We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be one of the best hotels in the world - but”
Review of El Crater Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Crater Hotel
Ranked #43 of 116 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I had the pleasure of staying 1 night recently. I am on a quest to find a good retreat in South America. What I would say is the location is fantastic and with a little investment, quality management, staff and restaurant this could be an exceptional and very exclusive hotel. The buildings are very good and there is a spa being built currently. However the decor, staff and food let the place down somewhat.

That said for the price its not bad but I personally would be happy to pay twice the price if they they sort out the staff and food.

Its also a long way from the new airport approx 2hrs by car - but with Quito's new airport everywhere is a long drive even Quito itself - but the hotel is only 1 mile to the "center of the world" which most people would want to go and visit anyway.

Worth a visit.

Room Tip: Worth getting the crater view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

72 - 78 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

Living in the clouds with a gourmet restaurant. Sip coffee in your world class room looking down into a caldera, or gaze out the other picture window at mountains and valleys leading down to Quito. "Park like" setting doesn't do it justice. Do yourself a favor and spend a few days here.

Room Tip: Every room is fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

As an anniversary present for my husband, I took him to El Crater not knowing it would be as surprising for me as it was for him. We arrived at night, and when we got into the room we noticed the stunning view of Quito to our left and the Pululahua to our right.
Nothing can be more romantic than to stand on the balcony watching this over and over again.
The suite was neat, cozy........perfect. We had a very delicious breakfast next morning and the view from the restaurant was amazing. I wish I had stayed more time.
If you ever want to indulge yourself, this is the place to visit. We, for sure, will be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonicaCastilloCedeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This 'hotel' is really a wonderful respite from the city. The views are truly spectacular. The owner, Francesco, has left no detail to chance and he clearly has overbuilt this resort to his own high standards. I just can't tell you enough, if you have an opportunity, please indulge in this stay, even though its not at indulgent prices. The food, the service, the rooms (unbelievable) are world class. All the appointments are excellent, the bedding, the decor, the furniture, the beautiful shower with a view of the valley.........I could have stayed a month if my travel allowed. This would be a wonderful venue for a family reunion or wedding. Will be back, and this time, it will be for more than one night. Gracias, Francisco!!

Room Tip: We had room 415 with a view of both the crater and the valley. Spent much of the night just gazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megoreilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Only got to spend one night at this amazing hotel, but I will never forget the beauty of resting on the rim of a volcano. The rooms and bathrooms are beautiful, the staff is welcoming, and the food at the restaurant is very good. Be there in the late afternoon when clouds fill the caldera then flow over the hotel. I cannot say enough good about this hotel. Alpaca wander the property to add even more charm.

Room Tip: If you can stay on the second floor, you will have beautiful ceiling domes, but all rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dissatisfied505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

After a long day of travel we couldn't have picked a better place to stay. El Crater was the only hotel booked for my 20 days of travel. It was perched high on the rim of a volcanic crater. The panoramic view was so peaceful, unlike the madness of Quito. I hope to stay here again someday! Great food. Awesome furnishings and floor to ceiling windows which gave you the best of both worlds. We did hike the near by trails. They were kind of prohibited but we were advised that it was a "must-do". It was! Great pics of the fog rolling in and other volcanos in the distance.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Summer is the best time to come. Sky is completely clear to see all the stars. Rooms are amazing with two large windows: one to see the crater and one to see the town. On top of that: a Great service!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jk_palacios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quito
14.4 mi away
Hacienda Rumiloma
Hacienda Rumiloma
#44 of 116 in Quito
205 reviews
22.8 mi away
El Abrazo del Arbol
El Abrazo del Arbol
#5 of 9 in Mindo
115 reviews
20.2 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#3 of 116 in Quito
721 reviews
23.9 mi away
La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa
15.9 mi away
Antinea
Antinea
#48 of 116 in Quito
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Crater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Crater Hotel

Address: Mirador de Pichincha, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 116 Hotels in Quito
Price Range: £63 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Crater Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Crater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing