We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a solid place in a suitable site” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Reina Isabel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Reina Isabel
Ranked #13 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
211 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“a solid place in a suitable site”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

Far from the historic center of Quito but closet to vía Amazonas where you can buy local crafts. The hotel is comfortable with good and clean rooms. Its only problem is that is has a very poor Wi-Fi that doesn’t work most of the time. Its price is adequate for a hotel on a Capital city

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alvaro A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    299
    78
    11
    14
See reviews for
85
249
69
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

We recently stayed for a total of 3 nights. Both rooms we stayed in we exceptional, large, comfortable and everything that you can want. But, both rooms were exceptionally noisy, why the windows were never double glassed is a mystery. Between the night club across the road to the car alarms going off every 15 minutes sleep was something we could only dream about. The staff at the front desk were only just doing their job, there was no way that they were going to go out of there way to help us in anyway.

Room Tip: Choose somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 58Jennie58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed only one night. If you have more days take an hotel in the old city. The room was excellent. More like a suite. Everything very modern and comfortable. But I was pissed of by the bad attitude of 2 receptionist ( local girls) whenever I approached them for advise. Somebody should teach them to smile. The only friendly one was a german women that works there....the value for money is great. There is noise even in the 6th floor.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank tzili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tobyhanna, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
285 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

rooms quite nice with comfortable bed, desk for computer -- internet is free, but must request password at front desk; bathroom clean and adequate. buffet breakfast plentiful with fresh fruit and good coffee. our group had farewell dinner in their restaurant: my vegetarian pasta dish, very appetizing and not overcooked...

Room Tip: elevator to all floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelaAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsbottom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

The check-in was efficient and the staff friendly, free internet access, however there is a charge of $30 per day (Nov 2013) for english channels on the tv. Its in a sort of central location, however the walk to old town takes a while, the taxis are cheap, so well worth using.

The room was clean and spacious, however there was no airconditioning and the window did not open. One or the other would have been preferable, the window was single glazed so you could hear the car alarms and sirens in all their glory, also the staff seemed to make a habit of moving large objects at 3am, not good on solid floors.

The breakfast was a standard buffet with a different type of exotic juice each day, these were superb, you can request eggs cooked in a way other than the scrambled on the buffet, however this is not made clear on arrival.

Also, Sunday is 'dry' in Ecuador, even in an international hotel, the exception is between 12 and 4 if you have a meal.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dibbley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Overall a smart hotel, even by UK standards. Situated conveniently for restaurants in modern part of the city. A bit of a way from the historic old town but taxi only $5, although make sure you get reception to order one for you and agree price upfront with driver.

BUT:

1. Little atmosphere in hotel restaurant although meals ok, but a lot cheaper elsewhere. Good breakfasts.

2. Traffic noise the main problem as beside a busy road. (Traffic in Quito is very heavy and driving is manic with use of horn common.) Single glazed windows in bedrooms didn't help to cut out the noise, although we did get used to it and slept ok.

3. It gets cold in Quito in the evenings but no heating in room apart from an unguarded, single bar electric heater built into a metal box attached to the celing. Dangerous and totally useless, if you dare use it!

4. Plain glass in bathroom window with no blind. OK in our room as overlooked a roof unless any workmen up there!

Quito is safe as long as you stick to the main streets, but police and armed security guards everywhere, which is either a good or bad sign! Even a guard on duty outside the hotel!

Don't expect a swimming pool and fitness centre as not common in Quito hotels.

Brush up on your Spanish as English is rarely spoken, even in restaurants and shops, which is surprising as a lot of English-speaking people visit Quito. Hotel reception ok but few others in hotel understand English.

Better than many hotels in Quito to stay, so give it a go.

Room Tip: Ask for a back room which may be less noisy.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyNorwichUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We've stayed there a couple of times (begining and end of my trip in Ecuador) and both times we've been upgraded to a suite. The hotel is nice, and located in a nice area of Quito close to Plaza Foch.

If you want to enjoy the nightlife, that hotel is a good choice, close to the action but far enough not to be disturbed by the noise.

The other is clean, the breakfast is good, nothing out of this world, just your typical continental buffet breakfast.

There's 2 computers in the lobby if you need to go to the Internet, but it was really slow.

There's a bus stop in front of the hotel and plenty of taxis everywhere.

No bad surprises while checking out, no overcharges, great location, clean and a jacuzzi in the room, that was good enough for me to enjoy my stay there !

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank H R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
NH Collection Quito Royal
0.4 mi away
Hostal de La Rabida
Hostal de La Rabida
#7 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
1.6 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#8 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
2.0 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#2 of 114 in Quito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Reina Isabel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Reina Isabel

Property: Hotel Reina Isabel
Address: Av. Amazonas N-23-44 y Veintimilla, Quito, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Quito
#11 Family Hotel in Quito
#14 Romantic Hotel in Quito
#20 Business Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Reina Isabel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This chic hotel with spa and gym facilities is in the heart of the lively Mariscal district. All rooms have city views and free Wi-Fi. Massage sessions can be booked. At Hotel Reina Isabel guests can relax in the sauna room or visit El Ejido Park, 6 blocks away. Quito's historic center is 4.8 km away. Air-conditioned rooms at Reina Isabel are elegantly styled with parquet floors, upholstered chairs and an earth-toned palette. The suites have iPod docking stations and some of them have hot tubs. A american breakfast with regional jams, bread and coffee can be enjoyed daily. Lumo Restaurant offers international cuisine and room service. Argento Lounge bar serves after-dinner drinks. Shuttle service to Mariscal Sucre Airport, can be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Reina Isabel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reina Isabel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing