We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Crater Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Reina Isabel(Quito)
US$117
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$275
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
US$183
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$138
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (212)
Filter reviews
212 results
Traveller rating
149
44
6
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
149
44
6
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmitad del mundoclouds rollequator monumentheavy fogpanoramic windowsnext morningperched highmountain topsqueezed orange juiceunique hotelpotato souphotel is excellentevery morningshrimp cevicheroom was clean and comfortabledowntown quitoking bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 212 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Location, location, location. Located to the north of Quito and built on the rim of Pululahua, this boutique hotel is absolutely amazing. Everything about the place - from the gorgeous inca-styled terraced grounds where alpaca roam to the 5 star gourmet restaurant is astounding. The rooms are all designed to showcase the surrounding mist topped volcanoes through huge picture windows. We ate dinner at the restaurant and both the food and service were first class. Afterwards walking back to our rooms along a well lighted pathway, the tranquility of the place just enveloped us. Waking up the next morning, we had spectacular views of the crater and surrounding valley and all this while still lying in bed!. On our way to breakfast we must have taken a hundred photographs. Breakfast was served in the same first class style that seems to be the trademark of the hotel. There is not one negative aspect to our stay. It was a remarkable experience and we will definitely return.

Room Tip: We stayed here with our 2 adult children, so we had 2 rooms on the second floor and one on the ground. All threerooms had spectacular views.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

When talking about a movie to a friend, I don't want to "give away" the details. All I can say is "GO TO EL CRATER"! Driving uphill on a gray drizzly afternoon, no one can expect the delight of seeing the grounds of this unique hotel. Terraced stone walls evoke Ecuador's Inca period. Llamas are munching in the mist. The perfect lights shining between pines… You're welcomed by a multilingual young man who carries your bags up into this grand granite hotel, and opens your studded wooden door into an exceptionally inviting room. Quality and cleanliness thru out. The hotel's fine restaurant is nearby, says the young man, and leads you there. Your dinner will be great. You'll walk back to your warmed room, sleep like a king on a quality king bed, and stay warm with a down comforter and alpaca blanket. Then the sun comes up and you will be forever glad you came. The views are glorious!! Steep hillsides drop into deep valleys on either side of the hotel, and the ever-changing clouds may move you to take 200 photos before breakfast. Your breakfast will include an array of breads, fruits, amazingly good cappuccino. Amazingly great paintings are by the wonderful host, really one of a kind; one of the coolest and kindest hosts anywhere! He & his smart family complete this spectacular hotel!

Room Tip: All the rooms are fine, quiet, and spectacular!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gabriele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elcrater, Public Relations Manager at El Crater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Dear Gabriela,

Thank you for dedicating your time and sharing the positive experience you have had at El Crater. This detailed and graphic review of yours reflects the ideal experience, which we always wish to offer our guests. The fact that it worked out, maybe beyond expectations, brings us plenty of satisfaction and pride.
We always try to provide our guests with warm and personal service without compromise the tiny details and always remain professional. We are happy to see that you discern those qualities and that our staff have fully implemented this philosophy.
Gabriela allow us to thank you again for sharing this satisfaction from your visit. you are always invited to come back!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Perhaps the highlight of our three months in Ecuador, this hotel perched on a ridge between Mitad del Mundo and the Crater at Pululahua offers splendid quiet first class accommodations and excellent food.
Because of this unique location, the weather swings from intense blazing sun to being swathed in deeply mysterious cloudy mists. Sometimes, it was so wet that we could have showered (unseen) by cycling through the mist.
It was a constantly exciting weekend.
Plus, you can feed the llamas.
And the proprietor is a wonderful fellow, besides!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon Warren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We had some pretty high expectations going to El Crater. One of the most interesting observations was the rapid change in weather conditions as we began our ascent. It was fascinating ascending into the clouds, even while in our car. The first sign for the hotel is somewhat easy to miss, but then there is better signage as you get closer. When we arrived at El Crater Hotel we felt like we were on a different planet because the clouds were so low, and it wasn't easy to see what lay beyond the hotel grounds. The architecture of the hotel is quite neat, with volcanic rocks used as part of the construction. We were only there for coffee, but didn't see any other guests, either staying over or just for coffee. We arrived late afternoon, and they weren't serving food, but were glad to make cappuccinos. Unfortunately the weather did not allow us to see the actual crater, but just knowing it was there, lying in wait, was intriguing. The restaurant definitely looked upscale, but the decorations in the bathrooms were a bit odd. Overall, a neat visit.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank CarolTCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

No finer place to stay in all of Ecuador. Beautiful views from every angle, clouds change that view from minute to minute. Hot water, great restaurant, pleasant staff and clean, comfortable rooms. We did have trouble with the altitude but the owner even assisted with that by having a coco tea service delivered to the room each night which seemed to solve the problem. In the surrounding areas there are interesting museums, not to mention the site of the center of the world. As to restaurants, we discovered that the hotel had the best food in the area & for the best price. We would highly recommend this hotel for anyone traveling in the area. It will be even more fabulous once the spa is completed

Room Tip: Every room has a spectacular view & the area is quite, you'll be happy with any room. If you suffer with altitude issues you might want to request a 1st floor to eliminate climbing stairs
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob-n-Bonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews