We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel San Francisco de Quito
Nearby Hotels
US$348
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$301
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$145
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vieja Cuba(Quito)
US$125
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (389)
Filter reviews
389 results
Traveller rating
73
185
93
29
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
185
93
29
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshoneymoon suiteold towneggsflights of stairscoffee and juicenice courtyardcourtyard areafabulous locationwell located hotelincluded breakfastdesk staffhistoric centerwould stay here againmain plazaspeak englishno elevatordouble bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
155 - 160 of 389 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Fabulous location you can walk all over the historic centro district from this hotel. The room was very adequate the bathroom spacious and clean. The lobby was very beatiful and relaxing. Great wifi connection. Great breakfast. The hotel staff spoke English and were very accommodating. Very secure had to be buzzed in and out not an inconvenience at all. Great value.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Aimee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I liked this hotel quite a lot. We had the honeymoon suite, which at $65 a night, was good value. It has a great location (3 mins to Plaza Grande, 5 mins to La Ronda) and the main building and courtyard are beautiful.

The staff were helpful, with the exception of one young boy who spoke no English and didn't seem to be able to work the computer system very well either. I'm fine with people not speaking any English, we are in Ecuador after all, but with everyone else I've encountered we've managed to bumble along with a phrase book and sign language. Not this boy. He was on reception both when we checked in and when we left after the first part of our stay there (we did a two part trip to Quito) . He managed to forget to book a taxi for us, despite it being written in the taxi book, in Spanish, by a previous member of staff, leaving us stranded at the airport when we got back to Quito; he also never bothered to mention that there's a discount for paying cash, and lost the second part of our booking by not being able to work the booking spreadsheet... The other staff were great though.

The room we had had lovely views (basically a glass box on top of the house) but was looking a tiny bit tired around the edges. It was spotlessly clean though. There's 5 flights of stairs to the top though so it's not for the unfit!

As some have mentioned previously, breakfast is juice, eggs, jam and breads, but I thought this was perfectly adequate. You need to leave enough room for a traditional 3 course Ecuadorian lunch anyway.

I'd stay here again, for the price.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kittyl48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I was booked in this hotel before and after tours to the Galápagos and amazon... It's a beautifully presented hotel in a fantastic location so close to the old town centre. My first room facing the street although large and spacious was quite cold and noisy. Next time I had a room downstairs facing the courtyard which was much nicer and it also was close enough to the terrace to get wifi while sitting in bed! Some rooms don't receive wifi and you have to come sit in the communal area which is still lovely but it means it's a bit awkward to skype! Breakfast was average at best.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mads-abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a really good location and if you don't mind not having customer service then it's probably quite a good place to stay. The staff don't speak very good English and when they do if u ask them for help they seem really inconvenienced by it. Also the breakfast was very average consisted of scrambled eggs and some cold bread that arrived late. The amenities are good no wi fi in bedrooms and don't even bother using the computers down stairs cos they don't work. It has a nice atmosphere and the room is comfortable. Good place to stay probably deserves 2 1/2 stars.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank boni-5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Don´t bother if you don´t like rude unhelpful staff and a poor breakfast. Do bother if you would like a central location in the historic and interesting old town in an olde worlde hotel. I have just struggled down the stairs with a heavy suitcase under the lazy gaze of the young, fit man who is the receptionist. Didn´t bother to help!! Very poor. However, if you want a similar style hotel with fantastic helpful service then go a couple of blocks to the family-run Hotel Boutique Portal de Cantuña. What a contrast in service! The Hotel San Fran is often getting poor feedback re their staff but they obviously don´t care!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a quiet room away from the noisy street. Also one with light as many rooms don´t have windows
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank furrymonkeyladyjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews