We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only if you need a cheap stay”
Review of Alston Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alston Inn Hotel
Ranked #64 of 112 Hotels in Quito
Reviewed 14 March 2010

It is old, and cheap. Rooms very big, water was hot, linen clean. Secure, but do not go outside alone after dark, the area is not very safe. If you need to spend just a night in Quito, it is OK, but do not expect anything nice.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tourist_from_Russia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 28 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2010

I have visited Quito three times, and all three times stayed at Alston. The street can be a little noisy, but the location is convenient. The rooms are clean and in good repair, the staff is very reliable, the manager Johhny Janine is well educated, speaks excellent Engish and has a nice sense of humor. He did everything to make my stay easy and enjoyable.

Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
Thank mmodel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2010

Very small, local hotel in the New Town section of Quito. Very basic room with no luxeries. No air conditioning or heat in the room. Hotel staff was very friendly.

Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
1  Thank wheatie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2009

Spent one night on the way to Vilcabamba and one night on the way from Vilcabamba.
All staff friendly and helpful. Rooms clean and comfortable. Johnny, the owner, was most amiable and funny...bi lingual too which helped. Had internet cafe across the street, close to main throughfare that's closed off on Sunday for bikes and walkers so plenty of shopping and restaurants close by.Very comfortable lounge area with fireplace and books.
Definitely my place to stay when going thru Quito.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank watson9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2007

I stayed at the Alston Inn Hotel last November 2006 for two nights. My room was on the ground floor - there was a pungent odour when I entered the room and there was no hot water. The water that did come out of the hot tap was yellow . It was located in an area subject to continuous traffic noise but was near to the shops and internet access. The staff were friendly and it was generally what you would expect from a budget hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dotdash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Orlando, Florida
111
Reviewed 22 April 2005

I stayed at the Alston hotel with my wife Jenny in a big, spotless, room with two queen size beds, private bath, lots of hot water and even they had parking for the car we rented for only $24.oo and I even paid with a credit card and they didn't charge me any extra fee like most places do.

The place is great, we enjoyed the fireplace and the book exchange, even sports on their cable tv at the lobby. The staff is so useful and nice, always ready with a smile, specially Johnny the owner, a fine young man that is always worried if we are feeling at home, he's so funny and helped us a lot.

I wouldn't change "mi casa lejos de casa" never. If we go back to Ecuador, we'll stay there for sure.

Thank you folks!

Mike and Jenny

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.1 mi away
Yellow House Hotel
Yellow House Hotel
#34 of 112 in Quito
189 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Zentrum
Hostal Zentrum
#36 of 112 in Quito
93 reviews
14 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#101 of 112 in Quito
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Interamericano
Hotel Interamericano
#54 of 112 in Quito
55 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bonaventure
Hotel Bonaventure
#103 of 112 in Quito
23 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel David
Hotel David
#83 of 112 in Quito
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alston Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alston Inn Hotel

Address: Juan Leon Mera N23-41 y Veintimilla, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 112 Hotels in Quito
Price Range: £14 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alston Inn Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Alston Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing