We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very scenic view from room”
Review of El Crater Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Crater Hotel
Ranked #45 of 111 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very scenic view from room”
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Stayed at El Crater for one night in April. It is certainly worth the drive out from Quito. I had organised a pick up from the airport and although my plane was nearly 2 hours late, my ride was waiting for me and I checked in around 1am. The scenery around the hotel is nothing short of spectacular and my room was lovely. The only issue was that the room was very cold (even with a heater) but I jumped into bed and had a fantastic sleep. The breakfast in the dining room was lovely. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a suite overlooking the crater
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ging466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    42
    5
    6
    6
See reviews for
24
111
12
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Where do I begin? I was soooo impressed when we arrived at El Crater due to the fact that the owners (who were departing the premises in their car) turned around and personally greeted us. They then took the initiative and intervened when the taxi driver attempted to extort us out of more money for the fare. Our room and its views were breathtaking. The facilities were very clean, the staff (especially Diego) was exceptionally friendly and competent. The owner even allowed me to demonstrate making a new martini at the bar. The grounds are absolutely beautiful and very well maintained. NOTHING else even comes close to this establishment in all of Ecuador! The proprietors should even start a second career as hotel and restaurant consultants.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuvinlifeInATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2012

What an amazing place. We arrived close to midnight and the staff was waiting to help us with our bags. In the morning we awoke to incredible views of both the crater out one window, and mitad del mundo out another. We stayed during part of the week and weekend so there was not much of a crowd to serve during the first part of our stay, yet the staff was as equally attentive and willing to help us whether we were the only ones around or not. The property is unique and beautiful and you can easily access the trailhead to walk down into the volcano, which makes for a great day of exploring and a good exercise for getting acclimated to the altitude. Thank you to Francisco and all the staff for a great start to our trip. If we go back to Quito, we will make sure to make the diversion again to El Crater.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ycramK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

This is such a cool place to stay. Great scenery. Such a wonderful idea to be so remote with lots of outdoor stuff to do. We loved it.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jason c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We are travelers from Buenos Aires, Argentina and our experience in this hotel during 4 days have been increible, the place, the rooms, the food, the restaurantt and the perfect view of the Crater ....!!

We recommend this excellent hotel !

Mariano Nicotera
Buenos Aires - Argentina

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariano N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

A really special location by anyone´s standards, literally on the edge of an old volcano where, when the clouds clear, you can see into the crater where there are now crops and a small community living in it. The other view is of sprawling Quito which is also something to behold. When the clouds come through they do obscure the view but create a really special atmosphere which a hollywood movie could not do better. You are suddenly transported into an old Hammer gothic horror film. Just great!
We stayed in a suite for 2 nights and the room lay out was great. Views both into the crater and on the otherside of the room to quito. Big flat screen TV with countless cable channels. I found the shower definitely hot enough but my partner felt it could have been hotter.
The restaurant (really the only place to eat around the hotel) had chef quality food at very reasonable prices. We were very satisfied! The corn tortillas filled with cheese were excellent.
Staff were very helpful (thanks Roberto!) and we were able to organise a taxi at short notice (day before) to Otovalo markets on the saturday morning at 8am (trip takes 2hrs) for US$60. By the way the markets are open to at least 3pm often until 5pm and are massive, highly recommended! We took our time getting back with a bus ($2 one way) from otovalo to the main bus terminal in the north (in Cercelen) takes about 2hrs. Then it is a 30 to 45min taxi (US$15-20) back to El Crater.
Highly recommend the walk into the crater. We were lucky to have a clear and sunny day for the walk in. THere is a small community/village and hostal in there and there are more tracks to explore down there. You can also hire a horse in and mountain bikes down there. The walk out is quite challenging. Leave an hour to get back out!
We would have liked to have stayed longer but we had a free night at the Swissotel before our trip into the amazon to stay in la selva lodge.
A nice bit of trivia was finding out about all the south american presidents and celebrities that have stayed there in the past.
Overall, stay at El Crater for the experience of staying here! It is a little north of quito and it is not terribly convenient if you want to be checking out the main spots in quito (old town, mariscal scure etc). It is also very romantic.

Room Tip: I think the higher floor rooms have slightly better views than the lower floor ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank brambleth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

We are world travelers from Chicago, IL USA and wanted to experience Ecuador before going on our Galapagos Islands trip through Celebrity XPedition and wow, did we find it! From the extremely organized pick-up from the crazy airport, to the drive there up to the hotel later in the evening, it was tough to navigate through the vortex of clouds climbing into the mountains. When arriving we entered into our own amazing world of mountain top bliss in the clouds. They waited for us, served us dinner and off to bed for one of the best, most restful nights sleep ever. Then heaven turned the lights on early in the morning, the bed over-looks the rim of the crater,and all you see if the blue sky filled with fine mist flowing over the hotel. We went to breakfast everyday, included in our stay, the views from the table are through the roof and Roberto our server was delightful. The hotel itself is all designed in native woods, rocks, feng shui decorated, direct tv, internet access(like you even want to use it), and linens so soft.
Needless to say, we had a wonderful time and the hotel exceeded our expectations, the price is so reasonable and a brand new spa is opening in March 2012 so we will definitely be returning soon. A must i to do a horse-back riding tour down into the crater about 4-5 hours, 5+km, runs about $40/person and the guide os wonderful handpicked by the owner.
We love and miss Francisco, both of them, you need any help please ask me. We will be back many, many times!

Room Tip: Call or email El Crater staff directly from their website and they have the most up to date informat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chgomarket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quito
14.3 mi away
Hacienda Rumiloma
Hacienda Rumiloma
#39 of 111 in Quito
191 reviews
20.2 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
16.8 mi away
Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
El Abrazo del Arbol
El Abrazo del Arbol
#5 of 8 in Mindo
108 reviews
20.8 mi away
Las Terrazas de Dana Lodge
17.0 mi away
Carlota
Carlota
#15 of 111 in Quito
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Crater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Crater Hotel

Property: El Crater Hotel
Address: Mirador de Pichincha, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 111 Hotels in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Crater Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Crater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing