We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical & Amazingly breathtaking.......”
Review of El Crater Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Crater Hotel
Ranked #42 of 113 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2012

My wife and I spent 6 days at this magical mountain retreat. El Crater is beautifully nestled in the mountains providing views of the majestic crater of the Pululahua volcano as well as the vibrant city of Quito. The service is world class and the rooms are large and comfortable with floor to ceiling window views. The hotel is an architectural marvel. The hotel grounds house a wonderful collection of environmental sculptures. The rooms and restaurant are decorated with original works of art by local artists giving the hotel a uniquely Ecuadorian aesthetic.

The restaurant is beautiful with its amazing views and delicious cuisine. El Creater is truly a paradise. As one reviewer mentioned the fog can be thick at times. However, this only adds to the mountain charm as the fog is mysterious and romantic. Its moves quickly in and out of the valley and gives way to stunning views. You will have no shortage of prime picture taking opportunities!

El Crater provides all of the creature comforts and service reserved for 4 star hotels in this enchanted and awe inspiring country. We cannot recommend El Crater enough for a truly romantic get away or as a great home base while exploring the vibrant city of Quito and beyond.

We cannot wait to return. 5 stars for El Crater!

Room Tip: The rooms have amazing views and cozy, very comfortable room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margarita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

125 - 131 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2012

The setting is beautiful and the rooms are really cool with great views. The staff are friendly and helpful and the food is good value for money. Overall a great experience. The only downside is that when the clouds roll in you can't see much and there isn't all that much to do in the surrounding area. However, it is definitely a great place to stay for a night or two and is not that far from Quito city by car.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sapphirejk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

I fell in love with this hotel. Stayed with some friends for 5 days and really got to enjoy the best of Quito. The rooms were truly comfortable and the service was awesome. I would highlight its location: you get to appreciate the crater of the Pululahua volcano and on the other side you have a great view of Quito (just amazing at night!). If you want to hit the restaurant you should definitely try the traditional locro soup and the shrimp ceviche. Next time I go to Quito I will stay at the Crater Hotel for sure.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph_P370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

The location of this hotel just cannot be beat. It perches right on the edge of a volcanic crater--think deep grassy valley in the Andes, not smoke and lava! In one direction you can watch the clouds roll in from the mountains over the crater. In the other, a stunning view over Quito spread out below you. It's a little paradise, perfect as a getaway from the city. Every afternoon a light fog rolls in, and you feel transported to another world.

As a word to the wise, it's not the place to go if you're looking for lots to do. It's very quiet, and we were the only guests. But there are some great hikes, and it's beautiful, peaceful, and romantic.

And you get a lot for the price. Our room was the size of a small apartment, with panoramic views in both directions. The staff is friendly and very attentive. We chose this hotel as the first stop on our honeymoon, and it was perfect.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have slightly better views, I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Very romantic if you are just looking for a place to rest and be in bed all day, you can watch the clouds kiss the beautiful crater from your bed in the deluxe suite, actually there's pretty much nothing else to do, although is very close from the famous monument (mitad del mundo). Food is ok, but don't expect too much. It's always a bit cold, windy and misty outside but the suites are warm and cozy almost like a cabin in the forest (bringing snacks, movies and bath bubbles was a great idea)

Room Tip: deluxe suites have an amazing view of the crater
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fernanda a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Enjoyed our stay at this property. Food was excellent as was the service for such a remote location. wished we would have stayed a couple days longer to hike or horseback into the Crater and surrounding jungle. Very near the Mitad Del Mundo site, 00:00:00 Latitude.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gapper57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Although the hotel, room and views are amazing, and we had great service the first night at the restaurant, we had VERY poor service the last 2 days and left very disappointed, especially given the price we paid of $400 US for 2 nights with a bit of food and a bottle of wine. In Ecuador this was as much as the Plaza.

I had emailed before we came to the hotel about arranging a ride to Otavalo on the Saturday, and was told that a taxi could be arranged for $50 one way, or $90 return from the hotel to the market. When we tried to arrange to do this on Friday, we were told the price was now $150 return, or $80 one way, almost double what we were told, despite telling the person we were quoted $90 in the email. We ended up taking the bus. We asked for a taxi to be ready at 8.30am, but breakfast didn´t arrive until 8.20, and the taxi wasn´t there until well after 9.

Because the room was so cold, we left the heaters on the day we were at the market on low to keep the room a little warm. The cleaner turned them both off so when we returned, the room was absolutely freezing cold. We spent all night in blankets. Also when we returned to the hotel, the front door of the hotel was locked, so we had to wait in the rain for them to unlock the main building for us to get into our room. It was very strange.

The second morning, we called for breakfast of only coffee with milk and croissants (no eggs, fruit or anything complicated) at 7.20am. At 8.30am, we called again and asked if it would be long. We were told by the man answering the phone it would be 5 more minutes. After 40 more minutes, my husband walked over to the restaurant and then it came around 9.10/9:20. This took 2 hours to make a pot of coffee and bring over croissants.

I also noticed on the bill now that I am looking closer, we were charged $25 for the airport transfer, while being told 3 times it was $20. Also keep in mind that they automatically charge the 10% service/tip on top of the room fees. I would pay a service fee for food and wine, but to pay $9-$10 per day on top of the room is very expensive.

While the surroundings and view were incredible and beautiful, overall the service was mediocre and everything felt very disorganized.

After we left, I sent basically this exact email to the hotel outlining what we weren't happy with. I don't think that I have ever complained to a hotel before this, but everything just snowballed and went so downhill, that I felt it would be a good idea to give them the feedback.

They wrote me back and said sorry for the inconvenience and "We thank you for sending this complaint, because it is useful to learn and improve, as the hotel is just beginning." There was zero feedback on ANY of our complaints, any attempt to resolve them, no offer to refund any part of it, or any attempt to explain why any of this happened, which leads me to believe that they knew it was poor and just did not feel any ownership or need to resolve it.

Food was decent but nothing special. We were in the king bed suite, which was beautiful and spacious, but very cold, and the windows leaked a lot of condensation. Ran out of hot water twice while running a bath. Most of the DVDs in the room were empty.

If you go, go for the view, but don't necessarily expect great service unless they make a huge effort to change this.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Aja O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quito
14.4 mi away
Hacienda Rumiloma
Hacienda Rumiloma
#48 of 113 in Quito
192 reviews
14.6 mi away
Akros Hotel
Akros Hotel
#50 of 113 in Quito
152 reviews
16.8 mi away
Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa
22.8 mi away
El Abrazo del Arbol
El Abrazo del Arbol
#5 of 8 in Mindo
110 reviews
15.2 mi away
Casa Q Hotel
Casa Q Hotel
#26 of 113 in Quito
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Crater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Crater Hotel

Address: Mirador de Pichincha, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 113 Hotels in Quito
Price Range: £66 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Crater Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Crater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing