We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was OK for business travel”
Review of Akros Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Akros Hotel
Ranked #52 of 116 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2013

I stayed at the Akros for business travel, spending one week in Quito.
The Hotel staff is friendly and helpful, and the price they give frequent business traveler's is very good.
The room was spacious, having a standard single, a King size bed. The room was long, so the small-ish TV was not very easy to watch. The room in general was a bit dated, and it was oddly warm (apparently there is no AC/CH) so I kept the window slightly open. I was on the 6th floor, and it was noisy, hearing not only street noise, but planes flying by ALL the time. Now that should be solved since they moved the Airport to another location, but still you get street noise.

The breakfast was OK, some days they had very good options, and other days they were just average. Meals are quite good when you order room service (did not eat at the restaurant during my stay).

Some days you could get a hotel taxi, some days you couldn't. I don't think they have many available, considering the amount of guests there are.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AtiLima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 33 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2012

First time in my life I have been asked to pay for dinner while in the hotel!! I paid of course. And upset, treated as a thief, I offered to pay the night in advanced, and they accepted!! I paid!! They charged me for two nights when I was only for one. Thank God I noticed, they corrected it, but could have signed unnoticed!! Incredible!! Unheard of. Never in my life in my own country, Ecuador, or in any other country, this has happened to me. And, they offered NO APOLOGIES!! The manager was upset... with me!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank enoboav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I stayed here again, because of a company rate we get at the Akros.
Nothing seems to change at this place; the rooms and its decoration
- it´s a kind of old-fashioned - but OK.
The staff is friendly and service oriented.

Due to a lack of time, I´ve eaten in the hotels´ restaurant and was surprised about the food:
Delicious! Nicely presented! And served quickly.

For the money you pay, you get a good value in the hotel and in the restaurant.

Cons:

* breakfast (buffet) was limited and with USD 9(?) it was not good value for money.
* Internet was extremely slow - and almost useless for work.

Sure - I´ll be back soon; but I also look to find better options - at a same/similar price level in Quito.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not facing the main street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tom_brd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Excellent service, modern and spacious room, all amenities one would expect in a 4.5 star facility. Location is excellent. Staff very courteous and helpful at all times. Mattresses very firm, almost too much for me. Reasonable price for quality. Highly recommended. Ecovia (always very crowded rapid transit) stop in front of hotel, taxis easy to access and inexpensive.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank argiguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

I stayed again at the Akros in April 2011.
This time, I asked for a "quiet room" and got one looking to the backside.
The room was clean, large, and with a small desk/working area and a good internet connection.

A very recommendable place for dining is the San Telmo restaurant; the concierges will tell you the way. It´s about 5 minutes by cab - or 20 minutes walking.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank tom_brd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

I stayed at Akros for 10 days in Quito, and had a very nice time. The hotel's lobby is spacious and tastefully decorated. There are two restaurants on premise, an internet lounge, and a gym. The rooms are clean and spacious. They're not luxurious, but are nice, and many offer great views. One word of caution- the hotel's food is rather expensive- eat outside.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank _Gregorino_77_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

I stayed during a business trip for the first time at the Akros Hotel.
It is relatively centrally located - with easy access to shopping centers and to the airport (aprox. 15 minutes). A shuttle service from the hotel is also available (surcharge).

The rooms are large - unfortunately, my room was towards the main road at the front side - and a bit noisy in the early morning hours.

Breakfast: OK - a good selection of fruits and bread; but not extraordinary.

Fitness: a small fitness-center (2 eliptical trainers; 1 treadmill, 1 workout center; 1 bench) on the top floor. OK - but also nothing exciting.
Benefit: 24 hours open; access with your room-key.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tom_brd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Finlandia
Hotel Finlandia
#29 of 116 in Quito
412 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lugano Hotel
Lugano Hotel
#59 of 116 in Quito
154 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ventanal de Bellavista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western CPlaza Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hotel Suites Gonzalez Suarez
2.1 mi away
Hotel Barnard
Hotel Barnard
#46 of 116 in Quito
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akros Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akros Hotel

Address: Av. 6 de Diciembre N34-120 | Checoslovaquia, Quito, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Quito
Price Range: £58 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Akros Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Akros Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akros Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing