We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Get what you pay for” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel San Francisco de Quito

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel San Francisco de Quito
Ranked #44 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Get what you pay for”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

You just have to weigh it up with this one. We stayed with a tour group which seems to be the same with most people. Location is excellent, staff are helpful - but do not expect to sleep. The internal and external walls are made of paper, and the nature of the tour groups are that the arrive at all hours of night. If this isn't important to then the value is excellent. However if you are looking to extend your trip on either side of a tour and feel like a good rest this might not be the place for that. Breakfast is dismal but its free so you can't really complain!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alisonstraveltimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    170
    81
    27
    9
See reviews for
49
157
48
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

I stayed here with a tour group which came and went from this hotel so I ended up staying in 3 different rooms. Each room was of the same standard. They weren't amazing but they were above average. In saying this, it was a much nicer hotel than where we were staying previously. The noise levels vary depending of if your room backs onto the main street. To get away from this ask for a room of the 3rd (or 4th) floor- we only found out about these floors on the last stay here.
The rooms were clean and fairly spacious. There is a lovely courtyard where there is access to WIFI, although it doesn't reach the rooms. The bathrooms and good althought the addition of fans (if allowed) would make them better.
The staff was great. Always a friendly smile and laugh if you did something embarressing because your spanish wasn't great (or you are just occasionally very stupid)!
The location is one of the best aspect of the hotel. It is ocated in Old Town/ the historical centre and just by that nature is near almost all the museums and churches.
On the downside, the included breakfst was scrambled eggs and croissants every day. Not that this is a terrible thing, especially as you could easily order a small variety of other things if you wanted. If they wanted to improve soemthing, this would be it. Just by adding some fruit would make it better.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parsippany, New Jersey
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Stayed here with a tour group. My flight was delayed, so I lost a day. I got in here very late at night and left pretty early. Based upon my bad schedule, I like what I saw. Staff was friendly, hotel was clean.

Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank katderm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan, KS
Level Contributor
378 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

The location (steps away from the famous La Compania Church), a comfortable bed (which does not compensate for the noise, though), and hot water. These are the ONLY things the place still has to offer. The furnishings in the room are in horrible state and they are of the size for children between ages 5-10, the washbasin is leaking (you need to be barefoot to enter the bathroom), the rooms are dark (the night table lamp is completely useless). There are also obscenities carved in the wood of the furniture! The smallest noise from other rooms travels VERY easily (and the floors are wooden). The towels are the oldest I have ever seen in any hotel. The breakfast is poor. There is no space to place your bags in the room.The hallway lights are such that if they are turned on your room will be actually illuminated - you have no control of this whatsoever, especially if someone turns on the hallway lights at 3AM). The staff is trying to be helpful. There is coffee and hot water downstairs (for 50 cents a cup), there is also internet in the public areas and a two computers in case you don't have your own.
Warning! The place is also full of traps, steps that are too high (you can fall), or very low ceilings (you hit your head). Be careful!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Witoldzio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

I was astounded at the quality of this place for the money. It was such good value - the hotel and rooms are beautiful and the service just excellent - the staff can't do enough for you, they really worked hard to ensure we were happy and had a great stay. Breakfast is basic- fresh fruit would be an appreciated addition but it's fine, bread, egg, coffee and juice.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sazzle81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Lopez, Ecuador
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

Fabulous location you can walk all over the historic centro district from this hotel. The room was very adequate the bathroom spacious and clean. The lobby was very beatiful and relaxing. Great wifi connection. Great breakfast. The hotel staff spoke English and were very accommodating. Very secure had to be buzzed in and out not an inconvenience at all. Great value.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aimee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

I liked this hotel quite a lot. We had the honeymoon suite, which at $65 a night, was good value. It has a great location (3 mins to Plaza Grande, 5 mins to La Ronda) and the main building and courtyard are beautiful.

The staff were helpful, with the exception of one young boy who spoke no English and didn't seem to be able to work the computer system very well either. I'm fine with people not speaking any English, we are in Ecuador after all, but with everyone else I've encountered we've managed to bumble along with a phrase book and sign language. Not this boy. He was on reception both when we checked in and when we left after the first part of our stay there (we did a two part trip to Quito) . He managed to forget to book a taxi for us, despite it being written in the taxi book, in Spanish, by a previous member of staff, leaving us stranded at the airport when we got back to Quito; he also never bothered to mention that there's a discount for paying cash, and lost the second part of our booking by not being able to work the booking spreadsheet... The other staff were great though.

The room we had had lovely views (basically a glass box on top of the house) but was looking a tiny bit tired around the edges. It was spotlessly clean though. There's 5 flights of stairs to the top though so it's not for the unfit!

As some have mentioned previously, breakfast is juice, eggs, jam and breads, but I thought this was perfectly adequate. You need to leave enough room for a traditional 3 course Ecuadorian lunch anyway.

I'd stay here again, for the price.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kittyl48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Boutique Plaza Sucre
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Relicario del Carmen
0.0 mi away
Hotel Real Audiencia
Hotel Real Audiencia
#35 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#8 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Catedral Internacional
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Francisco de Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Francisco de Quito

Property: Hotel San Francisco de Quito
Address: Sucre Oe3-17 y Guayaquil | Historical Old Town, Quito EC170130, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Francisco de Quito 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quito's Colonial downtown area is the largest and best preserved architectural space in all the Americas and was designated by UNESCO as a World Cultural Heritage Site. Surrounded by this wealth of culture, history and tradition is the Hotel San Francisco de Quito, located in a XVII century colonial house, which was restored carefully, keeping all its original details. Our recently renovated rooms are completed equipped with private bathroom, television with cable TV, telephone and permanent hot water. Our spacious common room offers free Internet and WiFi. "Camino Real" Restaurant. Laundry service. Safety boxes. Luggage storage service. It also counts with an inspiring viewpoint "Balcón Quiteño" up to 25 meters high where you can appreciate the beauty of the old and charming city, taking you into a journey through colonial century. We offer single, double, triple and quadruple rooms, also suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel San Francisco de Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing