We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely, friendlt atmosphere”
Review of The Magic Bean

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quito
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Magic Bean
Ranked #93 of 287 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Reviewed 6 February 2007

Stayed in the Magic bean for 4 nights, very friendly staff and beautiful rooms. They have 2 private rooms and 2 dorm rooms with 3 to 4 bunkbeds, plus lockers to store your stuff, though I must say, some of the locker keys do open other lockers, so be careful! I know this cos reception mixed up the keys and I found myself opening up a locker with someone's else stuff in it.

The Magic Bean, is wooden, rustic and full of flowers, books and tour advice. The staff go out of their way to help you and it's very safe. They lock the main door at 10pm and the guard lets you in with a smile.

The Bean also stores your backpack and valuables under lock and key, and not just left out, which was reassuring, though, alas, once I got my guitar back it had a crack on the side of it (another backpack was placed on top of it).

The cafe downstairs is average, the food was quite bland and quite pricey I thought. Plus once the food gets to your table, it's cold. I left the Bean and reserved a room for my return in a few days time, only to find the room had been occupied by someone else, they were very apologetic, gave me a bunk in another room and offered me a free American breakfast,( the full monty, eggs, bacon, toast, fruit, coffee, juice) instead of the standard Continental one ( fruit, juice, coffee and toast), so that was nice of them. Though it's surprising they can mix up reservations when in fact there's only 4 rooms to monitor! I definitely reccomend the place, just ensure your locker key is unique.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bumblebeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2006

The Magic Bean is an eclectic tavern, restaurant, and hostel frequented by travelers, professors, graduate students, vacationers, local professionals, storytellers & musicians. The Magic Bean is now an internet hotspot, which eliminated my last concern. Food is local as well as international, fresh, portions are such that only two daily meals are needed. Great value for the money. Informal, yet quietly elegant. Most staffers fluent in English. Close to everything. Ask a question at the bar, the bartender will discreetly hook you up to your source of information. I was able to practice law at a distance, while at the same time learning tourism secrets known only to insiders. When I travel again, I plan to go out of my way to stay here. Since the authentic Rick's Place has vanished from Casablanca, THIS is your shot. Business & political decisions are routinely negotiated in quiet corners of the lounge. The Policia Nacional does not solicit gratuities here. Bert Freeman, Cincinnati, Ohio,
notguilty1969@hotmail.com

Stayed: June 2006
4  Thank BertFreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2006

We stayed at the Magic Bean while we were in town for my nieces graduation. It is clean, intimate and provides friendly service. There was 4 of us in our party plus one. We were able to take over one room completely, We had Bunk beds with alpaca blankets, mmmwarm. We shared a public bathroom that was always clean and tidy, although personally i recommend flip flops in the public shower. In the rooms each bed was assigned a locker with individual keys. We felt comfortable to leave out luggage with min worry.

Down the street were multiple internet cafes and our favorite was the PAPAYA.NET. Great strawberry Cheesecake. At the Magic bean continential breakfast, was included but for a fee their Mc Egg sandwich was excellent. HUGE Magic Bean was close to markets, buses, taxis and what ever or where ever you wanted to go.

I recommend this place. Cost about 9 dollars per person.

3  Thank avicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2005

The Magic Bean is a centrally located hotel in the middle of Mariscal Sucre. It is a center of activity for the backpacking crowd and the food and coffee is great in the restaraunt. It is, however, a bit overpriced for the accomodations. One day the water in the shower went ice-cold. When I asked about it downstairs, I just got the shoulder shrug. 24 hours later the hot water still didn't work so we moved to a hotel. I believe there are 4 rooms, two with shared bathroom and two with private bathroom. Also, never leave anything in your room, even if you aren't sharing with anyone. We had money go missing from ours.

Another thing I didn't like was that they lock the front door and wrought iron gate at 10:00 at night. Quito has some great night life, so it was a bother to try to get in after hours. You had to ring a buzzer and then a very irritated night guard toting a shotgun would come out to let you in. Doesn't exactly give you a sense of a warm welcome.

5  Thank swinny_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016
Thank Maria Fernanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
156
Reviewed 12 June 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#17 of 113 in Quito
777 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
9.7 mi away
San Jose de Puembo - Quito Airport, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#3 of 113 in Quito
702 reviews
0.4 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
0.2 mi away
Casa Kanela
Casa Kanela
#40 of 247 in Quito
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Magic Bean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Magic Bean

Address: Foch 681 (E5-O8) y J.L. Mera, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 287 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Price Range: £6 - £24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Magic Bean Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing