We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (251)
Filter reviews
251 results
Traveller rating
73
117
41
16
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
117
41
16
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot water old world style g adventures tour bustling city quiet neighborhood speak english bars and restaurants cab ride very nice hotel old town supermarket upgrading
Filter
Updating list...
109 - 114 of 251 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2012

hey, everybody missed one of the best points of this place....the policy for check out is 2pm, no pleading or being given the bum's rush to get out! And when you have a late flight or something, what a nice touch! The hotel is very classy, step above other places I have stayed...and surprise,....quiet enough for good sleep though it is very close to a busy street! My room was next to the lift, I thought I would be up all night, but no, whisper quiet!
WiFi no worka in the restaurant, but rocked in my room.
The room had lovely linens, nice touches... It is very close to the Marriott and the Holiday Inn Express and the if you are Jonesing for Yanqui coffee, McDonalds!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KJFromSan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

We stayed at the Eugenia Hotel in October and November of 2012, on 4 different nights. We used it as our jumping off point to visit Quito, visit and return from the Galapagos and visit and return from the Amazon. If you want a high rise hotel with all the amenities, this is not for you. If you want a quaint, architecturally interesting, warm staff and easy locale, then you've got the right place. The hotel is small (3 stories), that looks like it was once an old mansion. Our room was clean and neat, albeit a fresh coat of paint and updating would have been in order. A lovely, filling breakfast was included with our room fee. Staff were extremely accommodating and helpful. They allowed us to leave extra luggage at the hotel, without a fee, when we went to the Amazon for a few days and readily answered questions and helped with our room safe with a smile on their face. We had to have some laundry done between the Galapagos and Amazon and they were very helpful in arranging it's delivery and making sure we all got it. If I had any negatives to say, I would say the location is on the cusp of a bad area and good area. Using common sense (not walking alone at night, etc)., we felt totally safe. There are some local cafes, fast food and bars within walking distance. On the weekend nights, it got a little noisy, but not bad that you couldn't sleep. A large beautiful mall is about 8 blocks away and the airport about a 15 minutes drive (depending on traffic). Also, some of us enjoyed a bath rather than a shower, but none of the tubs had drain stoppers, so even if you had a tub, you couldn't take a bath. May be a negative for some. All in all, we greatly enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back. For the money, it was well worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the inner courtyard-cuts down on the noise from the local restaurants, cafes and bars.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank omaumeg12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

The building is corgeous from colonial time and nicely decorated in the common areas. The rooms are fine and functional, although the carpet in our room needed replacing. The WI-FI is weak and near useless. The breakfast was adequate, but the coffee was terrible (extremely weak) and then when I asked for an espresso instead, it was also quite bad but at least stronger. All the staff were eager to be helpful. Overall, excellent value.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holy_Innocent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012 via mobile

Can't say I would recommend
Resturant awful as well the service
Noisy and very dated
Very clean and neat and everything did work except the staff
Price was good so I guess you get what you pay for other reviews on trip advisor must be fake or I would not have picked this place

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justice1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We decided to stay here bases on reviews we had read. They were not exaggerating. From the warm, friendly greeting at the front desk when we arrived, to the comfortable room, to a very nice breakfast, this was a nice place to stay. You will not be disappointed by the hospitality, the helpful staff, the beautiful building, the good night's sleep, or the nice breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karl2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews