We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant, yet relaxing with exceptional hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hacienda La Alegria
Ranked #4 of 256 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
“Elegant, yet relaxing with exceptional hosts”
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Patty and Gabriel provided a rare combination of a working ranch/dairy with the elegance of a 100 year old home. They were the kindest and most knowledgeable hosts and went above and beyond in every respect-- even making a homemade chocolate birthday cake !! The horseback riding and trails are (and deserve to be) among the best in the world. The rooms had grand views and the food was superb, highlighting Andean favorites. We would love to bring our family back very soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    9
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
61
69
37
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

My husband and I spent an unforgettable few days at la Alegria with Gabriel whose hospitality and horsemanship are unparalleled. Within a few short hours he had my husband, a complete novice, riding confidently. Our horses were carefully chosen to reflect our abilities and comfort levels - thank you to Pinto, my tenacious little mount! Our horseback adventure to the Cotopaxi volcano and national park took us through some truly breathtaking landscapes. Horse pace is the best way to absorb the beauty of such surroundings. We arrived to the welcoming warmth of Tambopaxi Lodge at dusk with a great sense of achievement.

La Alegria is a perfect place to absorb Ecuadorian working farm life. The hacienda exudes charm and ambience and all the rooms are extremely comfortable with wonderful vistas of the mountains. Our experience with Gabriel at La Alegria was the highlight of our trip to Ecuador.

Room Tip: Every room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuitcaseTales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Less than a half hour outside Quito is this fantastic hacienda, with an interesting host. We stayed at La Alegria on April 8, 2012, as part of an adventure tour. The rooms have sweeping views of the Andes and the rooms are posh by Ecuadorian standards. Gabriel, the owner, took us on a three hour horseback ride through the mountains and told us about local agriculture and dairies. Our children were thrilled by the responsive horses. Meals were served family style in the hacienda's dining hall. Made with local ingredients, the food was quite good and local beer and wine from Argentina were also availale. We never would have found this place without our tour, but it is a don't miss for any trip around Quito.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad53207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistler, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I recently spent three days at Hacienda La Alegria and loved every moment of the visit. The accommodations, the food, the hosts: Gabriel and Paty, the staff, the horses of course (!!), the dogs, the Llamas, the dairy cows..it was a fantastic way to experience a true Ecuadorian home and lifestyle among the gorgeous area of the Volcanoes. An easy drive from Quito, a bus ride or even a train ride will get you to this beautiful property which we would highly recommend while visiting Ecuador. The family's local knowledge and history of the area offers every traveler the opportunity to love and learn about the country. The rooms were spacious, gorgeous, clean..with excellent showers and every convenience for a "country" setting. You don't want to miss this stop when you visit Ecuador...

Room Tip: The rooms that look out to the countryside have huge bay windows and are gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KendraLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We visited Hacienda Alegria for a day excursion from Quito. We wanted to be away from the hustle and bustle of Quito and we were pleased to find ourselves on a beautiful farm just 45 minutes from the city. We were given a superb time by Gabriel and his wife.
After meeting the llamas we enjoyed a demonstration of roping and riding skills before trying our hand at the horses. The 10 year old twins attempted to rope the llamas before mounting their own horses. After an hour of riding we enjoyed a superb lunch. Then all of us watched the cows get milked at 4 PM. My wife enjoyed a tour of the cave with cheese curing before we returned to Quito.
Our hosts showed us the accommodation and we will plan a stay when we return to Ecuador in 2013 for our annual medical mission. We recommend Alegria for a great time!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtlEdmontonAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2012

I was teaching English in Ecuador for a year. The South American Explorers Club planned a trip to Hacienda La Alegria. On a whim, I decided to go. I don't have much horse experience, but this trip turned out to be one of my most memorable events! Gabriel and Patti made us all feel so welcome and the Hacienda is so beautiful. I recommend this "haven of rest" to anyone who wants to experience more of Ecuador than the cities.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

My wife and I spent 3 days at the Hacienda with Gabriel and Patti. They are friends now. When we arrive Gabby sits down and talks to us .. never in a rush. Food is very nice( Patti's creations) and the room and ambiance is warm and rustic.
In the morning Gabby gets us ready with horses, wonderful horses! and gear and we had a wonderful ride through the rolling hills of the highlands. Great scenery, indians farming and a patch quilt of green hillsides of crops. Second morning we rode 5 1/2 hours in the rain to approx 12,000 ft to top of La Viuda (the widow) . We were properly attired, but it was quite a difficult ride in the rain. We made it back... my wife was almost La Viuda, but I survived. Throughout Gabby and his assistant were so helpful!! This is the placed to stay for an experience and personal attention. You must include this in your trip!!!

Room Tip: Dress warm and enjoy the ride.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LagunaMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quito
21.9 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
19.3 mi away
Hacienda Rumiloma
Hacienda Rumiloma
#39 of 111 in Quito
191 reviews
18.2 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Hacienda El Porvenir / Tierra del Volcan
Hacienda El Porvenir / Tierra de...
#1 of 27 in Cotopaxi Province
253 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hacienda Santa Ana
Hacienda Santa Ana
#2 of 27 in Cotopaxi Province
134 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hosteria-PapaGayo South
Hosteria-PapaGayo South
#2 of 10 in Machachi
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda La Alegria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda La Alegria

Property: Hacienda La Alegria
Address: Barrio Rumipamba Aloag | Provincia Pichincha, Quito 171110, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 256 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda La Alegria 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda La Alegria is a family horse hacienda in the heart of Ecuador's "Avenue of the Volcanoes". We are situated one hour south of the historic colonial city of Quito, the capital of Ecuador. One hour to Cotopaxi National park. One hour to Saquisili Market. Two hours to Quilotoa crater lake. Pasochoa Volcano, Corazon, Viudita and Illinizas volcanoes on the area. One hour to Quito Airport. Explore the dairy operation, milking cows, feeding calves, petting our 4 border collies, Aging cheese cave, 24llamas alpacas and vicuna, rabbits, guinea pig, rose garden, hacienda garden with orchids and old trees, hot tub, two fire place living rooms, wall climbing, fishing trout, making bread, pizza or BBQ at the wood oven, the 9 volcanoes at the valley, enjoy the Cotopaxi with his vapor fumes in the back of Ruminahui Volcano in front of the hacienda. The rooms are beautiful and spacious with a picture perfect view of the country side. Now also available a suite. The food, wine, the beer and cheese are delicious and plentiful. We plan to produce our own cheese with the 1500 liters of milk per day, from our 240 cattle. Learn to Ride, groom, pet, feed, shoe, educate and enjoy our 67 horses. We breed horses and for next year we plan to have 20 new foals. Enjoy the voulting experience, 3 different arenas to start riding or learn, try the wood polo horse, the chagra demonstration, riding games as the Sortijas or Cintas. Choose the multi day rides from one day to 12 day ride at the Andes. All of this makes Hacienda La Alegria a family destiny and a life time experience. The mission of Hacienda la Alegria is to provide high quality horseback riding and eco-tourism adventure along the highest trails of the Volcano avenue at the Ecuadorian Andes, assuring personalized attention and hospitality " ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hacienda La Alegria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda La Alegria Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing