We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just OK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Catedral Internacional
Ranked #71 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Santiago, Mexico
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

My wife and I spent four nights here on two occasions 10 days apart in two different rooms, one in the back and one on the street. Could be charming with some essential upgrades.

Pros:
Good location close to Main Plaza in historic Old Town.
Nice guys working the front desk.
Good bathrooms, except for the sink that leaked water onto floor creating a small puddle.
In-room safe.

Cons:
Dingy carpets and bed spreads.
Mediocre breakfast.
Overall dark atmosphere.

Eating: We didn't try it, but the attached restaurant did a healthy lunch business with locals. A number of restaurants are within walking distance. Vista Hermosa nearby was a treat with 360-degree rooftop views over Old Town architecture and decent music on Saturday night, but the food was nothing to write home about.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank MGMaxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    27
    11
    13
    2
See reviews for
10
26
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Based on previous reviews my wife and I, and friends, booked rooms at this hotel for 4 nights. Big mistake. Although we had booked two rooms through Booking.com the hotel had only reserved one but luckily(?) they still had a room available.
Rooms are dark and dingy with dirty nylon carpets.
Facilities are negligible as is the service.
Members of staff are few and hard to find and are dressed like Libyan secret police officers.
Parking is available on the next block but cost $15:00 per day.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eppleby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Quito hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

I booked a double room via Priceline two weeks before my arrival. Got there late around 11pm and was told that there's no room for us. They said they'll send us to another hotel that's "the same", i.e. Viena 5 blocks away. We were not impressed the minute we walked in Viena. Everything was of poor quality and old, it looks like one of those rooms you pay only $30 a night. No breakfast included which we felt cheated cuz we did pay for Catedral $55 with breakfast included. What's most disappointing was that I had emailed the hotel several times before we arrived and no words was ever mentioned about the hotel being all booked. AND they gave us something that's not the same star level. AND we overpaid. Not a good start with our stay in Quito at all.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haheho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winnipeg
Level Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Rooms were nicer than down the street at Hotel Viena, a bit nicer than average for Quito. Staff was decent. Very good complimentary breakfasts. Location made it hard to find dinner (or anything to do) past 7 p.m. as everything closes down (including restaurants).

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street will be noisy--bring earplugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlamwpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

When I first arrived, we had one of the back rooms, which were quieter than the front rooms, but smaller and a little less comfortable. After returning to Quito after the Galapagos, we got a front room that had street noise (not the hotel's fault), but was bigger, with a small balcony, and nicer, so I would probably ask for one of those. It's not luxurious, but a decent value for the price. It was very well located, with a quick walk to a lot of the major sites in historic Old Quito, and walking after dark, I always made sure I was aware of my surroundings, but never felt unsafe. My only complaint would be that I felt really bad for the receptionists, who appeared to work shifts lasting 30 hours or more at a time.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Quesboc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Nice little place in a great location. They can arrange to meet you at the airport. Just blocks from the UNSECO World Heritage sites of the old city. Staff was very helpful with restaurant suggestions and also made arrangements for a car and driver to take us to Guayaquil. Matrimonial beds are very small. Free wifi worked fine. Very good breakfast included.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street can be noisy during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozark78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sault ste. marie, ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Wanted in the old district so I could walk, and it was great! Staff spoke english, good recommends for meals. Internet, service breakfast, everything good. Will be staying again In March. Definite thumbs up.

Room Tip: 104. Shower was fantastic, quiet corner upstairs overlooking Meija. No pool or fitness centre is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pedersens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Relicario del Carmen
0.0 mi away
Carlota
Carlota
#19 of 114 in Quito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Real Audiencia
Hotel Real Audiencia
#35 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique Plaza Sucre
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#107 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Francisco de Quito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catedral Internacional? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catedral Internacional

Property: Hotel Catedral Internacional
Address: Jose Mejia 638 y Cuenca | Cuenca and Benalcázar, Quito OE6 - 34, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Catedral Internacional 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nicely restored colonial house with 15 carpeted rooms, includes breakfast, popular restaurant, heaters, spa, Wi-Fi, small patio with fountain. Under new management, completely refurbished in 2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Catedral Internacional reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing