We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Colonial accommodations in 'Old Town' Quito”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel San Francisco de Quito
Ranked #44 of 115 Hotels in Quito
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Colonial accommodations in 'Old Town' Quito”
Reviewed 26 June 2010

I stayed here for nearly a week in Jan 2010 while traveling solo through Ecuador and the Galapagos Islands. Hotel is basic but clean and secure (INSIDE the locking gate) and has hot water in the showers -- not the sinks, however. The day time front desk staff spoke English but at night it's helpful if you know some Spanish. The hotel also included a basic breakfast of eggs, bread, juice, and coffee on the first floor of the hotel. There is one flight of stairs to get up to the hotel (located on the second floor and higher up), so keep that in mind if you have a disability of some sort. Then again, most of Latin America is a challenge if you can't climb stairs.

The colonial hotel itself is "classic", meaning loud, squeaky, wooden floors and you can pretty much hear EVERYTHING going on in the bathrooms next to you (seriously, EVERYTHING). The traffic in Quito is also fairly loud, so you'll hear that PLUS car alarms, dogs and cats at night, and (starting at around 9am) a guitar / music shop below the street-facing hotel rooms where the store has an entrance below. The level of silence all depends on the room you get... I recommend asking for something in the interior area of the hotel if noise bothers you. But the price is right ($26/single room) if you want a nice, clean, secure base of operations in the older part of Quito.

On that note, a woman at the hotel was mugged while I was there, which is more of a statement on Quito than the hotel. Although she DID go out walking the old town at 130am in search of an internet cafe (the hotel has two PCs, available until 1030pm)... so, she's fortunate being mugged is all that happened. Not blaming the victim but, puh-leezzeeee, let's use some common since while traveling! Repeat after me: TAXIS! The hotel has a great location near all the items of interest in the older part of Quito, as well as a secured / gated entrance with a 24 hr desk attendant.

If you're seeking basic accommodations for a good price in the historical area of Quito, then I would recommend this hotel. If you're more high maintenance and require complete silence to sleep, hot water in the sinks, a fancy breakfast, etc, then you should probably seek other arrangements.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amokinsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    173
    82
    28
    9
See reviews for
51
157
50
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2010

I stayed here for 1 night with my daughter. Hotel position is good for the Old Town. Room was ok, small and basic but quiet. We left very early so did not sample the breakfast. The man on reception was neither friendly nor helpful and seemed to regard enquiries as both stupid and inconvenient. However my daughter left some belongings in the room, and when we telephoned, the lady answered was extremely friendly and ensured that the belongings were kept safely to be collected later. So many thanks for that!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CandpParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2010

Hotel perfectly situated to take advantage of the beauty of Old Town Quito. Building has the character of days gone by (over 400 years) but is up to date with internet available in the shared communal area and breakfast provided in the wine cellar every morning. The staff, especially Javier, are friendly and competent and provide what ever a guest would need, from suggestions for travel to help with accommodations throughout Ecuador. I found this place a home away from home (there is even a mini-mart called TIA right next door), with many tourists from the US, Canada, and Europe beginning their trip through Ecuador here.
Rooms are small but clean, could use a bit of touch up on the wall paint but perfectly fine otherwise.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbell-SoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
362 reviews
185 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2010

This hotel has charm as it is situated around a courtyard and spread over many layers and patios until the fifth floor terrace with a view over old Quito. Its location is just around the corner of the Plaza Grande and the San Domingo. The streets around are not so quiet, but the walls of the rooms are thick. Rooms differ a lot: they may have a balcony or the bed on the second level. Coffee and drinks service 24 hours. Free internet. Breakfast in a cellar-type restaurant. The cleaning service can be a bit better, but the staff is friendly and helpful. Tour operator downstairs, so all you would need for a good start in Ecuador

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ortwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2010

My husband & I have just given up trying to book with the Hotel San Francisco de Quito. I tried to book a double suite (or any suite) with 2 beds and though we agreed to switch rooms during our month-long stay ("a minimum of 3 times", per Javier), the hotel would not specify when we would be required to change rooms. Next, my husband jumped in to try and learn more. He succeeded in finding out what rooms were available when, but could not get a commitment that we'd have two beds waiting for us. Now after 7 days of email and unsuccessful Skyping, it turns out they'd like us to rent two suites. We don't know if more than one person was replying to our email and staff were not communicating or if there was some other reason for this treatment but it's a very frustrating outcome.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank atbw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Quito hotels

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2010

I thought this hotel was great. It was inexpensive, secure, located right in the historic part of the city, and it was pretty nice. I mean, it wasn't fancy, but the courtyard was lovely. I had two different rooms during my stay. Both were pretty basic, but they were clean and comfortable and had tv. Two computers with free internet are available in the lounge. Free breakfast at the cafe downstairs. I loved the location, because it was close to all of the stuff i wanted to see, but travelers who want to hang out with other travelers might prefer to stay in the Mariscal area.
The only possible negatives were that certain rooms had a fair bit of traffic noise, and the hotel staff did not speak english. I didn't think either were a problem, but i recognize that some people might.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2010

This hotel is fantastically central yet quiet. The staff were friendly and helpful. We left bags here when we went away for days at a time, used the internet, the laundry service and had beers on the balcony. Highly recommended

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EthelSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Boutique Plaza Sucre
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Relicario del Carmen
0.0 mi away
Hotel Real Audiencia
Hotel Real Audiencia
#34 of 115 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Carlota
Carlota
#18 of 115 in Quito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
2.0 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#9 of 115 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Francisco de Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Francisco de Quito

Property: Hotel San Francisco de Quito
Address: Sucre 217 y Guayaquil | Historical Old Town, Quito EC170130, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 115 Hotels in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Francisco de Quito 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quito's Colonial downtown area is the largest and best preserved architectural space in all the Americas and was designated by UNESCO as a World Cultural Heritage Site. Surrounded by this wealth of culture, history and tradition is the Hotel San Francisco de Quito, located in a XVII century colonial house, which was restored carefully, keeping all its original details. Our recently renovated rooms are completed equipped with private bathroom, television with cable TV, telephone and permanent hot water. Our spacious common room offers free Internet and WiFi. "Camino Real" Restaurant. Laundry service. Safety boxes. Luggage storage service. It also counts with an inspiring viewpoint "Balcón Quiteño" up to 25 meters high where you can appreciate the beauty of the old and charming city, taking you into a journey through colonial century. We offer single, double, triple and quadruple rooms, also suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel San Francisco de Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing