We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel San Francisco de Quito
Ranked #47 of 116 Hotels in Quito
Reviewed 2 June 2007

Overall, this is a pleasant hotel which is deceptively large, spreading over a number of floors and stages. We were there for two days before we learned there was a turkish bath and sauna.

Two nights in the room with windows overlooking the reception desk had us recalling the advice of other travelers on this site in relation to many hotels: Don´t accept a room close to the lobby! The noise of constant phone calls, late and early guests and the buzzer from the front door were too much. We changed rooms to something smaller but considerably quieter (with the promise that the adjacent turkish bath machine would be turned off at 9 pm).

The rooms are clean and the water hot. The staff are pleasant and helpful. As to the facilities in general, guests have access to a safety deposit box and there is one PC for internet access. The TV in the room is barely operational but a large screen TV with cable is available in the guest lounge. The staff contend cable will be installed throughout the hotel by July 2007. Breakfast can be taken in the lovely courtyard but is a bit basic. However, the hotel is well located in the historic centre of town and is therefore a short walk to better options.

Strangely, our first room had two half sized pillows that would hardly qualify as a head support even when folded over. A request for additional pillows was met with a very bulky chunky pair that barely fitted into their covers. The next room had perfectly acceptable pillows that might appear in any hotel - hard to understand...

Great location - close to sights, transport and good cafes.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank AustraliaTravelcheck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (385)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 385 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2007

This was a very convenient and pleasant Hotel with free Internet in the lobby and lots of information available about the area. The staff is very helpful and friendly and the price was great. I would stay here again. We particularly liked the rooms with the lofts/spiral staircases. Be sure and go to upper balcony for the view.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank waterspaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2007

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Vivica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2007

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ericg68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2006

Stayed: July 2006
15  Thank quitovisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Gold Coast, Australia
147
Reviewed 13 April 2006

47  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gico51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaHSFQ, Gerente at Hotel San Francisco de Quito, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Real Audiencia
Hotel Real Audiencia
#39 of 116 in Quito
343 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Boutique Plaza Sucre
0.2 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Relicario del Carmen
2.3 mi away
Hostal de La Rabida
Hostal de La Rabida
#5 of 116 in Quito
551 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Interamericano
Hotel Interamericano
#53 of 116 in Quito
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Francisco de Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Francisco de Quito

Address: Sucre Oe3-17 | Guayaquil. Historical Old Town, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 116 Hotels in Quito
Price Range: £47 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Francisco de Quito 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quito's Colonial downtown area is the largest and best preserved architectural space in all the Americas and was designated by UNESCO as a World Cultural Heritage Site. Surrounded by this wealth of culture, history and tradition is the Hotel San Francisco de Quito, located in a XVII century colonial house, which was restored carefully, keeping all its original details. Our recently renovated rooms are completed equipped with private bathroom, television with cable TV, telephone and permanent hot water. Our spacious common room offers free Internet and WiFi. "Camino Real" Restaurant. Laundry service. Safety boxes. Luggage storage service. It also counts with an inspiring viewpoint "Balcón Quiteño" up to 25 meters high where you can appreciate the beauty of the old and charming city, taking you into a journey through colonial century. We offer single, double, triple and quadruple rooms, also suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel San Francisco de Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing