We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hacienda La Alegria - Ride of a Lifetime”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hacienda La Alegria
Ranked #3 of 262 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
1 review
“Hacienda La Alegria - Ride of a Lifetime”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Truly the ride of a lifetime! Words cannot describe the wonderful experience my wife and I just had staying at Hacienda La Alegria and riding to the magnificent volcano with Gabriel and his wonderful family. Accommodations were 5 star and the food was fantastic - even during the ride which was to the remote Cotapaxi Volcano. We experienced the highest canter in the world, rode through lava fields, and viewed wild horses and unbelievable landscapes.

The ride was not a tourist adventure - but a real excursion with a real Charga and native Ecuadorians - into what has to be one of the most remote areas of Ecuador. You couldn't ask for more - great ride - great food and accommodations - great people. Absolutely fantastic - you have to do this ride.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lchauncey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    9
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
62
69
37
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Beautiful accommodations, bucolic setting, and the most gracious hosts and staff -- plus incredible horseback riding. Special thank you to Mauricio and the ladies in the kitchen who surprised my 12 year old daughter with a very official birthday cake replete with lighted candles and song. "It was the best birthday, ever!" Bravo!! We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlisonPAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We are currently at the Hacieda. Patty, Gabriel and family are such gracious and welcoming people. Our room is large, has vaulted ceilings and great views of gardens and mountains. Food is tastey. I have saved the best for last. We had 2 lengthy horse rides today on beautiful, well behaved horses. I got to learn how to canter for the first time. I haven't left yet and already wish to return. Highly recommend. What a unique experience.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dantecamille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Truly idyllic setting - quite amazing. We only came for a day ride. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Scenery on the ride was also bucolic. Our 6-year-old had a great time. He was a first-time rider and 1 hour was plenty for him. He also enjoyed seeing the llamas, alpacas, chickens and dogs. Bring rubber boots if you have them.

Paid $20/hour/person + $50 for round-trip transport from Quito.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

What a treat. I traveled with my daughter who is 9. Of all the places we stayed in two weeks, she still ranked the Hacienda stay as her favorite place. She loved the horse back ride and was paired with a suitable horse for her level. The cowboys were excellent. It was cold for us and rained but that didn't dampen her love for the beautiful house, amazing home cooked meal and the fantastic dogs. We highly recommend more than one night here. Two would be perfect. Stunning landscape.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank thegadgetgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We arrived on 31st May, rather late after our lovely day at Otavalu, seeing the all the markets. The animal market is so memorable for me. All the animals were well behaved and I have a happy feeling about it. We took our time to freshen up, but didn't realise that Gabriel and his lovely wife was waiting to have dinner with us. It was very nice to learn about Ecuador and the farm life.
The following afternoon Gabrield invited us to walk the cattle after milking, back to their lush green field to spend the night. Being a city girl, I am not used to stepping in muck. But as Gabriel said : It is very Therapeutic.
Lovely settings and views from our big bedroom. They lit the fire in the room for us in the evenings.
We stayed 2 nights. Second day, we had a lovely packed picnic lunch for our trip to Cotopaxi. My husband, Peter tried to climb to the refuge on Cotopaxi, but was beaten by hail and strong wind.
Our 2 nights stay at Hacienda La Alegria was too short, as we didn't have time to experince riding the horse. Perhaps for our furture visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erlina52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed 2 nights 6th & 7th May. The accommodation and food was excellent our host Gabriel made us very welcome and we enjoyed his company too. We went on a 5 hour ride around the farmlands nearby, the scenery was beautiful, the horses were lovely and well behaved and my husband who is not an experienced rider felt happy on the horse he rode,with our horses being selected appropriately on the details we gave to Gabriel. Highly recommend this place to stay and ride. Would love to go back one day and try one of their longer rides.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ratty27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel1703, Owner at Hacienda La Alegria, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear UK guest
Richard develop good training in short time, Yes we have the skills to make every body to enjoy at Hacienda La Alegria.
Michelle many thanks for your nice comments and keep riding so next trip to Ecuador you can have a multi day experience at the high ANDES.
gabriel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quito
21.9 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
19.3 mi away
Hacienda Rumiloma
Hacienda Rumiloma
#40 of 110 in Quito
191 reviews
18.2 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#8 of 110 in Quito
1,164 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hacienda Santa Ana
Hacienda Santa Ana
#3 of 29 in Cotopaxi Province
138 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hosteria-PapaGayo South
Hosteria-PapaGayo South
#2 of 11 in Machachi
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda La Alegria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda La Alegria

Property: Hacienda La Alegria
Address: Barrio Rumipamba Aloag | Provincia Pichincha, Quito 171110, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 262 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda La Alegria 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda La Alegria is a family horse hacienda in the heart of Ecuador's "Avenue of the Volcanoes". We are situated one hour south of the historic colonial city of Quito, the capital of Ecuador. One hour to Cotopaxi National park. One hour to Saquisili Market. Two hours to Quilotoa crater lake. Pasochoa Volcano, Corazon, Viudita and Illinizas volcanoes on the area. One hour to Quito Airport. Explore the dairy operation, milking cows, feeding calves, petting our 4 border collies, Aging cheese cave, 24llamas alpacas and vicuna, rabbits, guinea pig, rose garden, hacienda garden with orchids and old trees, hot tub, two fire place living rooms, wall climbing, fishing trout, making bread, pizza or BBQ at the wood oven, the 9 volcanoes at the valley, enjoy the Cotopaxi with his vapor fumes in the back of Ruminahui Volcano in front of the hacienda. The rooms are beautiful and spacious with a picture perfect view of the country side. Now also available a suite. The food, wine, the beer and cheese are delicious and plentiful. We plan to produce our own cheese with the 1500 liters of milk per day, from our 240 cattle. Learn to Ride, groom, pet, feed, shoe, educate and enjoy our 67 horses. We breed horses and for next year we plan to have 20 new foals. Enjoy the voulting experience, 3 different arenas to start riding or learn, try the wood polo horse, the chagra demonstration, riding games as the Sortijas or Cintas. Choose the multi day rides from one day to 12 day ride at the Andes. All of this makes Hacienda La Alegria a family destiny and a life time experience. The mission of Hacienda la Alegria is to provide high quality horseback riding and eco-tourism adventure along the highest trails of the Volcano avenue at the Ecuadorian Andes, assuring personalized attention and hospitality " ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hacienda La Alegria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda La Alegria Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing