We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Patio Andaluz went above and beyond”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Ranked #9 of 115 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Patio Andaluz went above and beyond”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Our family of 14 stayed at Patio Andaluz for two nights, and ate at the restaurant for one dinner. The property was in the old city and was beautiful. The hotel is situated around large courtyards, and the hotel feels very authentic. My son left a prized hat behind, and the manager was kind enough to courier the hat to another hotel near the airport upon our return through Quito. The staff were wonderful!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPatioAndaluz, General Manager at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Catherine:

Many thanks for your review of Hotel Patio Andaluz following your recent stay with us. We were very pleased to read about your experience.

Our hotel staff takes a lot of pride in customer service, thank you for your recognition.

We hope you enjoyed your journey through Quito and Ecuador, and you come back soon,

Sincerely,

Francisco Baca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    643
    383
    68
    22
    10
See reviews for
259
535
79
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, CA
Level Contributor
148 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This is a beautiful property with a restaurant in the large open courtyard. The rooms open on to the courtyard. The staff was friendly and helpful. The internet was fast and free, and there were terminals to use as well. The breakfast ($14.50) was good, with eggs cooked to order, juices, fruit and assorted breads. The lobby gift shop was full of high quality items.

The hotel is just a block or two from the very center of the old town. Nothing in the historic center is more than a 10 minute walk away. The restaurant is very good, but there are also Theatrum, and Mea Culpa, two other fine restaurants just a few blocks away.

Way up on the third level in the first courtyard is a lovely terrace that nobody uses. Since the rooms can seem a bit dark, the hotel has plenty of places to sit, read, etc on this terrace and throughout the hotel.

The hotel is very quiet, so when I found my room a bit stuffy, I just left the door open and turned on the ceiling fan. You don't need AC since Quito is rather cool.

Room Tip: There is one room, way in the back, up at least three flights of stairs, the last ones rather steep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Todd2PS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPatioAndaluz, General Manager at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review and your recent stay at Hotel Patio Andaluz. We are delighted that you enjoyed your trip and your stay at our hotel..

Our hotel staff takes a lot of pride in customer service, thank you for your recognition.

The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible.

We hope you enjoyed your journey through Quito and Ecuador, and you come back soon,


Best regards,

Francisco Baca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This tastefully restored old mansion is just a delight, the rooms at the front of the building are fun because the bedrooms and bathroom are up a set of stairs separated from the seating area. The restaurant is in the glassed over patio and the bar leads off a second patio at the rear. The warm pastel colours and wood work detailing combined with the welcoming staff make for a relaxed and homely atmosphere. The restaurant serves unfussy and well-presented fare, though some dishes perhaps become a bit bland in the effort to make them universally acceptable. Also there are quite a lot of stairs so the less mobile might not find it such a great choice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBlueDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPatioAndaluz, General Manager at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
It was a pleasure to have you stay at Hotel Patio andaluz.

We thank you for sharing your encouraging feedback through TripAdvisor.

We are very happy to learn that you had an enjoyable experience at our hotel. Our team is always striving towards excellence. Such feedback will motivate us further.

The Hotel Patio Andaluz team, look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Thank you,

Warm regards,

Francisco Baca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunn Loring, Virginia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Excellent well-run hotel right in the middle of the historic center. Spacious rooms in a beautiful updated colonial building. Agree with other reviewers---hotel is remarkably quiet and peaceful while located two blocks from the Plaza Grande. Two-floor suites are big enough for a family of five. Staff is extremely friendly and accommodating---able to get reliable, reasonably affordable drivers to take you back to the airport or other sites in the city. The great thing is all the sites of historic Quito are within a few blocks walk of the hotel and you owe yourself a day or two of exploration, especially if you are on your way to the Galapagos or a jungle lodge. Don't miss out on this beautiful colonial capital.

After reading the US State department travel advisories regarding crime in Quito, we were a bit concerned over walking around the center of town. On the contrary, we felt completely safe and comfortable while strolling around the historic center during the day. Perhaps the feeling comes from the multiple police on every corner, but it seems that a real effort is being made to improve security. If you have the time and are in town on a weekend, I would definitely advise a trip down to the La Ronda neighborhood (about five or six blocks down Garcia Moreno as you turn left coming out of the Patio Andaluz). Lots of fun wandering down the street and hearing the live music coming out of the clubs. Not many tourists but lots of locals out for a good time. Quite a scene. Obviously, I would use common sense at night---going in a group, not drinking too much of the local cane liquor, taking only a small amount of cash, etc.---but we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

Room Tip: Specify what type of room you want in advance. We got there late at night and were given a room wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VA_Boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPatioAndaluz, General Manager at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
It was a pleasure to have you stay at Hotel Patio andaluz. We thank you for sharing your encouraging feedback through TripAdvisor.

We are very happy to learn that you had an enjoyable experience at our hotel. Our team is always striving towards excellence. Such feedback will motivate us further.

We hope you enjoyed your journey through Quito and Ecuador, and you come back soon,


Thank you,

Warm regards,

Francisco Baca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The hotel is a wonderfully adapted colonial building. It is very peaceful, light and airy despite being in the middle of the historic quarter. There is a reading room with tea or coffee, an indoor garden area to sit, a small bar and internet facilities. The dining area is spectacular, the food is very pleasant and reasonably priced. The bedrooms are spacious well appointed and have en-suite bathroom. The whole place is spotlessly clean. The staff are very friendly and helpful. A wonderful haven to relax in

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPatioAndaluz, General Manager at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear John:

Thank you for taking the time out to share your experience!

It is good to know that not only our service but also our appearance influences our valued guests to come in and simply relax.

Our staff truly values your feedback and will continue aim for service excellence.

Thank you,


Warm regards,

Francisco Baca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The hotel is lovely and the staff were very accomodative, we originally had a room with two double beds but when we went there and requested for a king bed they honored our request. And we got to stay in one of the best rooms in the hotel, which had excellent views of the chapel and mountains. The hotel is walking distance from presidential palace and square.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sightseer1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPatioAndaluz, General Manager at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
We are delighted that your stay with Hotel Patio Andaluz was enjoyable.

We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.

We hope you enjoyed your journey through Quito and Ecuador, and you come back soon,


Thank you,

Francisco Baca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Beautiful boutique hotel. Enter straight off the street. Lovely courtyard restaurant, library and bar. Staff speak excellent English which was most appreciated and all were consistently helpful. I appreciated that on checkin we received wifi login details without having to ask, contact details of the hotel in case we caught a taxi, and complimentary cocktails. Excellent location in Old Town.

Room Tip: Reception warned of traffic noise as our room faced the street but we honestly didn't notice it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ibbo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPatioAndaluz, General Manager at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your kind feedback following your visit to Hotel Patio Andaluz.

As valued guests, your review is extremely important to us as it helps us to improve the services and facilities that we provide and I am therefore thrilled that we met your expectations and made your stay with us an occasion to remember.

Our staff take great interest in our guests to ensure that they have everything they may need for a comfortable and memorable stay and so I am delighted that they were superb and assisted to every need. I will ensure that their service is duly noted.

We hope you enjoyed your journey through Quito and Ecuador, and you come back soon,


Yours sincerely,

Francisco Baca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#2 of 115 in Quito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
1.7 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
0.8 mi away
Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel
2.2 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Patio Andaluz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Patio Andaluz

Property: Hotel Patio Andaluz
Address: Calle Garcia Moreno N 6-52 | Entre Mejía y Olmedo, Quito, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Quito
#4 Luxury Hotel in Quito
#9 Business Hotel in Quito
#10 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Patio Andaluz 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style, Comfort and nice Atmosphere in the center of the Colonial Quito Hotel Patio Andaluz Quito, elegant Boutique hotel located to only 150 meters (490 ft.) of the Main Square also known as the Independence Plaza, Located in a colonial style house of the end of the XVI Century, this hotel that displays great arcs and inner Patios lies at only 7 minutes walk of the recognized Church and Square of San Francisco; at 5 minutes walk of the famous “La Compañia;” at 6 minutes walk to the “Theater Sucre”, stage of important events; among other places of great interest within the Colonial Quito such as museums, churches and historical sites. Its spacious restaurant “El Rincón de Cantuña”, inside its main Patio offers excellent options of Ecuadorian and Spanish flavors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Patio Andaluz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patio Andaluz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing