazed windows (for outside noise), solid walls (for eventual neighbour noises), solid wooden doors and flooring, isolation of roof and walls. Further we have orthopedic mattresses, Egyptian sheets and soft pillows, blackout curtains to assure a good night’s rest.
2. we listen to our guests to see if we can make improvements or need to make changes to accommodate eventual special requirements of our guests (like sensibility for noises, special diets, outside windows, ...). Our staff is trained to detect this kind of needs like we are aware that most of the guest will not spontaneously ask for it.
We never heard a complaint from your side during your three days stay.
3. All our receptionists speak fluently English accept for a newcomer who is following intensive courses.
4. To assure a better service we’ve selected drivers who are punctual, honest and take care of the safety of our guests. Most of them also speak fluently English.
5. Our hotel is situated in the safest and most suitable neighborhood of Quito. Near restaurants, bars, shops and easy to get at all points of interest. It is a vivid neighborhood but a safe one because of the presence of people (the old town is abandoned at night) and presence of police and security guards.
6. We don't serve the standard buffets of the hotel chains but a personalised one with an offer of different cheeses and delicatessen, a variety of types of bread and fruit. Also yoghurt, granola, nuts and seeds, linseed, dried fruit. We diversify the buffet with french toast, pancakes, hot sausages, bacon, eggs on your way and local specialties like humitas, quimbolitos, empanadas,... Aside from a variety of teas and American coffee, a professional espresso machine makes at your demand a perfect espresso or cappuccino.
7. The hotel has a bar and rooftop terrace with a great mountain view for the guests who want to stay and relax in the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed one night after our Galapagos cruise. Well located in new part of town. Very modern and comfortable. Friendly helpful staff (arranged getting our laundry done in 2 hours - so grateful). Used their airport transfer service - great value.

Room Tip: We had room 26, which faced the street and had plenty of space for the 3 of us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa Joaquin H, Owner at Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for your review, very much appreciated,
Dirk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, CA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

This hotel is simply great! Less than 24 months old in 7/14. We were here for 4 days, thoroughly enjoying ourselves. The surrounding area is upscale with the feeling of reasonable safety. The hotel has about a dozen very nice, but not large, rooms. Decor is restrained but delightful, and the staff was always most helpful and obliging. Breakfasts were ample with fruit, eggs, toast, yogurt...and so on. In Quito, which based on safety can seem intimidating, it was a lovely refuge. And, be sure to have a glass of wine up on the roof terrace while enjoying the sunset!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveljunkie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa Joaquin H, Owner at Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you very much for you nice review.

Looking forward to have you with us again,


Dirk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

The great reviews caught our eye so we made reservations at Casa Joaquin. The good news is that they turned out to all be true. The Belgian owner sets a high standard and it shows. Attention to customer needs is clearly priority #1 for the staff. They recently opened La Petit Mariscal Restaurant nearby and it is fabulous as well in the creative menu, the professional staffing and architectural design. When we return this is where we'll go. Thank you Dirk and Bolivar for a great introduction to Quito.

Room Tip: You are in a city so rooms in the back would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fountaingirl1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lapetitemariscal, Owner at Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you very much for your appreciation.

Dirk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed at the Radisson on the way in to Quito, which was very nice, but could not get as good a rate on the way out so we stayed here. A great location to explore Quito and near all the nightlife. The hotel is clean and it is very professionally run by the Belgian owner. They also own the nearby restaurant which has first rate food and reasonable prices (I cannot recall the name). Excellent place to stay.

Room Tip: try and get a room which has a window to the outside not to the hotel or you have to keep your drape...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fishonhook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lapetitemariscal, Owner at Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your review. The name of the restaurant is "La Petite Mariscal".
Looking forward to have you with us again or in the restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
10.1 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
1.7 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#8 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
2.1 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel
2.1 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#2 of 114 in Quito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal de La Rabida
Hostal de La Rabida
#7 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel

Property: Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
Address: Joaquin Pinto E 4 376 y Juan Leon Mera | sector Mariscal, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Quito, Boutique Hotel Casa Joaquin "Logis de Charme" is a small oasis of comfort, peace and tranquility. It is a delightful mix of European tradition and contemporary trend. The Casa Joaquin-team welcomes you in an authentic colonial house with newly decorated guest rooms. Year round, your affordable and luxurious starting point for pleasure and for business in enchanting Ecuador. Located in the historical city center of QuitoHotel Casa Joaquin "Logis de Charme" is located in a safe neighborhood in the heart of the historic city of Quito. The touristic hotspots, business centers, markets and the popular “La Mariscal” barrio are at walking distance of the hotel. In this area you can arrange any trip of adventure you have in mind or submerge yourself in the rich nightlife and enjoy the splendid culture and art this country has to offer. The hotel is 45 minutes away from the airport. We provide a pick-up and shuttle service. Boutique Hotel Casa Joaquin "Logis de Charme" has 14 brand new guest rooms, designed with taste and dedicated to a peaceful and comfortable stay. Our excellent beds with orthopedic mattresses and pillows with anti-mites treatment, guarantee a good night’s rest. All rooms have a private bathroom and meet to 4-star European standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing