We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Watchout for Friday nights”
Review of Embassy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Hotel
Ranked #58 of 115 Hotels in Quito
Jackson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Watchout for Friday nights”
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a total of four nights in two different rooms on our way into and out of Ecuador. Both rooms were clean with decent bathrooms and with smaller beds (full size). One bed was horribly soft and with two people you ended up in the center together, we likened it to sleeping in in a taco shell. The bed in the second room was also small but comfortable. We enjoyed the breakfast each morning which consisted of scrambled eggs, a meat, bread, fresh fruit, and juice. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel is close to the bars and restaurants of the Mariscal so finding a restaurant in walking distance is not a problem BUT due to the noise in the area do not expect to be able to sleep on Friday nights unless you have ear plugs and that may not be enough. On Friday nights, music, traffic, people, sirens and car alarms are the norm from sunset to sunrise.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    32
    29
    2
    6
See reviews for
11
20
10
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Strenghts : NONE
Weaknesses: Shabby rooms. Unclean and dirty - We found a used sanitary towel under our bed!! Narrow beds on wheels - when you get in them, they slide around! Shabby furniture. Heater on wall - leaving burn marks on ceiling. Very small bathrooms - you rae almost showering over the toilet! Poor drainage. No coffee or any beverages available in rooms! Breakfast was the worst I have ever had - you get soft rolls with a dollop of jam and butter - piece of fruit - and rubber scrambled eggs!! We asked for coffee mid morning at the coffee lounge and were refused - the coffee lounge appears to be unfunctional ie not clear whether its open to guests or whether its cloased! We saw a hotel manager (woman) shouting at staff over the tv in the reception which kept on cutting out. The tv in reception is loud covering sport seemingly just for the staff. The staff looked miserable. We were told by our guide that the area around this hotel is risky for tourists and advised us to be aware of carrying cash. We hardly slept a wink due to private parties across the road and in the hotel! This hotel is not fit for paying guests.

Room Tip: No rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nazzy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Quito hotels

Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

decent place to stay, think the 4 stars on the front might just be part of the logo..... room was clean, beds were TINY. staff was nice, and friendly. bathrooms were ok... resturant was bad, staff did not pay attention, also got food poisoning there.... over all not bad. would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manta, Ecuador
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012 via mobile

This hotel is located in a great area. Close to the action, yet still quiet at night. The staff is extremely helpful. The room are clean and comfortable. The 3 disappointments are first that the wifi is spotty in some of the rooms, the free breakfast is rather skimpy and the attitude of the staff in the restaurant....guests seem to be invisible to them. The waiters need some serious instruction as to their job description and their responsibilities. Still overlooking the 3 problems, i still stay at this hotel whenever i visit quito.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerry g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012 via mobile

Our family of 5 stayed here for 6 nights. Had a spacious 2 bedroom apartment. It was very clean and staff very helpful. Hotel in great location close to restaurants and we walked to Old Town. it surprisingly quiet.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank VictoriaL274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
103 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Embassy was my home away from home when I still travelled to Quito on a regular basis. The rooms are very comfortable (even the temperature is good, which is sometimes hard to come by in high-up Quito!), the bar area on the ground floor is nicely set up and a good place to meet people and the location is convenient: close to all the bars and restaurants of the Mariscal, without it being so close it will keep you up.

But the real treat of this hotel are the staff members: nothing is too much for them, they always listen to your needs, have a welcoming smile and make you feel at home. My best experience yet was when I was pregnant, and they did all they could to help me out, including booking me another room on the ground floor, so I did not have to carry myself up the flights of stairs. Lovely.

Also rented their conference facilities on a number of occasions, are they are good too, especially since staff can always arrange things at the last minute. Very flexible!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne-Marijke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

This is a decent hotel close to Plaza Foch (Mariscal area, where there are a bunch of restaurants/bars/clubs). The staff is super friendly (shout out for Roy) and the room was pretty clean and comfortable. Only downside that I can think of is that due to its proximity to Plaza Foch, it can get really noisy due all the activity/parking/traffic.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AltaVolante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
3.5 mi away
Hotel Capital Inn
Hotel Capital Inn
#101 of 115 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yellow House Hotel
Yellow House Hotel
#30 of 115 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western CPlaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sebastian
Hotel Sebastian
#38 of 115 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cayman Hotel
Cayman Hotel
#36 of 115 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rio Amazonas
Hotel Rio Amazonas
#28 of 115 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Hotel

Property: Embassy Hotel
Address: President Wilson E8-22 & Avenida 6 De Diciembre, Quito, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 115 Hotels in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Embassy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing