We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a great hotel with everything you need for a good stay.”
Review of Hotel Reina Isabel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Reina Isabel
Ranked #12 of 115 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“This is a great hotel with everything you need for a good stay.”
Reviewed 23 March 2011

I really liked my stay at this hotel. The staff was courteous and the rooms were spacious and very clean. I stayed here before and after my flight to the Galapagos Islands. The room was equipped wifi, a space heater (it was cold in Quito at night) and the bathroom was huge. The room facing the street can be a bit noisy on weekends due to the chivas that ride past it. I didn't have to deal with any noise when I got back during the week. The location is very good. It's within walking distance of the Mercado Artesanal and the bars/clubs but I would recommend using a taxi instead.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank viagero05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    309
    78
    11
    14
See reviews for
86
262
71
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2011

Stayed at this hotel as stopover for a few nights on my way to the Galapogos.
Great modern hotel more ideal as a business hotel or great as stopover as near to Airport. Located on the outskirts of the city but within easy walking distance of main tourist area. (20-30 min walk through the park) The Hotel is very clean and modern except for the bedrooms and bathroom that are getting a little outdated and needs a refurb. I got to use the fitness centre and was very impressed with the up to date equipment and the light airy appearance. The restaurant is beautiful although we only ate breakfast there which was a continental style with a good quality of an assortment of cold meats, scrambled eggs, fruit, yoghurt, jam, cereal etc.
The bar area is very small and not that inviting really although it is not too bad and offers a decent selection of drinks. In addition there was free internet. Outside of the hotel there is a few tour operaters around (we used the one just opposite which was good) lots of hairdressers (at a really cheap price) and down a few blocks ( 5 min walk) there is a square that comes alive at night with a variety of restaurants (one serves guinea pig, although i did not have any) and bars with good music and the atmosphere was very good. In addition there is an Indian handicraft market that i think is open every day that is located within walking distance (5 min)

We went to the main tourist area and covered it in 1 day easily browsing the colonial architecture and taking in the sights, but apparently there is a cable car that you can go on to look over all of the city, but we did not get to try this as we did not have enough time.
I would reccommend trying the local ecuadorian food the potato soup at least which is really delicious
I really enjoyed my time here and Quito is a great base for exploring and i would definately come here again.
My only regret is that i did not try the hotel restaurant for dinner as the menu looked superb and was highly reccommended by others.
Free coffee and tea is located in the foyer in the mornings if thirsty before breakfast etc
Very good hotel

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pat_mac181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadlephia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2010

This hotel was great for us because of the free internet (desktops in the lobby and excellent wireless) and the location walking distance to New City - Plaza Foge. The rooms were very nice, as was the staff, including the armed guard at the entrance. The continental breakfast was quite weak, but coffee is available after 3:30 AM! There are delicious bakeries within a few blocks walking distance that open at 7 am. Overall very satisfied with this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ajlcdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2010

We stayed at this hotel on three seperate occasions during our trip to Ecuador as part of a tour group. It is a very nice hotel. They offer safe deposit boxes for valuables and let us keep one until the end of our last stay. The rooms are spacious and clean. It has all the comforts opf a US hotel. The staff was helpful. There are two computers for free internet access. My only complaint would be that they only had a very heavy comforter on the beds and it was WAY too hot, while just a sheet was too cool.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ca4cha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zoe17
Level Contributor
195 reviews
181 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2010

The rooms were OK, although one room had a window that didn't shut all the way. And they were spacious, including a vestibule with 2 chairs and a table in mine. Other folks in the group complained about a lot of street noise, but the rooms I used (606 and 604) weren't plagued by street noise at night. And as mentioned earlier, it is convenient to a nice craft market 7 or so blocks away, though my tour director told us to only walk on Quito streets with another person.

The breakfasts were very good, including scrambled eggs. Dinners were fine, though I only dined with the group. I was disappointed in the pisco sour price ($12.20) and the fact that it could only be ordered at the main floor bar.

It was convenient to leave unneeded luggage there during trips to other parts of the country. And their computers with internet service were the best I found in Ecuador.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zoe17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chardon Ohio
Level Contributor
176 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2010

We stayed here two nights before our 10 day "Tortuga" trip with Active South America. We also stayed 3 nights when we returned. It took about 20 minutes to get to from the airport, but that was very early in the morning and late at night. Daytime traffic is crazy and you would not want to drive here. This is a more modern type hotel with 8 floors, doormen/security at each entrance, business center, meeting rooms, Wi-Fi, and someone at the desk 24 hours. Everyone we encountered on staff spoke English and they were very helpful. Breakfast is included and includes eggs sausage, and an assortment of cereals, breads and juices. It is certainly not the best breakfast I have had but I had enough to eat each day. We did not eat any of our other meals here, but that was more because we wanted to try different places.

The rooms were quite large. Ours had two double beds, a sitting room with two chairs, a table with two chairs in the room, a full closet, TV and dresser. The bathroom was large with good hot water, soap and shampoo if you forgot, water to brush your teeth, a hair dryer, and even a bidet. The heater is run by a light switch near the bathroom. The heater element is bare and right above the entry way into the bedroom part of the room. There is no air conditioning, but there is a small window that opens and it can get fairly cold out at night. We were too warm the first night because we did not see that the window opened. It is hidden off to the side behind the curtains. The windows are very large and one of our rooms was on the corner of the top floor. Most of two walls were all windows with a great view, especially at night. I wish the room had a safe and a honor bar, but you could leave things in a safety deposit box with the desk and there were little stores close by.

We arranged a trip to stand on the equator and see a volcano with the front desk and were satisfied with the driver they booked for us. It only cost $50 for most of the day taking us around. We booked a daytrip to the cloud forest (Bella Vista Reserve) with the scuba diving place across the road…again, we enjoyed that trip and saw lots of birds. There is plenty of shopping and restaurants within walking distance. There is a large permanent craft market a few blocks away that has dozens of people selling most anything you want to buy. It was safe and there was a lot to choose from…we went a couple of times. The front desk can tell you how to get there.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobo185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2010

We were staying at this hotel for one night during a round trip through Ecuador. It's a nice hotel, spacious rooms, nothing fancy.
Breakfast is standard ok.
Location is good (near a lot of bars/restaurants)

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAO1163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hostal de La Rabida
Hostal de La Rabida
#8 of 115 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
0.7 mi away
NH Collection Quito Royal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Hotel Alameda
Mercure Hotel Alameda
#15 of 115 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
0.5 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
1.0 mi away
Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Reina Isabel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Reina Isabel

Property: Hotel Reina Isabel
Address: Av. Amazonas N-23-44 y Veintimilla, Quito, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Quito
#10 Best Value Hotel in Quito
#11 Family Hotel in Quito
#14 Romantic Hotel in Quito
#20 Business Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Reina Isabel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This chic hotel with spa and gym facilities is in the heart of the lively Mariscal district. All rooms have city views and free Wi-Fi. Massage sessions can be booked. At Hotel Reina Isabel guests can relax in the sauna room or visit El Ejido Park, 6 blocks away. Quito's historic center is 4.8 km away. Air-conditioned rooms at Reina Isabel are elegantly styled with parquet floors, upholstered chairs and an earth-toned palette. The suites have iPod docking stations and some of them have hot tubs. A american breakfast with regional jams, bread and coffee can be enjoyed daily. Lumo Restaurant offers international cuisine and room service. Argento Lounge bar serves after-dinner drinks. Shuttle service to Mariscal Sucre Airport, can be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Reina Isabel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reina Isabel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing