We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We must be missing something”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Ranked #10 of 113 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We have stayed in other colonial style hotels, one in Peru and another in Brazil, and both were better than this. The hotel appears faded and there is a lack of attention to detail, e.g. Replenishing bathroom items such as soap, shampoo, and toilet rolls. On our first night we ate out (we had been warned about the food) and left the room in darkness. On return lights were on but not apparently following a turn down service. Nothing was missing because all valuables were either with us or in the safe.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JulienneEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPatioAndaluz, Director of Sales at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

Dear Customer:

Greetings from all staff of Patio Andaluz, we have received your comments of your recent stay at our hotel, we apreciate your feedback on the points mentioned, we are taking corrective actions to improve it.

It is our goal to ensure your satisfaction Your comments and feedback are very valuable to us.

Best Regards,

Juan Francisco Alvarez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

937 - 943 of 1,240 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed at the Hotel either side of a trip to the Galapagos and I chose this hotel as an upgrade option having read previous tripradvisor reviews - we were not disappointed.

If you are looking for a modern hotel with chrome and veneer then this is not going to be for you however if you are looking for a hotel with real character then look no further.

Hotel Patio Andaluz is based on the traditional "Patio" that is a central courtyard with a fountain. In this case the roof as been covered by a glazed roof creating outdoors indoors. The central courtyard is the main restaurant with the fountain being a floral decoration. We stayed on one of the gound floor rooms (101) and on our return the second fllor and were not disappointed. The rooms are fitted out in the same old world style of the rest of the hotel - dark wood, and cushions but with a TV if you really need it.

It really is like entering someones house as all around there are paintings, statues, chessboards and a library. Although not marked this art collection is all for sale however it is not set out as a showroom.

The hotel also has a gift shop selling local items to suit all pockets and matches those you would find in the old town.

After being seated in the restaurant you will receive bread rolls with flavoured butters followed by White carrot crisps accompanied with Ecuadorian hot sauce. The menu itself is extensive and the quality very good - a word of warning though we found the portions very large. The soup was a meal in itself and a prawn/seafood option had over a dozen jumbo prawns!

While we stayed there it was obvious that the restaurant was also being frequented by locals which is a good sign.

Prices are reasonable and residents get a 10% discount on the menu prices

If you need a drink avoid Sundays as it is not served (there is a supermarket a few doors down if you need to stick up).

Breakfast buffet consisted of cereals, fruit, cold meat/cheese, breads and a couple of hot options (scambled eggs, pancakes and local filled pasties).

Coca tea is available in the library area along with a water urn to fill up bottles (you will be issued with daily bottled water in your room).

There is a wine bar on the lower floor however we did not visit it however outside there is another courtyard with trees and wooded parrots/touchans - a great place for photos.

Wi-Fi is charged however there are a couple of PCs available for free access - all the hotel asks is that you limit use to 15 minutes to allow other guests time.

Finally location.

The hotel is situated in the old town of Quito and less than 5 minutes from the main colonial square (Independence) which is an idea location to set out from. Nearby there are shops and restaurants though to go much farther afield organised tours are the best option.

Overall a real gem of a hotel with very attentive/friendly staff - other hotels could learn from Hotel Patio Andaluz and we would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Upstairs Rooms in main block have balcony areas. Room 101 is on the ground floor and ideally situat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank HollinBank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPatioAndaluz, Director of Sales at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Dear Guest:
I would like to thank you for your recent visit to Patio Andaluz Hotel . It was truly a pleasure to serve you.
I hope that the accommodations and service were to your liking, as complete satisfaction is our goal at Patio Andaluz Hotel.
Best Regards,

Juan Francisco Alvarez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

This is a very cool hotel centrally located in the historical district of Quito. It is a charming old building with a unique courtyard. We felt very secure here. Our first hotel stay in South America--we were not disappointed. A little expensive, but for a short stopover, we highly recommend. The food was pricey & the restaurant service wasn't that great. The other workers were helpfuly & accommodating, though.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arizona-griswolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPatioAndaluz, Director of Sales at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Dear Guest:
I would like to thank you for your visit to Patio Andaluz Hotel . It was truly a pleasure to serve you.
I hope that the accommodations and service were to your liking, as complete satisfaction is our goal at Patio Andaluz Hotel.
Best Regards,

Juan Francisco Alvarez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the Hotel Patio Andaluz in the historic section of Quito. Nice historic building which has been restored. Elegant in a historic and unusual way with a gorgeous atrium and nice, Spanish motif restaurant. Live music in the PM. This is only one block off Independence Square. Would stay here again in a heartbeat. Good service also!

Room Tip: All rooms face the atrium and you may hear some noise if you go to bed early. The hotel warns you o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPatioAndaluz, Director of Sales at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Dear Guest:
I would like to thank you for your visit to Patio Andaluz Hotel . It was truly a pleasure to serve you.
I hope that the accommodations and service were to your liking, as complete satisfaction is our goal at Patio Andaluz Hotel.
Best Regards,

Juan Francisco Alvarez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Stayed here for two nights prior to a Galapagos trip. Wanted to stay closer to the Old Town and this was a great choice- quick walk right over to the Plaza. The staff was very helpful in arranging an excursion to the Equator monument. The only downside was the restaurant- the dinner was probably my worst meal in Ecuador. Breakfast buffet was nice though- great breads.
Room was comfortable and charming and loved the atrium.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shari R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPatioAndaluz, Director of Sales at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Dear Guest:
I would like to thank you for your recent visit to Patio Andaluz Hotel . It was truly a pleasure to serve you.
I hope that the accommodations and service were to your liking, as complete satisfaction is our goal at Patio Andaluz Hotel.

Thanks for the restaurant feedback

Best Regards,

Juan Francisco Alvarez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We stayed for 5 nights while exploring Quito. The hotel is a beautiful old Spanish colonial building, only a minutes walk to the old main square and 10 mins walk to the main nightlife street. It was clean and very well mantained while still retaining it's old Colonial sytle. There was complimenary tea and coffee in the lounge area, and chess boards scattered around the hotel inviting guests to play and socialise.

The staff were always welcoming and helpful, and we even managed to convince bar staff to stay after their shift and play cards.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Girlwithlonghair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPatioAndaluz, Director of Sales at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Dear Guest:
I would like to thank you for your visit to Patio Andaluz Hotel . It was truly a pleasure to serve you.
I hope that the accommodations and service were to your liking, as complete satisfaction is our goal at Patio Andaluz Hotel.
Best Regards,

Juan Francisco Alvarez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We stayed at this hotel during our extended visit to Ecuador. We used it as our base for the various trips we made. The staff were always very welcoming and got to know us well. They were always keen to help and give advice. The hotel is beautifully clean and well located to see all the sights of Old Quito, most of which are within a short walk. We wallked everywhere and didn't feel at all threatened, possibly because "gringotown", as the locals called the newer part of the city, was perceived as having more wealthy tourists. Food at the hotel was good, but there are plenty of restaurants close by, which offer more choice.

Room Tip: All the rooms we had were good, but staff are happy to help if there are any problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqueline62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPatioAndaluz, Director of Sales at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Dear Guest:
I would like to thank you for your visit to Patio Andaluz Hotel . It was truly a pleasure to serve you.
I hope that the accommodations and service were to your liking, as complete satisfaction is our goal at Patio Andaluz Hotel.
Best Regards,

Juan Francisco Alvarez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#3 of 113 in Quito
715 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Casa El Eden
Casa El Eden
#1 of 113 in Quito
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
2.1 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Grande
Hotel Plaza Grande
#31 of 113 in Quito
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Patio Andaluz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Patio Andaluz

Address: Calle Garcia Moreno N 6-52 | Entre Mejía y Olmedo, Quito, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Quito
#4 Luxury Hotel in Quito
#9 Business Hotel in Quito
#10 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range: £136 - £356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Patio Andaluz 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style, Comfort and nice Atmosphere in the center of the Colonial Quito Hotel Patio Andaluz Quito, elegant Boutique hotel located to only 150 meters (490 ft.) of the Main Square also known as the Independence Plaza, Located in a colonial style house of the end of the XVI Century, this hotel that displays great arcs and inner Patios lies at only 7 minutes walk of the recognized Church and Square of San Francisco; at 5 minutes walk of the famous “La Compañia;” at 6 minutes walk to the “Theater Sucre”, stage of important events; among other places of great interest within the Colonial Quito such as museums, churches and historical sites. Its spacious restaurant “El Rincón de Cantuña”, inside its main Patio offers excellent options of Ecuadorian and Spanish flavors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Patio Andaluz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patio Andaluz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing