We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel, safe and cute”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel San Francisco de Quito
Ranked #44 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Carrboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Charming hotel, safe and cute”
Reviewed 4 January 2013

My spouse and I stayed here at the beginning of our Ecuador trip, and had a lovely stay for three nights. The hotel is one of the few budget-friendly places we could find in Old Town, which we preferred to seedy, tourist-y New Town. The hotel is old and exudes charm, with nooks and crannies to explore. The courtyard is a pleasant place to use the computers or read or play cards, and our room was quiet, peaceful, and cute. We had hot water the first two mornings, but the third morning it was cold- we did see a very large group at breakfast that morning, so I wonder if that had something to do with it. Overall, a charming place and very comfortable, and a much more unique and memorable place than a chain hotel. Splurge for the honeymoon suite!

Room Tip: We paid more for the honeymoon suite, because it seemed special and because even with the extra it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LJH21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    173
    81
    28
    9
See reviews for
51
157
49
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mitchellville, Maryland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

This may not be everyone’s taste, but the benefits of the hotel outweigh the negatives for the anti-Holiday Inn traveler. The feature that contributes to both columns is that the place is old. The negative is that the furniture is scuffed and there is a general feeling that the place could use attention. (The plumbing, though, worked fine.) The other side of it is that the age adds charm. When you step into the courtyard/lobby, with the abundance of plants, you slide back many years. Old photos grace the walls, and there is a remarkably high amount of public space. The restaurant (that serves an included breakfast) has a vaulted ceiling making you wonder its history. It is two or three blocks from the famous plazas. I saw no safety problem: the neighboring streets are well lit, there is a plethora of police presence, and you must be “buzzed in” at the front gate. Bonus extras: (1) Climb way up to the balcony giving a 360 degree view of the historic area. (2) Use the free computers in the lobby for the internet. Caution: The English fluency of the desk staff is not uniformly high.

Room Tip: Stay away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Old_Dave_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2012

Stayed twice - beginning and end of Galapagos Tour. Security date on street level. Very old building on second floor - creaking floor boards - rooms on small size - on-suites adequate - breakfast with voucher in adjoining cafe (no English in cafe) - you pay for available 24 hour tea and coffee - no evening meals - English on reception very good - fairly central location - fern filled courtyard very interesting - safety warning signs plastered around the hotel remind one of Quito's reputation - suggest pre-arranged airport transfers on arrival and departure

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotsAustralian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

The Hotel is built around a courtyard filled with fern pot plants and the courtyard is covered with opaque arched roof giving a light filled dry area which is used for people to sit at tables to have a chat with other travelers or to access the free wi-fi (or the two computers provided for those without) and enjoy garden/conservatory atmosphere. We arrived at midnight and the streets in old town were empty, and everything was shut up including the hotel so we were glad we had someone who spoke Spanish and English with us. There is a buzzer to press and the wrought iron gates and heavy Spanish double timber doors are unlocked and the night-desk attendant invites you in but doesn't speak English. But during the day the English speakers are on duty. The rooms are above the courtyard with a common balcony surrounding and looking down into the courtyard. Whilst the stone and timber walls are thick if you like to sleep in late the chatter rising up from the courtyard may bother you in the mornings. There is breakfast included which is scrambled egg, rolls and jam, and a fruit drink. If you want other things you will need to pay for those eg $1.50 or $2 to add bacon or cereal etc. Because the hotel is in the old town its close to things like the Grand Plaza where you can pick up the Tourist Bus for $12 trip around the town up to the lookout. The hotel is next door to a 'supermarket' so if you want some supplies they are right there. The room does not have a bar fridge or a/c, but has own en-suite. For our first hotel experience in Ecuador we found it had the right mix of location, atmosphere and convenience.

Room Tip: They all seem similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whi3916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
126 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

I had decent rooms (stayed twice), hot water, and a great location in the historic party od town.

Staff seemed disinterested, and breakfast was not very good and served by a snarky waitress.

Free Internet terminals.

Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank FraserCarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saugatuck, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

This hotel is located in the center of the historic districk of Quito, with easy walking distance to all the attractions. The hotel is an old Posada, with rooms on multi-floors, without an elevator (lift). the rooms are quite basic but confortable and the views from the upper floor are spectacular.

The breakfast was good and the front desk staff very friendly and friendly.I would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you can't climb stairs, this would not be a good hotel for you !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Hotel San Francisco de Quito was, well, average. The property was nice, especially the common rooms. The actual guest rooms needed updating, better linens, though the blankets were warm, better bed coverings, better pillows, better curtains. The guest rooms also needed a good cleaning. It's not that the rooms were dirty, it's just that they weren't clean, like tip top clean. The staff, with possible exception of one of the night clerks, were, shall we say, sullen. It's not that they weren't of average niceness, it's just that they weren't particularly nice or helpful. But the breakfast was horrible. I think it was just an example of the rest of the stay, the bare minimum, what they could get by with. With little effort and not much money the hotel could be really nice. A well trained staff, better cleaning, some updated drapes and linens, an improved breakfast... all management things basically. The location was great, the value, had there been some changes, was good. I don't understand why some changes aren't made to improve the basic hospitality of the hotel. I suppose I would stay there again for the price, and I suppose given the location I would recommend it. But, well, if it were my hotel, I'd make some changes to ensure my guests received adequate care.

Room Tip: Ask for one with windows, perhaps a suite, but not room 32.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karbose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Quito hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Boutique Plaza Sucre
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Relicario del Carmen
0.0 mi away
Hotel Real Audiencia
Hotel Real Audiencia
#35 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Carlota
Carlota
#18 of 114 in Quito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
2.0 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#9 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Francisco de Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Francisco de Quito

Property: Hotel San Francisco de Quito
Address: Sucre 217 y Guayaquil | Historical Old Town, Quito EC170130, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Francisco de Quito 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quito's Colonial downtown area is the largest and best preserved architectural space in all the Americas and was designated by UNESCO as a World Cultural Heritage Site. Surrounded by this wealth of culture, history and tradition is the Hotel San Francisco de Quito, located in a XVII century colonial house, which was restored carefully, keeping all its original details. Our recently renovated rooms are completed equipped with private bathroom, television with cable TV, telephone and permanent hot water. Our spacious common room offers free Internet and WiFi. "Camino Real" Restaurant. Laundry service. Safety boxes. Luggage storage service. It also counts with an inspiring viewpoint "Balcón Quiteño" up to 25 meters high where you can appreciate the beauty of the old and charming city, taking you into a journey through colonial century. We offer single, double, triple and quadruple rooms, also suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel San Francisco de Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing