We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice historic property in Old Town Quito”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Ranked #9 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
185 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Very nice historic property in Old Town Quito”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This is a great and charming hotel located a block from the Plaza Grande in Old Town Quito. It is a historic building (324 years old). The rooms are quite nice, the public rooms and dining room are very stately and comfortable. This is not a "luxury" hotel by US standards so if you only like the Ritz Carlton then this place is not for you. But if you like a nicely appointed room with a perfect location that just oozes history, then you cannot go wrong with the Hotel Patio Andaluz. The people in the hotel all speak good English and there is a small but decent buffet breakfast included in the price of the room (at least it was included in ours). This hotel is also a perfect base to explore all of Old Town Quito as it is located on one of the main streets in the Old Town.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPatioAndaluz, General Manager at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and its service.

We hope you enjoyed your journey through Quito and Ecuador, and you come back soon,

Sincerely,

Francisco Baca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    641
    381
    68
    22
    10
See reviews for
258
532
79
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Level Contributor
86 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

While perfectly located in the midst of historic downtown, this boutique hotel provides tranquility and quiet amidst a beautifully decorated property. Rooms are spacious, with high ceilings and soothing color schemes. Windows face into the large internal atrium which allow for light but avoid noise from the street. Staff is courteous and helpful. Check to see if your rate includes the breakfast buffet - if not, you may want to go elsewhere as the $20 fee is a bit steep for primarily cold food (even though there is a large spread of fruit).

Room Tip: There are two sections, front and back - ask for a room in the front part.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPatioAndaluz, General Manager at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you very much for your comment. We are pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and its service.

We hope you enjoyed your journey through Quito and Ecuador, and you come back soon,

Sincerely,

Francisco Baca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

This is a great hotel, located just two blocks from the main square in the old quarter of Quito. You are a five minute walk from various cathedrals, museums, and other interesting sights.

The facilities are great, the staff is helpful. Most speak at least some English. The facilities are immaculately clean and comfortable. We spent several days here before departing for Galapagos Islands and one day on the return. The location is a bit far (1.5 hr drive) from the new airport, but that would apply to all of Quito. During one day, they had some water pressure problems, but hey, this isn't downtown London or NYC, this is Quito!

Some of the rooms have a novel set-up. Our rooms were loft rooms, with a second large bed (for our son) and bathroom on the second floor. To use the bathroom, you climb a spiral staircase from the main bedroom. It was no problem for us, but if you have mobility problems, you might want to ask for a room where the bed and bathroom are on the same level.

The decoration was simple but very attractive. All wood floors that were shiny and clean, so much better than dusty wall-to-wall carpets. The restaurant was good.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues, ask for a room where the bathroom and bed is on the same level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David2064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPatioAndaluz, General Manager at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and its service.

We hope you enjoyed your journey through Quito and Ecuador, and you come back soon,

Sincerely,

Francisco Baca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

Staying here was a very cool and unique experience. Hotel Patio Andaluz is different. You'll notice it from the time you arrive until the day you leave. This historic property has been beautifully maintained and you'd never guess how old it is. (Over 400 years!!)

The staff (dressed in traditional garb) couldn't be nicer. The bellboys, receptionists, waitstaff, and maids are all SUPER friendly and their uniforms transport you to a colonial time.

One thing to keep in mind is that the rooms vary greatly. We were first assigned to a small room in the back that had no A/C and the only window faced back into the hotel. We asked if there were any other rooms available and they happily changed us to a 2-story loft in the front with a huge window and A/C.

Overall I'd definitely recommend staying here for a unique experience in a classic building.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevi747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPatioAndaluz, General Manager at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and its service.

We hope you enjoyed your journey through Quito and Ecuador, and you come back soon,

Sincerely,

Francisco Baca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mijdrecht
Level Contributor
94 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We have stayed twice in 1 week in this hotel for 2x2 nights. Booked same type of room at the same rates. Room 102 is reasonable, dark, not too much room, old equipment, no airco. Room 214 was spacious, with airco, new TV, light. The service of the old is prompt and adequate. There is free wifi everywhere. The food and breakfast is as it should be. Nice patios in the hotel. Excellent positioned to explore the old center of Quito. Not a bad choice at all and a very good choice when they give you the right room....

Room Tip: Room can be excellent when given the right one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bymy141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPatioAndaluz, General Manager at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and its service.

We hope you enjoyed your journey through Quito and Ecuador, and you come back soon,

Sincerely,

Francisco Baca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights in total. Right in the centre of the old town so great if you need to pop back while you adjust to being jet-lagged at altitude.

Staff couldn't do enough and everything works like clock-work . Breakfast is from 6.30 but they were happy for us to eat as soon as the buffet was laid out when we were a) still on uk time or b) getting an early morning taxi.

Because it is a converted historical building sound proofing is not as good as it would be a modern hotel. We slept surprisingly well.

Room Tip: We had 2 different rooms and one was bigger and better -211
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xyzGuildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPatioAndaluz, General Manager at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and its service.

We hope you enjoyed your journey through Quito and Ecuador, and you come back soon,

Sincerely,

Francisco Baca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

My husband and I spent 5 nights in the Hotel Patio Andaluz and were very impressed with the facility, the service, the restaurant and the helpful staff. The rooms are all different as it is a historical building converted to a hotel, so do ask to see the rooms. We stayed in 214 which was a fairly large room, all on one level, with 3 windows (not to the exterior but to the halls and interior patios), and an air conditioner. The hotel is centrally located to everything in the Historic Center. The included breakfast was very good and the wait staff will have eggs of your choice prepared in addition to the buffet. We also dined at the restaurant one evening and found that the food was excellent.
We did visit another hotel close by and found it to be even more luxurious and a little more pricey. You may wish to also check it out. It is the Mansion Alcazar on Simon Bolivar.

Room Tip: #212 and #214 are the largest rooms with windows and air conditioner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPatioAndaluz, General Manager at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and its service.

We hope you enjoyed your journey through Quito and Ecuador, and you come back soon,

Sincerely,

Francisco Baca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#2 of 114 in Quito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
1.7 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
0.8 mi away
Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel
2.2 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Patio Andaluz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Patio Andaluz

Property: Hotel Patio Andaluz
Address: Calle Garcia Moreno N 6-52 | Entre Mejía y Olmedo, Quito, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Quito
#4 Luxury Hotel in Quito
#9 Business Hotel in Quito
#10 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Patio Andaluz 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style, Comfort and nice Atmosphere in the center of the Colonial Quito Hotel Patio Andaluz Quito, elegant Boutique hotel located to only 150 meters (490 ft.) of the Main Square also known as the Independence Plaza, Located in a colonial style house of the end of the XVI Century, this hotel that displays great arcs and inner Patios lies at only 7 minutes walk of the recognized Church and Square of San Francisco; at 5 minutes walk of the famous “La Compañia;” at 6 minutes walk to the “Theater Sucre”, stage of important events; among other places of great interest within the Colonial Quito such as museums, churches and historical sites. Its spacious restaurant “El Rincón de Cantuña”, inside its main Patio offers excellent options of Ecuadorian and Spanish flavors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Patio Andaluz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patio Andaluz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing