We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Reina Isabel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Reviews (817)
Filter reviews
817 results
Traveller rating
350
350
88
12
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
350
350
88
12
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew towerupgraded to a suiteplaza fochjacuzzi tubvery nice hotelold townstandard roomeggsup to datebuffet breakfast istwo double bedsrestaurants and barssitting roomsecurity guardnice breakfastrooms are largea short taxi ride
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
417 - 422 of 817 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2012

I stayed in Reina Isabel twice, both before and after my Galapagos trip.

Service here is great. Staff are very efficient, helpful, polite and friendly. They make you feel like home.

The hotel itself doesn’t look fancy at all from outside, however, the rooms are surprisingly nice. They are amazingly spacious, modern, very clean, and nicely decorated.

The hotel is ideally located in Av. Amazonas in the new town. The restaurant/bar area “Foch” is just 5 minutes by foot. Within walking distance there are also plenty of shops, travel agencies, airline offices and bus terminals. The location is really great!

Price is also very reasonable for what you get. If you are looking for a hotel in Quito new town with 5-star service, 4-star rooms and 3-star price, this hotel should be your #1 choice!

Room Tip: The rooms in the new building are nicer than the ones in the old building.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yuyu418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Great location right on one of the main streets. Easy access to the fun in La Mariscal. The rooms are very nice especially for the rate (use Expedia or another booking service online). Nice bathrooms, too - including a bidet in our room in the new wing. Breakfast (included) was adequate but not terribly exciting. The bar is ridiculously overpriced - about 4x normal Quito prices. Don't be fooled by the 2 for 1 happy hour as it only applies to a short list of drinks and still leaves you paying 2x elsewhere.

Note on security: Quito is safe during the daytime but *entirely* different after dark. Against better judgement my friend and I decided to walk the 4 or 5 blocks back to the hotel after dinner. We stuck to well lighted and traveled streets, were not carrying any bags, packages, etc. Being a couple of tall guys in good shape we thought we'd be fine. We were jumped by several guys within half a block of the hotel and in sight of the main entrance. We fought off the would-be muggers and didn't lose anything but it was a wake up call. Take a taxi after dark no matter how short the distance!

Room Tip: Go for one of the suites
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Willdief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

We found this hotel a great stopover point for both Galapagos and Peru and ideal for exploring Quito. It was very clean, comfortable and quiet Our room (at the side, floor 7) was very pleasant with a view out to the mountains beyond El Panecillo. Don't be put off by the armed guards on the front, we found the local people very interested and many spoke english The staff were always very helpful and reception arranged local taxi tours for us to Cotopaxi etc (Try to get Steve an english speaking driver, very nice guy). For the old colonial city, shopping malls etc just walk up Veintimilla 200m and get a tram for 25c (fixed fare any distance)
Breakfast was excellent with a good range of choices, fresh fruit and pastries etc. Free computers on gr fl and free wifi, sauna, gym. For meals we found a lovely restaurant, Chilli Chicken, 100m to the left on Amazonas, english speaking, trustworthy mostly Italian/ecuadorian menu, cooked by the owners, their seafood cerviche was excellent.great prices(no hidden charges)

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room at the back, our 7th floor room was great
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malcolm R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

This was a good basic hotel, breakfast was included in the price. Restaurant was pricey and not that interesting for evening meals. There are a number of options for eating in a very short distance. I would recomend Ethnicsa, which is a gift shop/ restaurant. I had coffee & a snack there, on on my last evening had dinner there. It was fantastic & I felt comfortable as a single female traveller.
There are a number of hairdressers in the area, very cheap & fantastic! Also had my nails done and an eyebrow wax. The shops look basic but the service is great.
Stayed at the hotel twice, going to Galapagos & on my return.
Old town is walkable but I was taken in a mini bus as part of a tour.
I stayed in the old part of the hotel, rooms were massive, cable TV & bottled water supplied every day.
There is a coffee shop in the building, not very well sign posted. You can get snacks in there as well.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have less street noise, week-ends it can be party town.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swanseaseawatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

My husband and I stayed at Reina Isabel. We loved it. It was a modern,large room with 2 big beds,staff very friendly.
We walked to el ejido and to Mercado artesanal.You could walk to old town but we took a cab.
Breakfast was included and they had eggs,juices,fruits ,coffee,cheeses and ham.
Their restaurant is excellent but quite expensive.
Only problem with room was that the wi fi only worked in the front room.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bubuwubu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews