We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, lovely characterful rooms”
Review of Vieja Cuba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vieja Cuba
Ranked #19 of 113 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2013

This is a clean, budget, character hotel. I highly recommend it. The breakfast is outstanding with fresh fruit, delicious yoghurt and moorish coffee. The area around it is not particularly nice - though there are a few good restaurants nearby. I would definitely recommend this hotel to those on a budget.

Room Tip: Room 11 - quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 454 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2013

My husband and I arrived Quito self organized 8 day tour and stayed 3 days. We were transfered with a van sent by Hotel. Our room no 11 was suit, sitting area below bedroom was loft. Comfortable and clean. Breakfast fresh fruit, yogurt, cheese, ham, toast, egg...and fantastic service from Marry. Staff were friendly and helpful. Wifi was good. Location was very good. Close to the restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovelybulut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We stayed three nights at the Vieja Cuba, a small, well-recommended 3-star hotel in the La Mariscal District, and very reasonably priced. It was a nice hotel, but the rooms were small and it can be noisy, especially if you have the misfortune of having a big group of travelers come in late or leave early in the morning. The staff was very helpful and they are almost always there to help carry the luggage upstairs. And also when you go downstairs, especially if you make a lot of noise dragging your suitcases over the stairs. They also have free Wi-fi in all their rooms and a PC for communal use. They also offer to escort you to a restaurant in the neighborhood in the evening for safety.

We stayed one night in room #1, which was small and just above the first flight of stairs, and then later in room #6, which was sunny, larger and fronted on both La Niña as well as Diego the Almagro. This used to be an older mansion, which had been converted into a hotel. The walls are very thick. So it stays quite warm even in the chilly evenings. Bathrooms are very small.
A large breakfast is included and officially served starting at 7:00. But the staff is exceedingly helpful and if you drop in at 6:30 a.m. they will run and serve you as fast as possible. Which was a choice of juice, cereal and yoghurt, fried or scrambled eggs, and toast with jam, ham and cheese. In the morning the hotel can get you a taxi in minutes; in the evening it takes longer. Taxi fares are reasonable; $1 for short trips, $8 to the airport.

There are quite a number of restaurants in the area just a few blocks away, including McDonald’s if you are so inclined. McDonald, as well as the Burger King close by, were really not that inexpensive. Surprisingly, they only serve dinners. You cannot just drop by and get an order of french fries. There is a restaurant just across the street of the hotel. Another restaurant a block further away is the Hasta La Vuelta, which had a very decent menu.
For more information go to my travel blog at http://travelswithhok.com/Galapagos/Entries/2012/12/7_IV__Quito.html

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ploddinghappily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We stayed here twice on our holiday in Ecuador. It all seems a bit amateur and quirky for our liking. We went to the bar on the first night but they only had 3 bottles of beer. The first room was okay and furnished with a standard double bed and a single across the end of the room but cramming the extra bed in gave it the look of a hostel. The lighting was poor and the wooly blankets made it look a little sad. Our second room had an unpleasant smell and the floor in both the room and the bathroom had neither been swept or cleaned for some time - we did not want to walk on it with bare feet. Breakfast was okay. Usually I love old hotels and might choose this hotel if it gave the convenience of being located in the old town, but given that most hotels are in the modern part of the city, I would chose a more standard chain offering to get a better service.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main building are probably better than in the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter_and_Jane_York
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

A 5 dollar cab ride from the airport. Comfortable, small rooms, great breakfast with fantastic service from Mary each morning - we used Vieja as our center point to explore Ecuador Dec-Jan 2012 and we're glad we did!

Close to town - we booked Galapagos Island Trip a few blocks away at a great price. Close to shopping and needs. Cafe's and inexpensive restaurants with good food.

We recommend this location!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LS T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

First stayed at Vieja Cuba when looking at different Hotels that would accept pets when we would stay over on our move to Ecuador. This was the best. It also has a very friendly staff and a good breakfast. It it close to restaurants and shopping. Ask for the two level suite.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Homer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Hotel Cuba is a very good hotel. It is basic and clean. The breakfast is good and varied. Staff is very friendly and helpful. The only issue that may be non-issue for others is that most hotels don’t’ have elevators in Ecuador and here we had to climb up steep to a higher floor to get to our rooms

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelWorldSeeWithin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.4 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hostal de La Rabida
Hostal de La Rabida
#20 of 113 in Quito
536 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#15 of 113 in Quito
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden Quito
Wyndham Garden Quito
#9 of 113 in Quito
389 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Finlandia
Hotel Finlandia
#31 of 113 in Quito
386 reviews
0.4 mi away
Yellow House Hotel
Yellow House Hotel
#33 of 113 in Quito
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vieja Cuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vieja Cuba

Address: Diego de Almagro 1212 and La Nina Quito | New Town, Quito, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Quito
#19 Family Hotel in Quito
#28 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range: £43 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vieja Cuba 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The comfortable Vieja Cuba ideally located in Quito in the La Mariscal district, the elegant Hotel Vieja Cuba is a lovely 3-star hotel in the heart of Quito's tourist area, bustling with lively cafes and restaurants, only 6 km/3.72 miles from Mariscal Sucre International Airport. A majestic carefully renovated colonial house, the Hotel Vieja Cuba features 26 rooms with all the services that modern life requires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Vieja Cuba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vieja Cuba Hotel Quito
Vieja Cuba Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing