We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“MAGNIFICENT VIEWS”
Review of El Crater Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Crater Hotel
Ranked #39 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Red Bank, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“MAGNIFICENT VIEWS”
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Our stay in "El Crater Hotel" was superb!
The views are magnificent, you feel that you are so close to heavens!
The service at the hotel is excellent.
The communications with reservations very attentive, dealing with Monica and Alexandra made the whole process smooth, professional and personal.
While in the hotel we met Roberto, who performed all his duties excellently, from meeting us when we first arrived past midnight, to attending the restaurant, to a final speedy check out, and good bye.
We highly recommend "El Crater Hotel"
Magdalena & family

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAGDALENA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    41
    5
    6
    5
See reviews for
23
111
12
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We chose to stay at El Crater for two nights at the end of a fairly hectic two weeks in Quito,Mindo and Galapagos.It is the perfect place to recharge the batteries before the long flight home.
We got a good deal by booking direct with the hotel as they were running a promotion with a deluxe room,breakfast and dinner including a glass of wine for about $150 per room per night inc taxes.
The rooms are immaculate, very comfortable and the views from all round the property are stunning-the only thing missing was a bit of information about the hotel facilties and local area.Just down the road from the hotel is the entrance to the National Park with steep walks down the slope of the crater,you can also easily reach the Centre of the World centre by taxi at a cost of $5 or$6,the vast range of souvenir shops and cafes is a bit tacky but satisfied any last T shirt buying wishes!
All the meals we had were excellant and the cost of drinks etc weren't too bad given that there are no alternatives nearby.
We were so glad we spent our last couple of nights here rather than in Central Quito-and given the traffic in the city it barely takes any longer to reach the airport.
The hotel arranged the transfer back to the arport and we were driven by the owner's nephew and his girlfriend who were a really friendly young couple and told us a bit more about life in Ecuador and even played Radiohead all the way back for us!

Room Tip: Slash out on a deluxe room for upper floor views front and rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timb64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
151 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Our bed overlooked a window as large as the wall and the entire view was the crater. Our flight arrived late so they were kind enough to open the restaurant for us. The main issue was the cost of transport from the airport. Somehow that was miscommunicated. The ride from the airport was nice and the guy was there with a sign waiting for us even though flight was pretty late. A great overall experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
145 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Its expensive but well worth the experience. Fantastic room, great restaurant, amazing position on the edge of the crater. Unfortunately it was cloudy when there so its all in the luck.
The sunrise view from the end of your bed is amazing. When getting here make sure the taxi takes you up to the hotel and not at the bottom for a 500m walk uphill

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gtirman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

This hotel is far from the city and even further from the airport, so make sure you understand the costs of getting to and from both as it is not inexpensive. Having said that, the place is awesome, food is excellent, and the staff extremely helpful. We walked to equator monument from the hotel and took a bus back at a cost of 75 cents.

If need action and activities to keep you busy,this isn't your place. If looking for a few days of complete quiet with gorgeous views , this is the ticket.

Room Tip: Get an upper floor if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

I stayed at El Crater with friends for a night in March 2013. We wish that we could have stayed longer! We all agreed that it was a great experience. All the staff members that we met were very friendly and helpful. The food was excellent and the view is incredible. It is a very peaceful location and a great place to relax. The rooms were large, clean, and comfortable. I would definitely go back, and I have no hesitation recommending this hotel to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vandalfan04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

I have stayed at El Crater in January 2013 (2 nights). The views from both sides of the room are truly unbelievable. In the mornings 2 llamas are brought to graze, which for me is a bonus. Roberto the manager was very friendly, competent and really helpful when I need it most. On my second night there, I became sick and he came (at 2AM), reassured me and brought me some very nourishing drink and a medication. I liked El Crater so much that I am coming back on May 3, this time for 3 nights. I am going to walk around and enjoy nature which is unique there.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria_the_Snorkeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
16.8 mi away
Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel
14.3 mi away
Hacienda Rumiloma
Hacienda Rumiloma
#37 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
20.2 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
17.5 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
14.5 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#4 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Crater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Crater Hotel

Property: El Crater Hotel
Address: Mirador de Pichincha, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Crater Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Crater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing