We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel in a magnificent city!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Ranked #9 of 115 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very good hotel in a magnificent city!”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We spent one night in this beautiful hotel, located in the colonial part of Quito. We booked a duplex which is absolutely huge, one bed at each floor, and a nice balcony. Rooms are very clean, staff extremely helpful. The hotel is very well located, close to the main touristic attractions.
Quito, at least this colonial part, is one of the most beautiful cities in the world. Unfortunately our flight from Bogota had a very big delay and because of this we only had few hours to visit Quito. Even so, I have to say it again, this is an absolutely magnificent city, historical buildings everywhere, is a museum in open air. I can't say if is a safe city or not. Police is very much present and if you feel unsecure you can ask one of the police officers to come along with you. Anyway we didn't Taxi from/to airport, around 10$, but the traffic is absolutely insane.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPatioAndaluz, Director of Sales at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Dear Guest:
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel. We hope that your stay was pleasant and that our accommodations and services were acceptable to you. Please let us know if there's any ways that we might make improvements in the accommodations and services.

Best Regards,

Juan Francisco Alvarez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    651
    385
    69
    22
    10
See reviews for
261
543
80
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed for two nights prior to going on to Galapagos and found the hotels central location in the heart of the old town very accessible. The decor was lovely and the hotel exuded colonial charm. The price to be paid does come in the form of noise emanating from and into the rooms but the hotel does supply ear plugs for those who need them. We found all memebers of staff courteous and helpful and had an enjoyable meal on our first night, let down severely on the second night showing a degree of inconsistency in the kitchen, which was unfortunate. Breakfast was very good with a wide buffet selection and eggs etc cooked to order. The bar area is very nice and we appreciated the 'welcome drinks' offered as well as the free tea or coffee available in the rear lounge.
The nearby areas of Ronda and Ramblas have lots of small shops and restaurants to pass time in and I dont think Ive ever encountered as many churches in a small area.

I hope the hotel continues to make the efforts as there seems to be ever increasing competition.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gdes_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPatioAndaluz, Director of Sales at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Dear Guest:
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel. We hope that your stay was pleasant and that our accommodations and services were acceptable to you. Please let us know if there's any ways that we might make improvements in the accommodations and services.

Best Regards,

Juan Francisco Alvarez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro Cornwall UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

this hotel is right on a busy street but step inside and it's like stepping back in time. the first inner courtyard houses the restaurant then you walk through a sitting room with big squashy sofas and free tea/coffee into a second courtyard which has the bar, free wi-fi and access to the rooms at the back of the hotel. beautiful colonial style modernised in a very sympathetic way. lovely big beds and pristine bathroom. Able to sit outside our room on the inner balcony and relax and read. All the staff were so welcoming and helpful at all times. it's a 2 minute walk to the Palza de la Independicia which is the hub of the Old Town. If you want a few days in Quito in a beautiful building with attentive staff in the centre of the Old Town then this is it! We can't recommend it higly enough.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back as the street is very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPatioAndaluz, Director of Sales at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Dear Guest:
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel. We hope that your stay was pleasant and that our accommodations and services were acceptable to you. Please let us know if there's any ways that we might make improvements in the accommodations and services.

Best Regards,

Juan Francisco Alvarez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We spent 2 nights in this fascinating hotel in the old part of Quito. we recommend that you avoid room 107 because of the plumbing noises in the middle of the night.

The management were very happy to move us to another room for our second night where we had uninterupted sleep.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKPanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPatioAndaluz, Director of Sales at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Dear Guest:
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel. We hope that your stay was pleasant and that our accommodations and services were acceptable to you. Please let us know if there's any ways that we might make improvements in the accommodations and services.

Best Regards,

Juan Francisco Alvarez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
259 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

This is a great hotel to experience the charm of colonial quito, and it's proximity to Old Town is awesome. Just be aware that this hotel is noisy because the floors and bed creak, and you can hear almost every time a door shuts. I toss and turn a lot when I sleep, so the creaking kept my wife up (ear plugs would have helped).

But, the service was great. As long as you know what you are getting in to, this is a good hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rzsandoval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPatioAndaluz, Director of Sales at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Dear Guest:
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel. We hope that your stay was pleasant and that our accommodations and services were acceptable to you. Please let us know if there's any ways that we might make improvements in the accommodations and services.

Best Regards,

Juan Francisco Alvarez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
217 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We arrived here stressed-out after LAN managed to lose our baggage!
Our room was nice but up stairs on 2 levels (take it easy if you have just moved from sea level to altitude) but it was private, quiet, and comfortable. Free wi-fi available. Well-located next to the old city centre.

The restaurant was excellent with delicious well-priced food served by a charming waitress named Alice (Alice's Restaurant?).

Also warranting special mention was Jolita, the morning receptionist who grilled LAN on the 'phone and, along with our local guide Paul, solved the riddle of our lost baggage and allowed us to retrieve it.

I recommend this hotel as a great introduction and base to explore the beautiful town of Quito.

Room Tip: Get a room off the main road if possible but ear plugs blocked all road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris19531955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPatioAndaluz, Director of Sales at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Dear Guest:
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel. We hope that your stay was pleasant and that our accommodations and services were acceptable to you. Please let us know if there's any ways that we might make improvements in the accommodations and services.

Best Regards,

Juan Francisco Alvarez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We used this hotel as our base camp on a recent trip to Ecuador and the Galapagos. It has an excellent location adjacent to the major sites in Old Town and was very convenient. They stored our extra bags between various portions of our trip and were of great help.

While it is true that their polished wooden floors are slipery, there is really very little else to complain about. The staff is very helpful and polite. It is a lovely calm oasis in the centro historica

There is a supermarket next door which is very useful for picking up small items or snacks.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnnyCanuk12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPatioAndaluz, Director of Sales at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Dear Guest:
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel. We hope that your stay was pleasant and that our accommodations and services were acceptable to you. Please let us know if there's any ways that we might make improvements in the accommodations and services.

Best Regards,

Juan Francisco Alvarez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#2 of 115 in Quito
664 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
1.7 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel
11.2 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
3.2 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#4 of 115 in Quito
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Patio Andaluz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Patio Andaluz

Property: Hotel Patio Andaluz
Address: Calle Garcia Moreno N 6-52 | Entre Mejía y Olmedo, Quito, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Quito
#4 Luxury Hotel in Quito
#9 Business Hotel in Quito
#10 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Patio Andaluz 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style, Comfort and nice Atmosphere in the center of the Colonial Quito Hotel Patio Andaluz Quito, elegant Boutique hotel located to only 150 meters (490 ft.) of the Main Square also known as the Independence Plaza, Located in a colonial style house of the end of the XVI Century, this hotel that displays great arcs and inner Patios lies at only 7 minutes walk of the recognized Church and Square of San Francisco; at 5 minutes walk of the famous “La Compañia;” at 6 minutes walk to the “Theater Sucre”, stage of important events; among other places of great interest within the Colonial Quito such as museums, churches and historical sites. Its spacious restaurant “El Rincón de Cantuña”, inside its main Patio offers excellent options of Ecuadorian and Spanish flavors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Patio Andaluz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patio Andaluz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing