We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in the Andes”
Review of El Crater Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Crater Hotel
Ranked #45 of 115 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise in the Andes”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

El Cráter is the perfect place to enjoy the peace and serenity of the Andean mountains. Rooms are spacious, with beautiful views of the Pululahua crater and a spa-like feel. Attention to every detail is evident in the stone and woodwork as well as the gourmet meals and service. Domed skylights and full wall picture windows bring the surrounding beauty into each room. The owner and staff are very attentive, providing personalized attention to each guest. This is by far, my favorite place in Ecuador, and one of my favorite spots in the world.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VickieSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    42
    5
    6
    6
See reviews for
24
111
12
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012 via mobile

This hotel was just beautiful. The architecture and stonework was perfect against the natural beauty of Pululahua. Mitad del mundo monument is just minutes away. Rooms were great with views of Quito on one side and the crater on the other. The bed was very comfortable too! Hotel service was great, and the staff was extremely accommodating! The owner is awesome. He picked us up from the airport! Food from the restaurant is yummy. really liked the chocolate mousse.

And, there are two very cute resident llamas!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blbbbyct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen Co., New Jersey
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

I stayed here with my wife and boys (11 & 13) in mid-August following a trip to the Galapagos. From my history of reviews, you will discover that I have a soft spot for locales with great views and this hotel is very similar to The View Hotel in Monument Valley, Arizona, although it has some more sophisticated touches and better food.

The hotel is situated on the rim of the extinct Pululahua volcano and our top (3rd) floor rooms had full length picture windows overlooking the crater on one side and Mitad del Mundo on the other. Watching the clouds blow in and then out of the crater is truly spectacular and we spent on hour in queen/king (not sure which, but it was big) bed just looking out over the views before going to sleep.

Almost unbelievably, we were the only guests in the entire hotel for a Monday/Tuesday stay and given the very reasonable price (c.$89.00 Trip Advisor rate before tax, which included a solid breakfast), we indulged and booked 2 adjoining rooms. The rooms themselves are very spacious (incredibly so for Ecuador) with flat screen TVs and separate shower/bath and basin areas.

There are some minor issues (no in-room hairdryers - wife, not happy; a bathroom lighting issue, no alarm clock), that should really reduce the rating, but they are overcome by the view and the personal service. I am sure that part of this was because of the lack of guests, but breakfast and dinner was served at our pleasure, including a 6:15 a.m. breakfast on our departure day. Contrary to a prior reviewer, while I found breakfast to be well-presented, I was more impressed with dinner. The wait staff was wonderful and the owner came over to our table to chat on our second night.

There is a spa under construction (although NOTHING occurred while we were there) and the offered tour of Mitad del Mundo was really more of an escorted ride into the tourist sites in town than a tour. We also hiked to the bottom of the crater (very easy walk to the trailhead, not so easy hike), which took up pretty much the entire afternoon. At first glance, our ride to the airport seemed expensive, but after dealing with the traffic and distance, it was worth the money. Downtown Quito is a good 35-45 minutes away.

This hotel has the potential to be truly something special and if and when the spa is completed, it could become a destination spot rather than a 1-2 day layover. After having stayed in downtown Quito on the front end of the trip, I am very happy that we chose this hotel on the back end. I perhaps overweighted the location factor in giving this hotel 5 stars, but for the money, this is one of the truly exceptional values that I have run across in my years of travelling.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fine, but try to snag one on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank World17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palestina, Guayas, Ecuador
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Beautiful rooms with dome sky lights, plate glass windows with beautiful views, full bath, giant bed, minimalist, modern yet comfortable feel. The staff are wonderful in helping arrange everything for side trips or your next destination. It is a little out of town; they will help arrange taxis, but this does add cost. You are also a bit isolated from stores, so bring snacks unless you want to get all food from their restaurant! But really a very beautiful, comfortable place with a wonderful staff. Beautiful hiking available right from the grounds. I was with my parents, but this would be a perfect romantic getaway for a couple.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uncertain, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I have to admit that I usually book rooms where there is plenty of activity. I am so happy that I booked this room. It is completely opposite of a party place. It was nice, relaxing, and the view was breathtaking. The staff went above and beyond to make us feel comfortable and give us information on surrounding activities we could enjoy to pass the time. This is probably the only hotel that I have stayed in that I would love to return to.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a hotel to enjoy the night life and do some partying, this is not the hotel f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank turtlemalvada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Staye here for 2 nights in July '12 in a suite room.
Rooms are very spacious and have front and rear views of crater and mountains. The crater view from the bed is majestic as it's both the mountain view and the clouds coming up against the rim that give a fairytale like feel. Breakfast was good, dinner only so so, that could have been done better. On out departure day we had to leave early (5:30) and they served breakfast before that in our room, that was a very nice touch. Overall great value.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick_Zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We stayed for one night. The quality of accomodation is just perfect, but what makes it truly unique is the location. From our room on the third floor we had panoramic views in both directions: the old crater and the valley whith Mitad del Mundo. Early morning views were terrific. I think it is good value for the money if you compare with the big chain hotels located in Quito. They also have very good restaurant on the premises.

We were driving there form Quito after dark and it was quite easy to find, there were several signs with the distance left and the turn off form the main road was clearly marked. (To compare with we had an upleasant experience with very nice hotel on the outskirts of Cuenca, where they posted just one poorly visible sign and we spent about an hour driving around at 9 pm.).

Room Tip: Be sure to take the room with the view (not the ground floor).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quito
14.3 mi away
Hacienda Rumiloma
Hacienda Rumiloma
#39 of 115 in Quito
191 reviews
16.8 mi away
Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel
20.2 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
El Abrazo del Arbol
El Abrazo del Arbol
#5 of 8 in Mindo
108 reviews
15.8 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
14.5 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#4 of 115 in Quito
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Crater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Crater Hotel

Property: El Crater Hotel
Address: Mirador de Pichincha, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 115 Hotels in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Crater Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Crater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing