We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character and good location but rooms need updating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel San Francisco de Quito
Ranked #44 of 111 Hotels in Quito
Lima
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Character and good location but rooms need updating”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

The hotel has a great common area where the wifi is available. Breakfast was good but there were not always tables available and good attention. The room we had was spacious but there were roaches and had an old smell that wasn't quaint. Lack of ventilation (the windows were small) probably didn't help.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank palindrome4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    177
    86
    29
    9
See reviews for
53
160
52
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights over New Years.

The location was amazing, in the centre of old town.
The Honeymoon Suite was pretty with 270 degree views, and an outstanding rooftop terrace for sunsets and New Years.

Our first impression was tough - no smiles from front desk fellow who seemed reluctant to help, despite our best Spanish efforts. Sort of caught us off guard. Other staff were more helpful during our stay.

Breakfast was a good start to the day - a bit basic but tasty.
Overall, we would stay again, for the location and the unique room.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rotini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

You just have to weigh it up with this one. We stayed with a tour group which seems to be the same with most people. Location is excellent, staff are helpful - but do not expect to sleep. The internal and external walls are made of paper, and the nature of the tour groups are that the arrive at all hours of night. If this isn't important to then the value is excellent. However if you are looking to extend your trip on either side of a tour and feel like a good rest this might not be the place for that. Breakfast is dismal but its free so you can't really complain!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alisonstraveltimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I stayed here with a tour group which came and went from this hotel so I ended up staying in 3 different rooms. Each room was of the same standard. They weren't amazing but they were above average. In saying this, it was a much nicer hotel than where we were staying previously. The noise levels vary depending of if your room backs onto the main street. To get away from this ask for a room of the 3rd (or 4th) floor- we only found out about these floors on the last stay here.
The rooms were clean and fairly spacious. There is a lovely courtyard where there is access to WIFI, although it doesn't reach the rooms. The bathrooms and good althought the addition of fans (if allowed) would make them better.
The staff was great. Always a friendly smile and laugh if you did something embarressing because your spanish wasn't great (or you are just occasionally very stupid)!
The location is one of the best aspect of the hotel. It is ocated in Old Town/ the historical centre and just by that nature is near almost all the museums and churches.
On the downside, the included breakfst was scrambled eggs and croissants every day. Not that this is a terrible thing, especially as you could easily order a small variety of other things if you wanted. If they wanted to improve soemthing, this would be it. Just by adding some fruit would make it better.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parsippany, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Stayed here with a tour group. My flight was delayed, so I lost a day. I got in here very late at night and left pretty early. Based upon my bad schedule, I like what I saw. Staff was friendly, hotel was clean.

Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank katderm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan, KS
Level 6 Contributor
397 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The location (steps away from the famous La Compania Church), a comfortable bed (which does not compensate for the noise, though), and hot water. These are the ONLY things the place still has to offer. The furnishings in the room are in horrible state and they are of the size for children between ages 5-10, the washbasin is leaking (you need to be barefoot to enter the bathroom), the rooms are dark (the night table lamp is completely useless). There are also obscenities carved in the wood of the furniture! The smallest noise from other rooms travels VERY easily (and the floors are wooden). The towels are the oldest I have ever seen in any hotel. The breakfast is poor. There is no space to place your bags in the room.The hallway lights are such that if they are turned on your room will be actually illuminated - you have no control of this whatsoever, especially if someone turns on the hallway lights at 3AM). The staff is trying to be helpful. There is coffee and hot water downstairs (for 50 cents a cup), there is also internet in the public areas and a two computers in case you don't have your own.
Warning! The place is also full of traps, steps that are too high (you can fall), or very low ceilings (you hit your head). Be careful!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Witoldzio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Quito hotels

Lima
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

I was astounded at the quality of this place for the money. It was such good value - the hotel and rooms are beautiful and the service just excellent - the staff can't do enough for you, they really worked hard to ensure we were happy and had a great stay. Breakfast is basic- fresh fruit would be an appreciated addition but it's fine, bread, egg, coffee and juice.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sazzle81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Real Audiencia
Hotel Real Audiencia
#35 of 111 in Quito
324 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Relicario del Carmen
0.0 mi away
Hotel Boutique Plaza Sucre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#9 of 111 in Quito
1,155 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Francisco de Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Francisco de Quito

Property: Hotel San Francisco de Quito
Address: Sucre 217 y Guayaquil | Historical Old Town, Quito EC170130, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 111 Hotels in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Francisco de Quito 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quito's Colonial downtown area is the largest and best preserved architectural space in all the Americas and was designated by UNESCO as a World Cultural Heritage Site. Surrounded by this wealth of culture, history and tradition is the Hotel San Francisco de Quito, located in a XVII century colonial house, which was restored carefully, keeping all its original details. Our recently renovated rooms are completed equipped with private bathroom, television with cable TV, telephone and permanent hot water. Our spacious common room offers free Internet and WiFi. "Camino Real" Restaurant. Laundry service. Safety boxes. Luggage storage service. It also counts with an inspiring viewpoint "Balcón Quiteño" up to 25 meters high where you can appreciate the beauty of the old and charming city, taking you into a journey through colonial century. We offer single, double, triple and quadruple rooms, also suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel San Francisco de Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing