We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and professional hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eugenia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Eugenia Hotel
Ranked #47 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
406 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
“Clean and professional hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

We had been disappointed by the los Alpes Hotel and felt certain there would be something to be had in Quito for a similar price but had the quality we expected. We found Hotel Eugenia on Trip Advisor and were not disappointed. We did visit a couple of other hotels just to see them in advance given our previous disappointment. But Eugenia was right.

It did everything we wanted: Good location, professional staff and above all clean and modern.
The staff was very friendlyand professional and booked tables for us at various restaurants. The day staff (two ladies with excellent English) were a lot better than the early morning staff it has to be said. We came back here another two times and they stored our luggage for us at no charge. Our laundry was also organised at a price of some 2 dollars approximately per item which was ok. We also ate at the restaurant once which was ok. There is a small issue with the noise but this was the case in all three hotels we stayed at in Quito. At Eugenia they have tried to combat the street noise by placing the room windows facing an indoor „yard“. Here sometimes guests can check their emails using computers. It is not terribly noisy but if people speak loudly this is audible. The rooms and hotel are very clean. The inside looks Italian with white furniture held in a classic style with various paintings that reflect what appears to be renaissance style. So this makes for a tidy and clean impression.

On two occasions our booking via Expedia seemed not to have been registered and we had to prove we had the confirmation with Expedia. This could be Expedia messing it up but it is equally possible Eugenia did not get this information.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Evoqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    110
    40
    15
    3
See reviews for
26
92
35
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cuenca, Azuay, Ecuador
Level Contributor
101 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

Small Hotel in a nice neighborhood close to grocery shopping and a varied choice of restaurants including a Burger King if you must. Friendly staff, good american style breakfast. If you have early flight they will fix you coffee and a small bite to eat.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Homer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
95 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

We have stayed with Hotel Eugenia 3 times. Our most recent visit was Dec 30. We arrived at 1:15 AM and were greeted by the guard and night receptionist. The receptionist was most helpful, even assisting with our heavy luggage (8 bags!) and making sure everything was ok in our room. True, as another reviewer said, there were only two bottles of water in the room and we were thirsty. I returned to the front desk, asked if we could buy a couple of bottles of water. She went downstairs and came back with two bottles of water for $3.00, which she billed to the room. Later that morning, while making arrangements for a cab, I asked if we could return those bottles. The lady at the desk was not sure, but after we finished breakfast, she informed us that her boss had permitted her to take the water off our bill since we had not touched it and it was still sealed. She also called around to make sure the taxi would be large enough for our suitcases and recommended the one who offered the lower price - who just happened to be a taxi driver who also works for the Marriott. We felt we were in good hands and enjoyed the experience. Don't miss the mosaic of Quito in the sitting room - ask the staff to tell you about it. Another great thing about this hotel - they have an elevator and wide stairs should you prefer the exercise. It is beautifully decorated. We had plenty of hot water, too.

Room Tip: rooms on the inside are quieter - look out over a beautiful atrium. All the rooms we have stayed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths Grove, Kentucky
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

If you are looking for a comfortable night’s stay in Quito why not try the Hotel Eugenia? I recently spent 5 nights (Dec. 16, Dec. 17, Dec. 22, Dec. 27, and Dec. 28) at the hotel. The hotel is small in size, 34 rooms spread over three flours. The first floor consists of a small lobby, sitting area, restaurant, bathrooms, and computer area. The front desk staff are bilingual, speaking English and Spanish. They are very helpful with lots of ideas as to what you should see and where you should eat.

The hotel is similar to an old colonial house with lots of detail. Pictures and comfortable furniture are on the ground floor. If you are traveling elsewhere in Quito the hotel will hold luggage for you so that you don’t have to carry all of your tings with you.

There is an elevator in addition to an open stairwell running from the first floor to the 4th floor. If you like fresh air ask for a room with an outside window. Six of the rooms face the interior stairwell. In those rooms you can see natural light but do not get fresh air. I was originally placed in an interior room but was moved to a room with an exterior window upon request.

Having stayed in three different rooms (308, 306, and 304) I prefer the rooms with a two windows allowing for more ventilation. Room 306 has a bathroom with an outside window. Room 304 has two separate windows which can be opened. There is some street noise but that is probably true for any hotel in Quito. The beds could be a bit softer. The pillows do need to be replaced. The pillows are very flat. Extra pillows can be found in your bedroom closet.

If you enjoy hot showers there is endless hot water and good water pressure. The towels are a bit rough and could be replaced. The shower curtain in 304 was very short allowing water to soak the bathroom floor. Each room has cable TV. The TV’s are placed high on the wall. If the hotel was to begin upgrading to LCD TV’s those TV’s could be placed lower.

Breakfast was included with my nightly rate. After my first breakfast I chose to skip the remaining. You are given juice, which appeared to have been frozen. You are also given fruit. The quality was poor and portion size small. In addition to fruit you are given two pieces of toast and a croissant. The bread was very dry. I chose scrambled eggs, which were watery and served with undercooked potatoes. My breakfast experience made me hesitant to try eating other meals in the restaurant. Close by is the 24 hour Metro Café which serves great dinners, breakfasts, and a fantastic brunch on Sundays.

Price wise the Eugenia is reasonable. You will be comfortable and well looked after. Who can pass up the crown molding in the bedrooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with two double windows and/or facing Orellana.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RPWORLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012

Although the facility is lovely, the staff is awful. They only gave us 2small bottles of drinking water and had no other drinking water available, not even to purchase. At Quito's altitude it is important to hydrate! Day 2...no hot water, we spent several hours in the evening (until 11pm) calling to get the issue resolved. Finally they did, only to wake up to no hot water again. They did not replenish any drinking water...only the first 2 are free...still unclear how you can purchase additional drinking water....and only gave us 1 new towel. Not coming back. I love Ecuador for the friendly people....they do not employ them here.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lululivin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanDiego
Level Contributor
109 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

hey, everybody missed one of the best points of this place....the policy for check out is 2pm, no pleading or being given the bum's rush to get out! And when you have a late flight or something, what a nice touch! The hotel is very classy, step above other places I have stayed...and surprise,....quiet enough for good sleep though it is very close to a busy street! My room was next to the lift, I thought I would be up all night, but no, whisper quiet!
WiFi no worka in the restaurant, but rocked in my room.
The room had lovely linens, nice touches... It is very close to the Marriott and the Holiday Inn Express and the if you are Jonesing for Yanqui coffee, McDonalds!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KJFromSan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

We stayed at the Eugenia Hotel in October and November of 2012, on 4 different nights. We used it as our jumping off point to visit Quito, visit and return from the Galapagos and visit and return from the Amazon. If you want a high rise hotel with all the amenities, this is not for you. If you want a quaint, architecturally interesting, warm staff and easy locale, then you've got the right place. The hotel is small (3 stories), that looks like it was once an old mansion. Our room was clean and neat, albeit a fresh coat of paint and updating would have been in order. A lovely, filling breakfast was included with our room fee. Staff were extremely accommodating and helpful. They allowed us to leave extra luggage at the hotel, without a fee, when we went to the Amazon for a few days and readily answered questions and helped with our room safe with a smile on their face. We had to have some laundry done between the Galapagos and Amazon and they were very helpful in arranging it's delivery and making sure we all got it. If I had any negatives to say, I would say the location is on the cusp of a bad area and good area. Using common sense (not walking alone at night, etc)., we felt totally safe. There are some local cafes, fast food and bars within walking distance. On the weekend nights, it got a little noisy, but not bad that you couldn't sleep. A large beautiful mall is about 8 blocks away and the airport about a 15 minutes drive (depending on traffic). Also, some of us enjoyed a bath rather than a shower, but none of the tubs had drain stoppers, so even if you had a tub, you couldn't take a bath. May be a negative for some. All in all, we greatly enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back. For the money, it was well worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the inner courtyard-cuts down on the noise from the local restaurants, ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank omaumeg12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sebastian
Hotel Sebastian
#40 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.4 mi away
Yellow House Hotel
Yellow House Hotel
#28 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vieja Cuba
Vieja Cuba
#17 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Zen
BEST WESTERN Hotel Zen
#25 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rio Amazonas Internacional
1.4 mi away
Hotel Finlandia
Hotel Finlandia
#29 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eugenia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eugenia Hotel

Property: Eugenia Hotel
Address: Av. Diego de Almagro 1245 & Av. Orellana, Quito EC P 001, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Eugenia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Eugenia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eugenia Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing