We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to Relax in busy Quito”
Review of The Magic Bean

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quito
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Magic Bean
Ranked #72 of 259 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great to Relax in busy Quito”
Reviewed 24 March 2012

I stayed here in Jan 2012 for 3nights. I loved it! There were only 3 rooms, my dorm had only 3 beds, which gave a lot more space and privacy. Each bed also had a giant locker in the room for bags and personal items. The mattress was nice and thick unlike other hostels, and the bedding was warm with 2 thick blankets. This is NOT a party hostel, it is a place to stay if you are a traveller who wishes to escape that scene- it was relaxing and calm with an amazing restaurant downstairs. Breakfast was included in the price of the room, and it was a great breakfast ordered off the menu in the restaurant. It is located right in the centre of the new Quito area full of bars clubs and cafes, but only a 4minute taxi ride to old Quitos historical district. The small amount of noise from the clubs nearby didn't annoy me at all, but be aware that there may be a small amount of noise. Overall loved it and would recommend it highly!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JemBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    25
    12
    8
    3
See reviews for
8
23
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rangely, Colorado
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

I spend a week in Quito every summer. We always have dinner at The Bean on our final evening. The food is excellent and after a week of enjoying the local cuisine it is a nice reminder of home. Be sure to try one of their wonderful shakes. Also, the burgers are really good. The service is adequate, and the atmosphere is eclectic.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelby L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

If you're looking for a place close to the Mariscal night life, this can't be beat. Great food, good coffee and friendly staff. Plus a great $15/night price for the shared dorms. If you want good sleep, though one night may be enough for you.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We stayed two nights at this hostel. Centrally and conveniently located in the busy mariscale district. The rooms are decent, clean. Warning, bring earplugs, it's really noisy with the traffic outside. (we had room no.3) The price is a but higher than some other hostels. ($34/night) It's located on a busy street corner. You are walking distance to everything, many bars, cafes etc... and buses run frequently everywhere. The staff were very friendly, we felt safe there. They stored our baggage for us in the office while we took a 2 day mountain bike tour. They offer a great breakfast which is included with your stay. Breakfast is served starting at 7am, but if you are heading out earlier than that for a tour or something, they will give you coffee and a brown bagged bagel with cream cheese to go! We ate there on two other occassions and the food was excellent, they have big portions! And if you like baked goods, they have an awesome rocky road brownie bigger than your hand! We would stay there again but maybe ask for a room at the back side away from the road.

Room Tip: for a less noisy room ask for room #1 - it has a mini kitchenette also
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fishbellywhite45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

The Magic Bean is very well located in the heart of Quito's nightlife district. You'll feel safe and still be close to the action. But as a hostel it's nothing special.

PROS: The rooms are adequate, the breakfasts are quite good, and it's attached to a lovely restaurant.

CONS: No communal space to hang out and meet people, no public computer, noise from the street can be quite loud at night, and it's a little overpriced.

In general it's a perfectly decent hostel, clean and functional. But it's not the place to go for that "hostel feel." You won't hang out and meet other backpackers there.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombier, Suisse
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2011

The hostal provides clean rooms with or without private bathroom. The staff is very friendly and very helpful. The restaurant is great with many choices and we have not found a better place for fresh juices / smoothies. And you should not leave Quito without trying their cheescake! It is a must.
Prices are really correct and it is well situated.

Room Tip: As there are only 4 rooms, call before
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flo_Marc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2011

I was robbed of my camera bag, camera, passport, book, ID and what not. Evidently, I was in a crazy insane stressful situation. At this hostel/restaurant where I stayed for 3 night, the staff were so helpful in assisting me to alleviate my situation, letting me use their office to contact the people who could help me. Especially Freddy and Carlos, they went beyond the staff level, talked to me like I was their friend in need when I felt all alone, needless to say the service was impeccable. I must say despite my bad luck, it was such good luck to have met some of the staff in this hostel. The food is good too, but a little pricey. Coffee is one of the best in the area. A definite should stay if you have a lil spare cash and love being near the hottest spot-plaza foch in Quito

Room Tip: get here fast
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wisekidx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.2 mi away
Hostal de La Rabida
Hostal de La Rabida
#8 of 115 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alston Inn Hotel
Alston Inn Hotel
#63 of 115 in Quito
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Casa Sol Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hostel Del Piamonte 2
Hostel Del Piamonte 2
#128 of 259 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Mitad del Mundo
Hostal Mitad del Mundo
#104 of 259 in Quito
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.1 mi away
Discovery Quito Hostel
Discovery Quito Hostel
#40 of 259 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Magic Bean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Magic Bean

Property: The Magic Bean
Address: Foch 681 (E5-O8) y J.L. Mera, Quito, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 259 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Magic Bean Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing