We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty But A Lot Of Things Didn't Work”
Review of Hotel Reina Isabel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Reina Isabel
Ranked #13 of 110 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pretty But A Lot Of Things Didn't Work”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

This is a beautiful, modern style hotel in Quito, but once you get past the lobby, there are a lot of flaws. When we checked in, the clerk upgraded one of our rooms to a suite without being asked. We thought that was great and it allowed our two rooms to be next to each other (we have a large family).

Service getting to the room was wonderful and the clerk also arranged transportation to the airport for us the next morning. I can't complain about the staff -- They were great.

Once we got to the nice looking rooms, however, the air conditioner was broken (making it very hot in the room) and the bathtubs wouldn't hold water. Opening a window to let the stuffiness out made the room so noisy that it was unbearable. The floors were so dirty that your feet turned black walking around the room in bare feet, as if it had been swept, but not mopped in a very long time. In addition, the hotel is located in a more business district of Quito, so walking around and sight seeing doesn't really work there.

Lastly, the restaurant attached to the hotel is expensive and doesn't have very good food. We had dinner that night and were very disappointed. On the other hand, breakfast the next morning, which was complimentary, was pretty descent.

Overall, we probably won't stay here again. There are so many beautiful hotels in Quito and I would put Hotel Reina Isabel somewhere in the bottom-middle of the pack.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phoenix-Pearse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    318
    81
    11
    14
See reviews for
91
273
73
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

We had 3 amazing nights in a really wonderfull Hotel with outstandingly friendly staff. There was some hick-up with our booking on booking.com but thanks to Nathalie it turned out not to be a big issue and we were lucky enough the even get an upgrade to a wonderfull suite. The room was very spacious and offered every comfort you could ask for. The bath was even bigger with a huge Jacuzzi and a very spacious Raindancer shower. The only improvement we could think off: a place where to place the bar of soap. Otherwise the room was worth every of the 100$ we paid for one night. And the rate included a very nice breakfast as well. Only suggestion here: some cereals would have been great. Overall a great Hotel in Modern Quito!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tanja17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I stayed here this July and LOVED this hotel - true value for money!! It was like staying at a 5-star hotel for a fraction of the cost. Hot, delicious breakfast everyday - and you can even request your breakfast eggs cooked a certain way.

The rooms are extremely neat and clean, the furnishings tasteful and new & the staff was the icing on the cake! Not only are they extremely friendly and courteous, but they are very helpful as well. Susannah at the front desk was the best of them all - she gave us great suggestions about where to go, the best transportation options, and arranged for cabs to pick us up whenever we went out.

Lastly, the hotel is very centrally located & close to some great restaurants at Plaza Foch. I would stay here every time!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hermione A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

This hotel is very conveniently placed on one of the main streets in the modern city area, close to the bars and restaurants of the Marisal district. Transfer time to/from the new airport was about 1 hr by private taxi. The room was large and comfortable with good bathroom (although the number of knobs associated with the shower was initially bewildering). As with any city centre hotel, the noise from outside was quite significant but the hotel itself was quiet. I found the reception staff efficient and helpful. I ate in the restaurant on several evenings where the food was enjoyable and in reasonable sized portions although atmosphere was a bit lacking as I was often either alone or with only one or two other tables occupied. Breakfast was adequate but by no means extensive. The free wi-fi was good although I sometimes had to ask for a new username and password as the initial one didn't work - this was never a problem and readily supplied. Overall, for a few nights stopover in Quito the hotel is fine but might be a bit characterless for a lengthy stay. Unable to rate value for money as it was part of an overall package.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alegna_mahnrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coimbra, Portugal
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The rooms are huge and very clean, so this is a great choice for the price!

The location is very good, close to Plaza Foch, which seems like a good place to go out at night and has a lot of good restaurants and shops nearby.

The breakfast could be a bit better.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francisco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daytona Beach, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

No reason to look any place else. This hotel is the best in Quito for the price. For what you get. 2 thumbs up. Its quiet also..They have room service that is good. The location is ideal. Now that the airport is far away. they dont hace the airport shuttle servive. This would be very helpful ? if they could offer this ...

Room Tip: The double deluxe room is a good chioce .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daytonaman51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I stayed in this hotel with a group composed of friends while traveling with Overseas Adventure Travel. The hotel was very accommodating. There is free wifi as well as a computer and printer for guests in the lobby area. The breakfast was very good and included fresh fruit and fruit juices from Ecuadorian fruits. We had a delicious dinner on our last night in the dining room. My rooms were clean and spacious with a large bed and wooden furniture. My only complaint was that I left my clip-on earrings ( not expensive) there by mistake on my first departure. Although we called an hour later, they couldn't find them. That was disappointing.

Room Tip: I stayed in 3 rooms over the course of a two week excursion. The hotel was a kind of home base. I w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MardiNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hostal de La Rabida
Hostal de La Rabida
#7 of 110 in Quito
514 reviews
0.5 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#5 of 110 in Quito
473 reviews
0.7 mi away
NH Collection Quito Royal
1.8 mi away
Hotel Finlandia
Hotel Finlandia
#31 of 110 in Quito
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Reina Isabel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Reina Isabel

Property: Hotel Reina Isabel
Address: Av. Amazonas N-23-44 y Veintimilla, Quito, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Quito
#10 Best Value Hotel in Quito
#11 Family Hotel in Quito
#14 Romantic Hotel in Quito
#20 Business Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Reina Isabel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This chic hotel with spa and gym facilities is in the heart of the lively Mariscal district. All rooms have city views and free Wi-Fi. Massage sessions can be booked. At Hotel Reina Isabel guests can relax in the sauna room or visit El Ejido Park, 6 blocks away. Quito's historic center is 4.8 km away. Air-conditioned rooms at Reina Isabel are elegantly styled with parquet floors, upholstered chairs and an earth-toned palette. The suites have iPod docking stations and some of them have hot tubs. A american breakfast with regional jams, bread and coffee can be enjoyed daily. Lumo Restaurant offers international cuisine and room service. Argento Lounge bar serves after-dinner drinks. Shuttle service to Mariscal Sucre Airport, can be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Reina Isabel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reina Isabel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing