We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hacienda La Alegria
Ranked #4 of 256 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Mississippi
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Magical Place”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I visited the Hacienda la Alegria for the third time in September, and cannot wait to return! It is truly a magical place. The family Espinosa does everything possible to make each guest feel welcomed and valued. The property is just beaufiful - the perfect mix of gracious amenities and Ecuadorian charm. The staff truly wants to make each guest's stay wonderful and they deliveron that promise!

My room was large, bright, and very comfortable with a lovely view of the gardens and volcanoes. The food is just amazing, as is the time spent with the family and other guests in the lounge. A crackling fire, a glass of wine, and the sun setting over the volcanoes is a perfect way to end each day.

The working farm is amazing to see, as are the quaint villages, beautiful markets, and unbelievable landscapes. As an artist, the wealth of subject matter is amazing. Gabriel, Mauricio, and staff make every day a new adventure. I have never painted anywhere else that such care was taken of the artists. I WILL be back!

Room Tip: Several have fire places, so ask if one is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duke192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    9
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
61
69
37
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
milwaukee
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I stayed at Hacienda La Alegria for three nights in August. The property is near Volcano Cotopaxi and is set in a beautiful valley surrounded by volcanoes and green hills. I was welcomed by Gabriel, the owner, on a foggy evening. My room had a view over the front garden, looking out over the mountains. Gabriel made a fire in the main sitting room and spent some time with me, showing me pictures of his prized horses and grandchildren.

The next morning, Gabriel gave me a short riding lesson (I know nothing about horses), and then took me on a three-hour ride around the area. The ride was fascinating. We rode through some villages and then up into the hills through a eucalyptus forest. I subsequently took two more rides during my stay to see the area. If you don't want to ride, the property is still excellent for hiking and just enjoying the house and grounds.

I chose to eat both lunch and dinner at the hacienda--the food was wonderful. Since I was the only guest for a couple nights, Gabriel and his wife, Pati, dined with me in their personal dining room. I felt welcome and looked after during my whole visit. As a solo traveler, I appreciated their kindness.

Staying at the hacienda provided an interesting window on the lifestyle of Ecuadoreans who live on these ranches--it was an authentic experience in an incredibly beautiful setting.

You will walk among lanes of calla lillies that grow wild in the volcanic soil--the rose garden climbs a hill at back of the house and you will see horses roaming among the flowers. It was an unforgettable visit and I hope to return.

Room Tip: My room was on the ground floor and had a view of the mountains and gardens.There was a large pictur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nameste56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

During my trip in Ecuador I spend one day at the hacienda. It was absolutely amazing. The driver was a bit early so I didn't have breakfast at my hotel. But, when I arrived at the hacienda a lovely breakfast was waiting. After breakfast we went on a ride for 4,5 hours. The horses where all in good shape, healthy and friendly. We finished at a different hacienda where we had a great lunch with home made cheese, soup and more. The owner showed us all the orchids in the cloudforest and informed up about the different plants and how they are used in local health. All in all a great experience I would definitely recommend to everyone visiting Ecuador!

Note that I did not see the rooms so rated them 'neutral' at 3 but judging from the rest of the hacienda..... Everything looked so great!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlottePotman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bariloche
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I visited Hacienda La Alegria with my boyfriend this summer and unfortunately we were only able to stay one night. Neither of us are horse back riders but were excited to experience some of the beautiful Ecuadorian countryside.

The family made horseback riding a seamless experience for two beginner riders. They were careful to make us feel safe and comfortable and explain anything we could need to know. We had a blast.

Everyone at Hacienda La Alegria was extremely accommodating and went out of their way to make us feel at home. The food was delicious and we really enjoyed the communal meals. We were able to meet some other very interesting travelers.

The Hacienda itself is gorgeous. The rooms were clean, comfortable and fit well with the ranch experience. We loved walking around the premise and seeing all the animals and the views are really amazing.

I would recommend this place to anyone looking to enjoy the Ecuadorian countryside and would love to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lily h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral Gables, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

I went to hacienda la alegría with My wife and two kids. We all rode horses and had a great time. My 6 year old son was initially afraid but with the staff's guidance he was Able to ride for more than an hour. The food is very good. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The scenery is beautiful. They make you feel at Home. I am definetely going back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JGYE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johns Creek, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

I cannot imagine a better place for a horse enthusiast. We had a great time and we really are not horse people. Gabriel literally opens his home to you as his guest and what a gracious host. He spent hours with us showing us the grounds and the workings of his dairy farm. (That's really what goes on here, a working dairy farm.)

However, you can quickly tell his passion is horses. He can lead a ride from 2 hrs to nearly two weeks.

My wife was quite tentative about riding and he personally gave us ~1 hour lesson and calmed her fears. We had a great ride!

Not a lot to do here other than ride and relax so keep that in mind.

Lodging was comfortable and the food with local recipes was very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCDoug1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2013

If you are looking for unique horseback riding through the breathtaking mountains of Ecuador and a wonderful atmosphere, you should not miss staying at this Hacienda. The horses are excellent, the views incredible and, most importantly, this family-run place makes you feel truly at home in a very subtle manner.

We extended our stay by a couple of days. The food is excellent, the rooms are wonderfully cosy and have stunning views - and Gabriel and Patty are amazing people to meet.

We felt truly welcome and enjoyed every minute in this very poetic gem of Ecuador.
Thank you so much for those very special days.

Room Tip: The rooms are all lovely with wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laetitia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quito
21.9 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
19.3 mi away
Hacienda Rumiloma
Hacienda Rumiloma
#39 of 111 in Quito
191 reviews
18.2 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Hacienda El Porvenir / Tierra del Volcan
Hacienda El Porvenir / Tierra de...
#1 of 27 in Cotopaxi Province
253 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hacienda Santa Ana
Hacienda Santa Ana
#2 of 27 in Cotopaxi Province
134 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hosteria-PapaGayo South
Hosteria-PapaGayo South
#2 of 10 in Machachi
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda La Alegria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda La Alegria

Property: Hacienda La Alegria
Address: Barrio Rumipamba Aloag | Provincia Pichincha, Quito 171110, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 256 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda La Alegria 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda La Alegria is a family horse hacienda in the heart of Ecuador's "Avenue of the Volcanoes". We are situated one hour south of the historic colonial city of Quito, the capital of Ecuador. One hour to Cotopaxi National park. One hour to Saquisili Market. Two hours to Quilotoa crater lake. Pasochoa Volcano, Corazon, Viudita and Illinizas volcanoes on the area. One hour to Quito Airport. Explore the dairy operation, milking cows, feeding calves, petting our 4 border collies, Aging cheese cave, 24llamas alpacas and vicuna, rabbits, guinea pig, rose garden, hacienda garden with orchids and old trees, hot tub, two fire place living rooms, wall climbing, fishing trout, making bread, pizza or BBQ at the wood oven, the 9 volcanoes at the valley, enjoy the Cotopaxi with his vapor fumes in the back of Ruminahui Volcano in front of the hacienda. The rooms are beautiful and spacious with a picture perfect view of the country side. Now also available a suite. The food, wine, the beer and cheese are delicious and plentiful. We plan to produce our own cheese with the 1500 liters of milk per day, from our 240 cattle. Learn to Ride, groom, pet, feed, shoe, educate and enjoy our 67 horses. We breed horses and for next year we plan to have 20 new foals. Enjoy the voulting experience, 3 different arenas to start riding or learn, try the wood polo horse, the chagra demonstration, riding games as the Sortijas or Cintas. Choose the multi day rides from one day to 12 day ride at the Andes. All of this makes Hacienda La Alegria a family destiny and a life time experience. The mission of Hacienda la Alegria is to provide high quality horseback riding and eco-tourism adventure along the highest trails of the Volcano avenue at the Ecuadorian Andes, assuring personalized attention and hospitality " ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hacienda La Alegria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda La Alegria Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing