We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great days riding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hacienda La Alegria
Ranked #6 of 297 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2012

I stayed here for two nights 6-7th August 2012, and i had a great days riding in the local countryside. Dinner both evenings was excellant and the company of other guests was friendly and welcomming. The room was clean and comforatble with a magnificent view.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2012

I stayed here this July and couldn't have been happier with the experience. The main house is the older part, where the main living and dining rooms are located, and is in a beautiful colonial style. The fireplace is lovely and it's quite something to just sit there and warm up after a day of horseback riding. There is a newer wing added to the side (maintaining the same style of the main house) where all the guest rooms are located. The rooms are beautiful with very comfortable beds and large windows allowing for lots of light and a spectacular view of the mountains from each room. The new wing also has a separate living room and deck with a Jacuzzi, available to guests. Aside from the lovely accommodations, all the meals are also delicious. Breakfast is a mix of both warm food (varying from eggs, to french toast, to arrepas etc) and bread, yogurt, jams and cereal. Thus, there is always a bit of everything for everybody. The lunches and dinners are both 3-course warm meals, generally traditional dishes from the region. All were excellent.
The owners of the hacienda are most welcoming and make sure to take care of the needs of each guest. I really felt at home while there.
As if simply staying there weren't enough, the horseback trips are an amazing experience. Many tourist riding trips require riders (regardless of experience level) to walk at a slow pace and the guides dictate routes. Here, while the routes are planned out, the visitors have a say in the pace of the ride and don't feel like they are merely being lead around, but that they get to explore themselves. Always in good hands of owner and guide Gabriel, groups get to see the beauty of the Ecuadorian Andes and feel like a true Chagra.
If you come to Ecuador, Hacienda La Alegria is a place you must visit!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
2  Thank widgeon91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

I came to Hacienda for a couple days and had the warmest experience of my life. Enjoying the beautiful view of the mountains from every corner, spending time with the fellow visitors next to the fireplace, chatting with the owners during dinner time, tasting the traditional dishes of Ecuador made freshly in the kitchen next door... These were some of the best moments besides the amazing horseback riding trip. Even though I was a true beginner, I didn't feel like a novice. I was guided every second of the trip. We enjoyed our chocolates in high altitudes and great views. Learned about the nature and the traditions.

This place is a family run business. Mr. Espinosa is a super outdoorsy person who accompanies you during horseback riding. Mrs. Espinosa is the sweetest person who is an iron chef for Ecuadorian cuisine and hospitality. You might run into their youngest daughter Serena occasionally. She is a true fan of horses and outdoors. If you catch her, talk to her about travelling, horses and food. I would not skip this opportunity and immediately visit their website to make a reservation!

Room Tip: You can ask for the newly built rooms, but all rooms are great, very clean and authentic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irazkorez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Amateur or pro in horseback riding, this is the place. Anyone looking from a chillout time to an adventure in the Andes, should visit the Hacienda La Alegria.

We spent a weekend at the Hacienda and we had the pleasure of joining the traditional annual Parade of the Chagras (the cowboys of Ecuador), everyone at the Hacienda, including all guests, rode along other 2000 horses in this colorful parade. This was a unique experience that not every tourist in Quito gets to enjoy. This was certainly a highlight of my trip to Ecuador and my stay at the Hacienda. Not to mention, its beautiful location, delicious and fresh food, spacious, cozzy and confortamble rooms... we did not want to leave this paradise.

And if you are tired after riding for some hours, there is a jacuzzi with a great view of the mountains to relax.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hector R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

The owners of Hacienda Alegria truly believe in creating a home away from home. The food is fabulous, including great vegetarian meals, the rooms are newly renovated, fresh with colonial decor, and the views are spectacular. This haven is a must to include in your visit to Ecuador!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hendma01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

My 16 year old daughter and I stayed at the hacienda for a night. Gabriel took us riding--my daughter had never been on a horse and was a little nervous. She was paired with a very gentle horse and loved every minute of our ride. The grounds are gorgeous, the hacienda is first class, the food was delicious. The night we stayed at la Alegria, we were the only guests. We dined with Gabriel and his two Kiwi volunteers in the main dining room. We had delightful conversations. The view from our room was nothing short of spectacular.
If you are in Ecuador, I would highly recommend a night or two at the Hacienda. It is about a 20 minute cab ride from downtown Quito (About $15) but you feel like you are miles away!

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We ended up staying the nights in this place whilst climbing several peaks in the area - beautiful farm out in the green with splendid views, the place has been beautifully restored. The Espinosa family is active in the dairy business and rents the beautifully refurbished rooms in their Hacienda. Fireplaces everywhere, great food sometimes even together with owner Gabriel who has many stories to tell. Excellent service quality, very friendly staff, beautiful rooms and for horseback riding apparently one of the best places in South America. Alternatively great place to relax out in the green after a strenuous climb or trip. Close to Quito but not that easy to find on his own, take a taxi (25mins) or have your tour operator organise transport.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marco s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quito
21.9 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
16.8 mi away
Casa El Eden
Casa El Eden
#1 of 116 in Quito
325 reviews
18.2 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.5 mi away
Hacienda San Martin
Hacienda San Martin
#37 of 297 in Quito
26 reviews
11.6 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Los Mortinos
9.9 mi away
Hacienda El Porvenir / Tierra del Volcan
Hacienda El Porvenir / Tierra de...
#1 of 33 in Cotopaxi Province
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda La Alegria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda La Alegria

Address: Barrio Rumipamba Aloag | Provincia Pichincha, Quito 171110, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 297 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Price Range: £130 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda La Alegria 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda La Alegria is a family horse hacienda in the heart of Ecuador's "Avenue of the Volcanoes". We are situated one hour south of the historic colonial city of Quito, the capital of Ecuador. One hour to Cotopaxi National park. One hour to Saquisili Market. Two hours to Quilotoa crater lake. Pasochoa Volcano, Corazon, Viudita and Illinizas volcanoes on the area. One hour to Quito Airport. Explore the dairy operation, milking cows, feeding calves, petting our 4 border collies, Aging cheese cave, 24llamas alpacas and vicuna, rabbits, guinea pig, rose garden, hacienda garden with orchids and old trees, hot tub, two fire place living rooms, wall climbing, fishing trout, making bread, pizza or BBQ at the wood oven, the 9 volcanoes at the valley, enjoy the Cotopaxi with his vapor fumes in the back of Ruminahui Volcano in front of the hacienda. The rooms are beautiful and spacious with a picture perfect view of the country side. Now also available a suite. The food, wine, the beer and cheese are delicious and plentiful. We plan to produce our own cheese with the 1500 liters of milk per day, from our 240 cattle. Learn to Ride, groom, pet, feed, shoe, educate and enjoy our 67 horses. We breed horses and for next year we plan to have 20 new foals. Enjoy the voulting experience, 3 different arenas to start riding or learn, try the wood polo horse, the chagra demonstration, riding games as the Sortijas or Cintas. Choose the multi day rides from one day to 12 day ride at the Andes. All of this makes Hacienda La Alegria a family destiny and a life time experience. The mission of Hacienda la Alegria is to provide high quality horseback riding and eco-tourism adventure along the highest trails of the Volcano avenue at the Ecuadorian Andes, assuring personalized attention and hospitality " ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hacienda La Alegria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda La Alegria Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing