We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning crater views”
Review of El Crater Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Crater Hotel
Ranked #41 of 112 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Like others we arrived at night in the grey fog that made the contrast in the morning even more spectacular. The rooms are setup with picture windows looking out over the crater and as the sun came up we were treated to the most amazing views down to the floor of the caldera. Sitting in bed and watching the dawn over he crater was amazing. The dawn chorus was vibrant and it was possible to walk along the edge of the crater and watch everything from hummingbirds to Guam. We only wish we had more time to explore the surroundings and take horse back ride down into the crater. The restaurant was also well appointed with excellent food, especially breakfast.

Room Tip: All rooms have that incredible view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

61 - 67 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel as we wanted to see more of the Ecuadorian countryside, and to check out the cloud forests. This is definitely the spot to do it! The hotel is perched on the edge of the crater, so you can horseback ride or walk down into the valley. The area around El Crater is also absolutely stunning, and there were fantastic views from our large, clean room.

Some of the downsides for us were how far the hotel is from the airport (1hr30 min drive, $50) and the restaurant. Breakfast (included) was fantastic, but lunch and dinner—not so much. There were only about four other people there, so no ambiance in the restaurant, and it was VERY expensive by South American standards. For example, it’s $8 for a bowl of soup, or $15 for a chicken entrée which wasn’t very good. As you’re on a mountain, you’re also stuck eating there as there are no other restaurants within easy walking distance.

Overall the hotel is a great spot to stay for a night or two if you want to explore the region. However, prepare to spend a good chunk of change!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheGlobeGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

When we arrived, everywhere was covered with a grey fog, which lasted until the next day., when the sun slowly came out. And then, what a view! Where else can you lie in bed and view right down a volcano ? Picture windows in the bedrooms show the crater on one side and the valley to Mittad del. Mundo on the other. Our second morning, the sun was out earlier, enabling views of 2 snow covered volcanos too,
These were our last 2 nights in Ecuador, and left the very best impression of the country. Would most certainly recommend a 2 night stay here to enjoy it at its best.

Room Tip: Pay a little more to stay in the best rooms, which have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marion U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Location, location, location. Located to the north of Quito and built on the rim of Pululahua, this boutique hotel is absolutely amazing. Everything about the place - from the gorgeous inca-styled terraced grounds where alpaca roam to the 5 star gourmet restaurant is astounding. The rooms are all designed to showcase the surrounding mist topped volcanoes through huge picture windows. We ate dinner at the restaurant and both the food and service were first class. Afterwards walking back to our rooms along a well lighted pathway, the tranquility of the place just enveloped us. Waking up the next morning, we had spectacular views of the crater and surrounding valley and all this while still lying in bed!. On our way to breakfast we must have taken a hundred photographs. Breakfast was served in the same first class style that seems to be the trademark of the hotel. There is not one negative aspect to our stay. It was a remarkable experience and we will definitely return.

Room Tip: We stayed here with our 2 adult children, so we had 2 rooms on the second floor and one on the groun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

When talking about a movie to a friend, I don't want to "give away" the details. All I can say is "GO TO EL CRATER"! Driving uphill on a gray drizzly afternoon, no one can expect the delight of seeing the grounds of this unique hotel. Terraced stone walls evoke Ecuador's Inca period. Llamas are munching in the mist. The perfect lights shining between pines… You're welcomed by a multilingual young man who carries your bags up into this grand granite hotel, and opens your studded wooden door into an exceptionally inviting room. Quality and cleanliness thru out. The hotel's fine restaurant is nearby, says the young man, and leads you there. Your dinner will be great. You'll walk back to your warmed room, sleep like a king on a quality king bed, and stay warm with a down comforter and alpaca blanket. Then the sun comes up and you will be forever glad you came. The views are glorious!! Steep hillsides drop into deep valleys on either side of the hotel, and the ever-changing clouds may move you to take 200 photos before breakfast. Your breakfast will include an array of breads, fruits, amazingly good cappuccino. Amazingly great paintings are by the wonderful host, really one of a kind; one of the coolest and kindest hosts anywhere! He & his smart family complete this spectacular hotel!

Room Tip: All the rooms are fine, quiet, and spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gabriele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elcrater, Public Relations Manager at El Crater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Dear Gabriela,

Thank you for dedicating your time and sharing the positive experience you have had at El Crater. This detailed and graphic review of yours reflects the ideal experience, which we always wish to offer our guests. The fact that it worked out, maybe beyond expectations, brings us plenty of satisfaction and pride.
We always try to provide our guests with warm and personal service without compromise the tiny details and always remain professional. We are happy to see that you discern those qualities and that our staff have fully implemented this philosophy.
Gabriela allow us to thank you again for sharing this satisfaction from your visit. you are always invited to come back!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Perhaps the highlight of our three months in Ecuador, this hotel perched on a ridge between Mitad del Mundo and the Crater at Pululahua offers splendid quiet first class accommodations and excellent food.
Because of this unique location, the weather swings from intense blazing sun to being swathed in deeply mysterious cloudy mists. Sometimes, it was so wet that we could have showered (unseen) by cycling through the mist.
It was a constantly exciting weekend.
Plus, you can feed the llamas.
And the proprietor is a wonderful fellow, besides!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon Warren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We had some pretty high expectations going to El Crater. One of the most interesting observations was the rapid change in weather conditions as we began our ascent. It was fascinating ascending into the clouds, even while in our car. The first sign for the hotel is somewhat easy to miss, but then there is better signage as you get closer. When we arrived at El Crater Hotel we felt like we were on a different planet because the clouds were so low, and it wasn't easy to see what lay beyond the hotel grounds. The architecture of the hotel is quite neat, with volcanic rocks used as part of the construction. We were only there for coffee, but didn't see any other guests, either staying over or just for coffee. We arrived late afternoon, and they weren't serving food, but were glad to make cappuccinos. Unfortunately the weather did not allow us to see the actual crater, but just knowing it was there, lying in wait, was intriguing. The restaurant definitely looked upscale, but the decorations in the bathrooms were a bit odd. Overall, a neat visit.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank CarolTCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quito
14.4 mi away
Hacienda Rumiloma
Hacienda Rumiloma
#40 of 112 in Quito
200 reviews
23.9 mi away
La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa
20.2 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel
14.2 mi away
Hotel Finlandia
Hotel Finlandia
#29 of 112 in Quito
391 reviews
17.3 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#3 of 112 in Quito
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Crater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Crater Hotel

Address: Mirador de Pichincha, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 112 Hotels in Quito
Price Range: £66 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Crater Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Crater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing