We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
Ranked #1 of 115 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We were fortunate to stay with the Cruz family for an afternoon and evening and had a wonderful time. From the time we were picked up at the airport by Jemina, until Daniel dropped us off the next morning, we were in good hands.

The hacienda is gorgeous and the grounds are beautifully landscaped. Our room was very nice with much attention given to details to make guests comfortable. Oh the delight of a roomy hot shower with thick towels! The bed was so comfortable.

We had a wonderful lunch seated outside in the courtyard and then we decided to explore the grounds and found a series of trails that brought us to great views of the gorge. We noticed a cave with steps leading down and decided to go back to the house to ask about it. We were treated to a tour by Emilio and he explained about the history of the Hacienda and the tunnel. It is thought that the tunnel dates back to Inca times. We followed the steps down the tunnel in the dark until we emerged into the sunlight near the edge of the gorge. We felt a little bit like Indiana Jones!

We made our way back and had coffee in the courtyard with Emilio's grandmother, a delightful lady. It was getting chilly so we went inside and Diego was busy building a fire in the huge fireplace. What a treat to sit by the fire reading our books.

We had a delicious dinner in the dining room and had a chance to chat with Daniel. Before we knew it, it was time to retire. After such a great day we had no trouble falling asleep.

The next morning we had a very great breakfast and then it was time to say goodbye to everyone and head back to the airport.

We had a delightful stay. We didn't feel we were in a hotel but instead, we were in a family's home and we were treated as honored guests. We can't wait to visit again, there are still more trails to explore.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego C, Manager at Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Kathy it was great to meet you as well! Thanks for sharing your experiences in Ecuador. Although we didnt meet for long, It was great to have you around. Well wait for your next visit, once the other suites are available! You and your family will be welcomed always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    528
    74
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
167
283
31
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barranquilla, Colombia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My wife & I had the pleasure of staying here 1 night during a visit to Ecuador for our wedding Anniversary during November 2013. Our only regret is we couldn't stay longer. This is a family owned hotel that really does offer a personal touch. Diego & his family welcomed us into their house with tours of the farm, hidden tunnel, fine meals & drinks by the fireplace in the evening & finally driven to the airport by Diego personally at 3.00AM. Excellent.

Room Tip: Dont waste any time looking elsewhere in Quito.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego C, Manager at Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Hello Richard and Michelle!! it was great to meet you and take you around the hacienda! To bad we didnt have enought time to enjoy..but im sure you had a great anniversary that you will never forget. Please keep in touch and we hope to visit you in Baranquilla soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2013

The Cruz family was quiet amazing. From our arrival to the last day there was nothing short of fabulous! They were helpful in every way possible. Whether it was assisting us in translation or drawing a map to get us safely to our destination. I am so thankful we decided to stay with them. We had an awesome time of fellowship, not to mention great food and a fantastic time playing cards! The accommodations were wonderful as well as the grounds. Looking forward to seeing all of you again very soon.
Daniel,Jemina, Diego, Emilio and Falis Fransisco.....( and your grandma too) You guys are the best!!!!! Until next time.
We love you guys!!!!!

Room Tip: we stayed in the downstairs room and the one upstairs with the balcony. Both great rooms in m opinio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msmaddy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego C, Manager at Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Maddy and John, we had an awesome time for one week! I really enjoyed playing cards with you and your "buray" game as well as the nice jumbo dinner you guys cooked! It was delicious. We hope to visit you in Lousiana with fares, he is growing a lot and hopefully he can go in a summer internship! hahaha. I hope you guys liked Ecuador and cant wait to see you over the summer, please feel free to contact us for any help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We were collected from the airport at short notice and stayed for one night. It was a unique experience as Daniel and his family made us very welcome in their home. It is very close to the airport so you will hear the occasional aeroplane going over, but not during the night.
We had an enjoyable dinner near a roaring log fire with a charming couple from South Africa.
Daniel kindly spent a lot of time giving us a tour of his estate the following morning, with its fantastic views of the surrounding countryside, mountains and Quito.
Rooms are spacious and the bed was extremely comfortable. We would suggest adding a hair dryer and tea/ coffee making facilities in each room and a small heater for cooler nights. These are minor details for a wonderful place which has only been open for 6 weeks.
The highlight for my husband was sitting in the lovely garden watching the hummingbirds flit from tree to tree.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego C, Manager at Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Hello Sarah and John, thanks for your advise with the hair dryer. We had a great night of drinks at the chimney and valuable experiences. I hoped you guys had a good time and hopefully visit us in your next adventure in Ecuador. Im delighted that John liked the hummingbirds over the garden and the hammocks. Too bad you couldnt stay longer. Hopefully in the near future we can visit you in London and get together for a few drinks. Say hello to your family and John.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2013

A lovely family run this hotel, it´s a perfect springboard for the Galapagos, and there´s also a cute little dog who adds to the fun.

Designed by architects, it's a beautifully designed hacienda and well worth the money.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego C, Owner at Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Hello Kat, thanks for your comments. We had a great time with you as well. We had great matches at the pool table 3-0, very close games. As well as a nice hike around the hacienda and fire chimneys afterwards. We hope your adventure through south america and part of asia goes well! Keep in touch and yes Fares is such a cute lil dog. Best wishes to you and Gavin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuenca, Ecuador
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This is one of the best places we've stayed in Ecuador. From the warm and friendly welcome at the airport by Diego, one of the owners, to the beautiful and comfortable accommodations, luxurious rustic surroundings, and the aim-to-please attitude on the part of the whole family, including the most adorable dog, Fares, this place was everything it promised to be - and more. Diego is very knowledgeable, and interested in his guests, and speaks perfect English. Though it may be on the map and most interesting for its proximity to the airport, its also a great tourist destination in its own right. A great get-away if you want a relaxing stay in a tranquil environment, lying in a hammock, listening to birds chirping away. I wish we had had more time to enjoy all the elements of this lovely place. I wanted to keep it a secret, but that wouldn't be fair to the Hacienda!
A huge thumbs up!!!!
Cuenca, Ecuador

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego C, Owner at Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Valerie and Deck,

Thanks for your comment and great review! We were delightful to have you here! It was too short visit though, but Im sure well meet again. Fares indeed is a nice adorable dog, he is growing quite a bit and he is the star of our hotel. Everyone loves him. Ill send you pictures of him soon.
Please say hi to Deck and have a great time in Yunquilla, Cuenca. Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft. Collins, CO
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We literally tripped over Hacienda La Jimenita. Our plane arrived in Quito late, and we were searching the 'net looking for a place for a single night. We made our reservation about 10:30 P.M., and didn't get there for another hour. For whatever reason, they had not received our booking until after we arrived, but Daniel and his wife, and their son, Diego, welcomed us with open arms, even though it was so late. They put us up in the most beautiful room, with its own porch/deck where we could look over the mountains west of Quito, as well as part of the city itself. What an amazing sight when you get up in the morning. Because we decided that we needed another day of rest, we asked first thing in the morning if we could stay another night, and fortunately for us the room was available. Both Daniel and Diego spent a lot of time showing us around their land, talking about how they built the place originally, what they are doing to expand their lovely resort in a sustainable manner, the use of sustainable agriculture in the preparation of both breakfast and dinner, and just being the most gracious hosts that you could ever want. You have to explore the archeological site on the land, and wander the hillside looking down into the canyon on the property. Their staff was the most pleasant, polite, and helpful; they have chosen well. You can't find a better place to put up your feet, relax, recoup, rest, enjoy fabulous breakfasts and dinners, and have a good conversation, and to learn about the country of Ecuador from this family. Yes, we will stay there again when we return to Ecuador, and yes, we absolutely recommend Hacienda La Jimenita.

The hacienda is on the glide path for planes landing at the new airport, but it is such a wonderful place that that very minor issue is easily blocked out of your mind.

Room Tip: Ask for Suite 1, which has the porch/deck with the view of Volcan Pichincha!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madonerider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego C, Owner at Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear John and Deanne,

We are sorry that we couldnt pick you up due to a technology problem. However, we gave you the best suite for you to enjoy for the same price, Im sure you enjoyed the sunrise and sunset. I looked you guys read and just chill in the afternoons. We were happy to have you in our home, we shared and talked great conversations. I will print out our sunday picture and put it on our clients list, we hope to see you soon. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
10.1 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
11.5 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#2 of 115 in Quito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
11.2 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#9 of 115 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
10.5 mi away
Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel
9.7 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#4 of 115 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita

Property: Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
Address: Barrio Andrango Via Pifo, Quito 170175, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 115 Hotels in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita is located 15 minutes from the airport of Quito. We offer personalized bilingual service, luxurious and comfortable rooms surrounded with nature, wifi internet in all rooms and social areas, on site Restaurant with organic meals & vegetarian dishes, shuttle service to the airport, tours, and family atmosphere. We also have a private botanical reserve for birdwatching and hiking. Come and enjoy a great stay for your trip in Ecuador. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing